Research Guides: CMST 101: Background Sources

General Background Information

The Credo Reference database is particularly useful for finding information about a person, place, concept, event, or social movement.

If you'd Wikipedia it, you can Credo it.

Current Issues and Events

If you want to find solid reference information (e.g. background, historical development, dates, definitions, important figures) about current issues or events with hotly debated pros and cons, try one of the three resources linked below.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Use CQ Researcher to browse for comprehensive, analytical, fact-checked reports on current issues and events written by seasoned journalists. CQ's full-length articles and report provide historical background for specific topics, along with chronologies, pros and cons, photos, and statistical graphs and charts. CQ Researcher articles are great reference sources for the beginning stages of your research.
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies (I&C) provides access to articles which explore and analyze hundreds of hot topics in politics, business, government, crime, law, energy, education, health, family, science, foreign policy, race, rights, society, and culture. Full-length articles in I&C provide historical background of the issues discussed, as well as pros and cons, statistics, primary sources, editorials, and overview and debate videos.
I&C is a great resource for exploring issues and controversial topics from different points of view.

Social Issues in America: An Encyclopedia
At once comprehensive and in-depth this monumental work offers a unique reference for anyone researching the historical and contemporary aspects of more than 170 hotly contested issues confronting American society. From Abortion and Academic Freedom to Women's Rights and Xenophobia, extended articles present specific issues in full historical context, spelling out the competing perspectives, social implications, and prospects for the future in clear, objective detail. Each entry includes a chronology, glossary of terms, list of references, and selection of primary documents.

Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
This EBSCO database combines the profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated with the thorough periodicals coverage of Biography Index, as well as full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of Wilson databases (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries). Biography Reference Bank provides biographical information on over 500,000 individuals.

Featured Multicultural Reference Books

The Encyclopedia of National Dress: traditional clothing around the world by Jill Condra (Editor)
Call Number: GT507 .E535 2013
ISBN: 9780313376368
Publication Date: 2013
The Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural Theory (3 volume set) by Michael Ryan (General Editor); Gregory Castle (Volume Editor); Robert Eaglestone (Volume Editor); M. Keith Booker (Volume Editor)
Call Number: REF PN81 .E435 2011 (see catalog record for online access)
ISBN: 9781405183123
Publication Date: 2011
Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia (Volumes 1-4) by Ken Albala (Editor)
Call Number: REF GT2850 .F666 2011
ISBN: 9780313376269
Publication Date: 2011
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life by Timothy L. Gall; Jeneen Hobby
Call Number: GN333 .W67 2009 (see catalog record for online access)
ISBN: 9781414448824
Publication Date: 2009 [print]; 2017 [ebook]
Feet and Footwear: a cultural encyclopedia by Margo DeMello
Call Number: GT2130 .D45 2009
ISBN: 9780313357145
Publication Date: 2009