Students may check out and renew books and audio-visual resources from the Rice Library. Only books may be renewed online. Audio-visual materials may only be renewed in person.
Laptops can be checked out for a period of 4 hours, and may be renewed once if no other students are waiting for a laptop checkout.
Tablets can be checked out for a period of 2 weeks, and cannot be renewed.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free service for all USI students, faculty, and staff that provides access to materials that aren't available at the Rice Library, or through it's database subscriptions.
After creating an ILL account (see link below), you can request books, electronic journal and newspaper articles, book chapters, audio-visual materials, or dissertations/theses by selecting the appropriate format from the "New Request" section of the ILL menu.
You may also come across one of the following links in a database or in fUSIon:
These links indicate that the resource you're looking for isn't available in the database you're searching.
But if you click this link, our SFX tool will search for the resource in our other databases, and link you to that version of the full text. If the resource isn't available in any of the library's databases, you'll be routed to a page that provides the link pictured below.
If you select the "Request document..." link, you'll be automatically routed to a pre-filled interlibrary loan request form for the article, book, etc.
This work is licensed by the David L. Rice Library under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.