Research Guides: Business: Data and Statistical Information

Library Sources for Data and Statistical Information

ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides statistics and data within 600 industries and 50+ countries. Statista also contains a variety of industry or topic overview dossiers and reports, as well as shareable data visualizations and infographics that can be exported in a variety of file formats, including .pdf, .xlsx, and .pptx

External Sources for Data and Statistical Information

General suggestions for finding datasets and statistics in the wild

National, state, and local governments are excellent sources for economic and social data, and many of them share their information openly. Look for national census sites or statistics bureaus.
International organizations, think tanks, and various nonprofit entities also provide open data (like Pew Research, the World Trade Organization, etc.).
Consider using Google's Dataset Search to see if you can find sets relevant to your work

Some useful sites for finding data and statistical information

County Business Patterns (CBP)
CBP is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry, collected and maintained by the US Census Bureau.
Data.gov
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Explore Census Data
The new data portal for US Census data. Designed to replace the American FactFinder (AFF) resource, which was shut down in June 2019.
INEGI Data
A collection of relevant data about Mexico collected and maintained by INEGI, an autonomous public body responsible for regulating and coordinating the National Statistical and Geographical Information System of Mexico, as well as for capturing and disseminating information about Mexico in terms of territory, resources, population and economy.
The International Trade Centre's market analysis tools
A source of international trade statistics from the ITC, supported by the European Commission, DFID, the World Bank and donors to ITC's trust fund
OECD Data
The data portal for the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD); especially useful for research on broader economic issues, international business, and world-wide social and economic trends.
Pew Research Center Social & Demographic Trends
The Pew Research Center's collection of reports and data about social and demographic trends. Reports are available without an account; direct access to datasets requires registration for a free account.
Statistics Canada
Statistics Canada is the national statistical office. The agency ensures Canadians have the key information on Canada's economy, society and environment that they require to function effectively as citizens and decision makers.
STATS Indiana
STATS Indiana provides easy, one-stop access to critical statistics for states, counties, cities and towns, townships, regions, census tracts and more.
The U.S. Census Bureau's Economic Surveys page
A resource for assistance with survey response and access to Census economic data.
The World Bank Data Catalog
World Bank portal for finding development data.
World Bank Open Data
Free and open access to global development data
The World Integrated Trade Solution (WITS)
The World Integrated Trade Solution (WITS) software provides access to international merchandise trade, tariff and non-tariff measures (NTM) data. Browse the Country profile section to obtain countries exports, imports and tariff statistics along with relevant development data.
World Trade Organization Statistics
The WTO provides quantitative information in relation to economic and trade policy issues. Its data-bases and publications provide access to data on trade flows, tariffs, non-tariff measures (NTMs) and trade in value added.
Visual Capitalist
A provider of business and news infographics drawn from both proprietary and public information sources; useful for finding more complex graphic representations of some of the same data available in Statista.