Searches the following ProQuest databases: Health Research Premium Collection, ProQuest One Business, Literature Online, ProQuest Ebook Central, Periodicals Archive, Chicago Tribune Historical, New York Times Historical, Wall Street Journal (Recent)
Successful trade abroad demands a firm grasp of economic, political and cultural issues. Thoroughly revised and updated, this guide gives global deal-makers the insights to avoid cultural gaffes and forge strong alliances.
This newly updated and expanded edition of an Oryx bestseller, by award-winning authors Ruth A. Pagell and Michael Halperin, is the only reference work available that guides business researchers and librarians to the most valuable sources for information on international business and shows how to interpret and use the data provided. The authors also describe business practices in various regions and countries, the basics of international trade and finance, international business organizations, and relevant political departments and agencies. An extensive number of exhibits and tables are featured, and the book's appendixes include glossaries, checklists for evaluating sources, and sample disclosure documents.
Since publication in 1996 there have been tremendous advances in business and management which have necessitated the development of a new, improved second edition. IEBM 2nd Edition addresses these advances by updating all existing material as well as adding a great deal more. This revision means that the printed encyclopedia now fills 8 volumes with fifty percent more entries and four million words. Additional countries are profiled in the new edition and there are even more biographical profiles of influential management thinkers, making IEBM 2nd Edition bigger and better than ever. Full-length entries, equivalent to any secondary critical work or journal paper, serve as excellent introductions to the debates and literature of a given topic or concept. Each entry is fully cross-referenced and a further reading section is carefully annotated to indicate the level and importance of the work cited which proves especially useful for the student to take their research further.
External Sites for International Business Research
General suggestions for finding international business information
Be aware that while English is widely used in international commerce, you may need to deliberately seek sites and information in translation if you don't speak the language in which the information you need is written; otherwise, explore the library's collection of language dictionaries for assistance. Also: be aware that there may be spelling variations for names and technical terms, depending on language, that will alter the effectiveness of your search terms.
Always make sure you know the currency in which a company's financials are reported. Don't assume USD.
Be aware that other countries may have local industrial classification systems and regulations that require your attention.
Global companies often have country-specific versions of their corporate sites (like McDonalds Japan -- http://www.mcdonalds.co.jp/) which can provide useful information about the company's operations in that country.
Some useful sites for international business information
Created by the International Business Center and the Eli Broad College of Business at Michigan State University (IBC), globalEDGE™ is a knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities.
The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is an international organisation that works on establishing international norms and finding evidence-based solutions to a range of social, economic and environmental challenges. From improving economic performance and creating jobs to fostering strong education and fighting international tax evasion, we provide a unique forum and knowledge hub for data and analysis, exchange of experiences, best-practice sharing, and advice on public policies and global standard-setting.
Get the latest annual and quarterly trade data with TradeStats Express™, provided by the International Trade Administration of the United States Department of Commerce. Retrieve, visualize, analyze, print and download your customized output.
USITC DataWeb provides U.S. merchandise trade and tariff data in a user friendly web interface. Trade data for 1989 to the present are available on a monthly, quarterly, annual, or year-to-date basis and can be retrieved using a sophisticated querying tool with features such as user defined country and commodity groups.
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Reference tab includes: a variety of world, regional, country, ocean, and time zone maps; Flags of the World; and a Country Comparison function that ranks the country information and data in more than 75 Factbook fields.