Research Guides: University Archives & Special Collections: Additional Resources

Additional Resources

African-American Museum of Evansville
The mission of the Evansville African American Museum is to continually develop a resource and cultural center to collect, preserve, and educate the public on the history and traditions of African American families, organizations, and communities.
Evansville Museum of Arts, History, and Science
The mission of the Evansville Museum of Arts, History, and Science is to enrich lives through preservation, exploration, enlightenment and amazement!
Evansville Vanderburgh Public Library (EVPL) -- Digital Archive
The Digital Archive collection of the Evansville Vanderburgh Public Library contains images and documents about people, places, and things in and around Evansville, Indiana. Original images are from EVPL's Indiana Collection or from local residents.
Historic New Harmony
Historic New Harmony is a unified program of the University of Southern Indiana. Dedicated to preserving its utopian legacy.

Historic New Harmony Collections Database
Explore over 200 years of New Harmony, Indiana's history through Historic New Harmony's online collections database. Our collections include decorative arts, furniture, paintings, prints, sculpture, drawings, medical equipment, and textiles dating from the early 19th century to the present. We also maintain an extensive archive of photographs, slides, rare books, sound and video recordings, maps, architectural drawings, and manuscript collections that document the rich history of the New Harmony community.

Wabash Valley Visions and Voices Digital Memory Project
This Digital Memory Project is dedicated to the documentation and the preservation of the region's history and heritage in print, pictures, and sound.
more...less...
As a collaborative effort involving the libraries, museums, cultural organizations and community groups, the project provides free access to its digital collection via the internet and promotes remembrance and lifelong learning for all Hoosiers. Wabash Visions and Voices focuses on the Wabash Valley region in west central Indiana and east central Illinois. The digital collection contains artifacts, administrative and personal papers, manuscripts, photographs, texts, yearbooks, maps, oral histories, and other audio/video files.
Willard Library Archives
A free, local resource with material related to the history of Evansville, Indiana.

Newburgh Museum

The Newburgh Museum preserves exhibits and educates all visitors about the history and culture of Newburgh and the surrounding areas’ unique rivertown heritage.

Indiana Historical Society
A free state resource to all on Indiana's history.
Indiana Memory
Indiana Memory is a collaborative effort to provide access to the wealth of primary sources in Indiana libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions.
more...less...
It is a gateway to Indiana's history and culture found in digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, newspapers, maps, and other media. As a portal to the collections, Indiana Memory assists individuals to locate materials relevant to their interests and to better appreciate the connections between those materials.
Indiana State Library's Hoosier State Chronicles
A free, online program providing access to high quality digital images of Indiana's historic newspapers.
Indiana State Library Digital Collections
Free digital database on the history of Indiana.
INSPIRE
INSPIRE is Indiana's Virtual Online Library. INSPIRE is a collection of online academic databases and other information resources that can be accessed by Indiana residents.

American Archives for Public Broadcasting
The collection of 40,000 hours contains thousands of high quality programs that have had national impact. The vast majority of this initial American Archive content, however, consists of regional and local programs that document American communities during the last half of the twentieth century and the first decade of the twenty-first. This extraordinary collection includes local news and public affairs programs, local history productions that document the heritage of local communities, and programs dealing with education, environmental issues, music, art, literature, dance, poetry, religion, and even filmmaking on a local level.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions.
more...less...
All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format. The cultural institutions participating in DPLA represent the richness and diversity of America itself, from the smallest local history museum to our nation’s largest cultural institutions.
Getty Images
Getty Images offers the most exclusive and unique creative and editorial visual content globally, with over 415 million assets including award-winning imagery, video, music, multimedia and premium digital content.
more...less...
Getty Images works with over 340,000 contributors and hundreds of image partners to provide comprehensive coverage of more than 160,000 news, sport and entertainment events each year, impactful creative imagery to communicate any commercial concept and the world’s deepest digital archive of historic photography.
Library of Congress
A free national resource and serves as the national library for the United States.
National Archives and Records Administration
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever.
National Register Database and Research
The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation.
more...less...
Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.
Society for American Archivists
Founded in 1936, the Society of American Archivists is North America's oldest and largest national professional association dedicated to the needs and interests of archives and archivists.

University Archives & Special Collections

UASC Digital Collections

UASC Digital Collections NEW PLATFORM

Contact Information

Additional Resources

University Archives & Special Collections

UASC Digital Collections ***NEW PLATFORM***

Additional Resources

UASC Digital Collections NEW PLATFORM