Research Guides: Affordable Learning: OER by Subject

Open Educational Resources by Subject

These pages will take you directly to the portions of databases that contain materials relevant to specific subjects. However, these are not exhaustive lists and relevant resources may be discovered through a number of collections or searches. More can be found through General OER Collections or by contacting a librarian with your specific needs.

General Collections

Multiple Formats

MERLOT
MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community. The MERLOT Collection is made up of over 40,000 materials in 19 different material type categories.
OER Commons
OER Commons helps educators, students, and lifelong learners avoid time-consuming searches and find exactly the right materials. With a single point of access from which they can search, browse, and evaluate resources in OER Commons’ growing collection of over 50,000 high-quality OER everyone can more efficiently find what they need.

Textbooks

OpenStax College
Open source textbooks that are written by professional content developers who are experts in their fields and undergo a rigorous peer review process. All textbooks meet standard scope and sequence requirements.
Open Textbook Library
The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks. The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network.
LibreTexts
The LibreTexts mission is to unite students, faculty and scholars in a cooperative effort to develop an easy-to-use online platform for the construction, customization, and dissemination of open educational resources (OER) to reduce the burdens of unreasonable textbook costs to our students and society.

Affordable Learning

Assistance

Open Educational Resources by Subject

General Collections

Multiple Formats

Textbooks

Open Courses