Skip to Main Content

University Archives & Special Collections

The University Archives and Special Collections is open Monday through Friday, 8:00 AM to 6:00 PM, by appointment only.

University Archives

University Archives contains books, documents, photographs, and objects about the growth and history of Indiana State University-Evansville (ISUE) and the University of Southern Indiana (USI). Founded in 1965 as Indiana State University-Evansville, the University of Southern Indiana enrolls over 11,000 dual credit, undergraduate and graduate students in more than 130 areas of study. A public higher education institution, located on a beautiful 1,400-acre campus in Evansville, Indiana, USI offers programs through the College of Liberal Arts, Romain College of Business, College of Nursing and Health Professions, and the Pott College of Science, Engineering, and Education. Many of the items in this collection contain primary sources collected from the University, alumni, and others with an interest in preserving and sharing history.

Featured collections:

  • University Athletics Collection
  • Shield Student Newspaper Collection
  • University Photographs Collection

For more information about materials in this collection, check out our Finding Aids

The UASC at the University of Southern Indiana preserves significant records documenting the history of the University.  Due to the growing size of the University and the large amount of paperwork generated by the various departments, units, and programs, the University Archives has established guidelines for the types of materials accepted and for the time each is retained.  Some will have no retention limits while others will be subject to periodic review and disposal.

FUSION SEARCH

Advanced Search

An example is show below of how to cite materials from the University Archives and Special Collections using the Chicago Manual Style. If there are any questions, notify the University Archives and Special Collections staff by emailing at: archives.rice@usi.edu.

Collection Title. Collection, Box, and Folder Numbers. Source, Location, Date.

     Bibliography examples for using a collection

  • Format: Id number and name of collection. Description of Item. Repository, Institution, location (city).
  • MSS 297 Beardsley, Montgomery, Gordon Family Collection. Clothing. University Archives and Special Collections, University of Southern Indiana, Evansville.
  • UA 049 Faculty Senate. Papers. University Archives and Special Collections, University of Southern Indiana, Evansville.
  • MSS 228 Sonny Brown Collection. Photograph. University Archives and Special Collections, University of Southern Indiana, Evansville. https://digitalarchives.usi.edu/digital/collection/S_Brown .
    • Note: the bibliography is the url for the entire collection

    Note for using a one item(s) in a collection

  • Format: Item number and title/author, ID number and description. Collection Name. Repository, Institution.
  • MSS 297-1-14 Black Cloth Mitts. 1900, Beardsley, Montgomery, Gordon Family Collection. University Archives and Special Collections, University of Southern Indiana.
  • UA 049-1-1 Faculty Minutes and Agenda. 1979-1980, University Archives and Special Collections, University of Southern Indiana. 
  • MSS 228-0183 Roller skating nun in Evansville, Indiana. MSS 228 Sonny Brown Collection. University Archives and Special Collections, University of Southern Indiana, Evansville. https://digitalarchives.usi.edu/digital/collection/S_Brown/id/7760/rec/1 .
    • Note: The note url is for the specific online item