Skip to Main Content

Services

Accessing Physical Material

The Rice Library collection stacks are open, but items held in the library collections or borrowed through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) are also available for checkout through curbside pickup or by placing a hold using the "Request" button through the library catalog. Users must make an appointment for curbside pickup, but library holds may be picked up during any hours of operation. Users will receive email confirmation when holds are ready for pickup.

USI faculty and staff also have the option to request and receive items through CampusExpress. In addition to the automated request for ILL and General Collection items in fUSIon, faculty and staff can use the curbside pickup form to request media and other items be delivered to their campus office. Please note that you would prefer CampusExpress delivery on the Questions and Comment field on the request form.

Access to the Archives and Special Collections will only be by appointment, Monday through Friday, 8 am to 4 pm. 

Borrow

Students, faculty, and staff may borrow items from the Rice Library circulating collections using their USI Eagle ID card. Different collections have different loan rules based on your USI affiliation. 

General Collection, Children's Materials, and Intensive English Program books

  • Undergraduate Students: 3-week loan, with up to 2 renewals
  • Graduate and Intensive English Program Students: 8-week loan, with up to 1 renewal
  • Faculty & Staff: Semester-long loan

Popular and Casual Reading books

  • ALL USI groups: 3-week loan, with up to 2 renewals

DVD's, Music CD's, Spoken Word

  • All USI groups: 1-week loan, with no renewals. Instructors who need items for a course should inquiry about an extension.

Technology

Community members who are not currently affiliated with USI as a student, faculty, or staff member can apply for a courtesy card to borrow books from our General Collection. These cards are limited to three (3) items at a time on 3-week loans, with up to 2 renewals.

Renew

User can renew books online through their account. Books must be renewed before their due date. Overdue books and other items such as DVDs or technology must be brought into the library for renewal.

All users (students, faculty, staff, and courtesy patrons) can view their loans, find due dates, and locate other information about what they've searched for and borrowed by logging in to their Library Account through the library catalog. For more information about the new catalog and fUSIon, visit our introduction and demo guide.

High School Access

CAP Instructors 

CAP instructors have faculty check-out privileges at the Rice Library. Additionally, USI CAP instructor login credentials provide access to resources in the library's catalog, fUSIon discovery tool, and subscription databases. CAP instructors also have the ability to renew books online and to request books and articles through interlibrary loan. 

Students Enrolled in CAP Courses

Students with USI login credentials have full access to the Rice Library's databases, catalog, fUSIon, and interlibrary loan services. These students may also checkout books from the Rice Library and renew them online.

Students Not Enrolled in CAP Courses

Students who do not receive USI login credentials will not be able to access materials in the Rice Library's subscription databases, nor will they have access to interlibrary loan services. However, these students may still search the online catalog and fUSIon, and will have access to research materials via the Indiana State Library's INSPIRE databases and other publicly available databases. Additionally, students 16 years of age or older with a photo ID may checkout books from the Rice Library.


All instructors and students, regardless of CAP enrollment status, are welcome to contact a Rice Library librarian with research questions!

Email us
Live Chat
Call: 812.464.1907