Nexis Uni provides access to news, business and legal sources — including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. This is a useful database for finding news, review and analysis, and original documentation of U.S. house resolutions, bills, and laws.
Searches the following ProQuest databases: Health Research Premium Collection, ProQuest One Business, Literature Online, ProQuest Ebook Central, Periodicals Archive, Chicago Tribune Historical, New York Times Historical, Wall Street Journal (Recent)
Contains peer-reviewed journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
PsycINFO - an American Psychological Association (APA) resource - provides full text and abstracts of peer-reviewed articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health. Expand your resource pool by selecting "Choose databases" above the top search field, checking the box next to the PsycARTICLES database, and selecting the OK button.
Statista provides statistics and data within 600 industries and 50+ countries. Statista also contains a variety of industry or topic overview dossiers and reports, as well as shareable data visualizations and infographics that can be exported in a variety of file formats, including .pdf, .xlsx, and .pptx
Finding and keeping the right employees is critical to the success of your company. But with the tangle of legal and practical issues involved, the hiring process is often littered with mistakes-mistakes that can cost you money, customers, and your reputation.
The first comprehensive analysis of work and the workforce in the United States, from the Industrial Revolution to the era of globalization. * 256 A-Z entries on topics ranging from Amazon.com to income gaps and wages * An impressive array of expert contributors representing labor history, labor economics, labor law, welfare and social policy, human resource management, women's history, media studies, political science, workforce development, and employment policy * Extensive historiography of U.S. labor and industrial relations * End-of-entry bibliographies of references for further research
Explores the history of the portrayal of the working class in motion pictures
External Sites for Labor and Employment Research
General suggestions for finding labor and employment information in the wild
National, state, and local governments routinely track employment statistics and may have extensive regulatory resources available online, which makes them an excellent place to start looking.
Unions may provide useful research resources for the general public as well as for their members, sometimes in partnership with academic institutions (see, for example, the International Brotherhood of Teamsters Labor History Research Center at George Washington University). Labor union sites are often good places to get a current snapshot of labor activist priorities and labor-centered views on business news (good for breadth of perspective).
Quite a lot is written about labor and employment issues in disciplines outside of business or economics (particularly psychology, political science, the health sciences, and sociology), so don't be afraid to branch out into material in those disciplines to find information you can use.
Some useful sites for labor and employment information
The Employment and Training Administration (ETA) administers federal government job training and worker dislocation programs, federal grants to states for public employment service programs, and unemployment insurance benefits. These services are primarily provided through state and local workforce development systems.
EurWORK gathers all of the European Foundation for the Improvement of Living and Working Conditions (Eurofound) resources on working conditions and industrial relations
The International Labour and Employment Relations Association (ILERA) was established in 1967 and its general purpose is to promote the study of labour and employment relations throughout the world in the relevant academic disciplines
The National Labor Relations Board is an independent federal agency that protects the rights of private sector employees to join together, with or without a union, to improve their wages and working conditions
O*NET OnLine has detailed descriptions of the world of work for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students, researchers, and more!
The US government agency tasked with ensuring safe and healthful working conditions for working men and women by setting and enforcing standards and by providing training, outreach, education and assistance. Part of the US Department of Labor.
The main site for the Society for Human Resource management, which hosts a wealth of information about workplace conditions, human resources best practices, and related issues
Comprehensive labor and employment statistics in the US, as well as other resources related to occupational outlooks and policy and industry information
The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) is responsible for enforcing federal laws that make it illegal to discriminate against a job applicant or an employee because of the person's race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy, gender identity, and sexual orientation), national origin, age (40 or older), disability or genetic information
Smart Hiring at the Next Level by 
Work in America by 
Working Stiffs, Union Maids, Reds, and Riffraff by 
This work is licensed by the David L. Rice Library under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.