Skip to Main Content

How To Cite Sources: Chicago and Turabian

This guide provides links to tip sheets for commonly used citation styles.

The Chicago Manual of Style (18th Ed., 2024)

The 18th Edition of the Chicago Manual of Style has arrived!

We have created updated tip sheets and made them available below, and the print version of the manual will arrive soon in the library's collection. For more information about what's changed in the move from the 17th edition to the 18th, please refer to the publisher's guide to what's in the new edition here:

What's New in the 18th Edition

Some changes of note to citations and reference lists (chapters 13 and 14 in the manual):

  • Place of publication is no longer required in citations of books.
  • There's new, expanded, or updated guidance on citing illustrators (in addition to authors), ahead of print and forthcoming journal articles, and AI-generated content.
  • A page range for a chapter in an edited book is no longer required for reference list/bibliography entries (you still need the page range for journal articles, though!).
  • No more three-em-dash for repeated author names in a reference list or bibliography (as when several sources by the same author are listed). Now we just repeat the author name.

If you're not ready yet to move on to CMS18, that's OK! The 17th edition tip sheets and support for the 9th edition of Turabian (which follows CMS17) are provided at the bottom of this page.

The Chicago Manual of Style: Basics

One Manual, Two Styles

The Eighteenth Edition of the Chicago Manual of Style (CMS18) supports two different citation systems:

  • Author-Date (typically used in the physical and social sciences, much like APA) 
  • Notes and Bibliography (mostly used in the humanities, as well as in some of the social sciences)

As you look for CMS18 citation help, be sure to find out which system your work requires and refer specifically to the guidance that applies to that system. Both your in-text citations and your reference lists/bibliographies will differ according to which version you use.

Example Sheets

CMS18 citation models for both systems, ready to download and save or print out for your convenience.

Online Resources for the Chicago Manual of Style

Citation Guides and Examples

Citation Generator

*NOTE: Zotero's (and ZoteroBib's) styles should be updated sometime in October or November 2024 (possibly sooner). Until then, use CMS17 and plan to do manual corrections to bring the results in line with CMS18. For individual citations, this will mostly require corrections to book citations to remove the place of publication and removing page ranges in the bibliographic entries for chapters in edited volumes. For bibliographies, it will require replacing the three-em-dash for repetitions of the same author name with the name itself.

Footnote Help

The Chicago Manual of Style: CMS17 and Turabian 9

CMS 17 Example Sheets

CMS17 citation models for both systems, ready to download and save or print out for your convenience.

Turabian Help

Subjects: Faculty