Skip to Main Content

A-Z Databases

This database list includes all of the Rice Library's subscription databases, as well as several publicly available resources. Databases marked (INSPIRE) are freely available through the Indiana State Library to anyone with an Indiana IP address. No USI login necessary!

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020 This link opens in a new window
New

American Prison Newspapers brings together hundreds of newspapers published within prisons by incarcerated people over the past 200 years. When complete, the collection will contain newspapers from prisons in nearly every state, representing penal institutions of all kinds, including women-only institutions.

Behind the Scenes of the Civil Rights Movement This link opens in a new window
New

Covering primarily the 1950s and 1960s, the Behind the Scenes of the Civil Rights Movements provides access to primary source documents that focus on how ordinary citizens in the smaller communities viewed, participated in and lived through this historical era. When completed in 2025, the collection will include letters, general correspondence, logs, demonstration plan outlines, transportation logs and plans, meetings, worship services, photographs, newsletters, news reels, interviews and musical recordings from Black, Latino, Native American and Asian American Pacific Islander communities.

New

Recently launched with four issues of the Gwendolyn Brooks publication, The Black Position, the
Black Periodicals collection will bring together 75,000 pages from periodicals published by
Black Americans from the early 1900s to the 1980s to advance their vision for liberation and
dignity. Also included will be select titles from Europe, Africa, and the Caribbean that reflect the
global dimensions of the Black freedom struggle.

DailyMed This link opens in a new window
New
The DailyMed database contains labeling, submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) by companies, for FDA-approved prescription and over the counter drug products and medical for human and animal use, as well as certain other products (including cosmetics, etc.) not approved by the FDA.
Documenting White Supremacy and Its Opponents This link opens in a new window
New

Documenting White Supremacy and its Opponents in the 1920s brings together a comprehensive set of local, regional, and national newspapers published by the organized white supremacist group the Ku Klux Klan and sympathizers, alongside key anti-Klan voices from newspapers published by Black American, Catholic, and Jewish communities. The collection provides scholars with important documentary evidence of organized white nationalism in the 1920s along with the activity of organizations that actively resisted it.

Drama Online This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) Bloomsbury

Includes the following streaming video collections: 

  • Donmar Shakespeare Trilogy on Screen
  • Royal Shakespeare Company (RSC) Live
  • Shakespeare's Globe on Screen 1 & 2
  • Stratford Festival Shakespeare
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
New Featured
DynaMed is a clinical decision support system that provides clinicians with evidence-based information for quick answers at the point of care.
HIV, AIDS, & the Arts This link opens in a new window
New

HIV, AIDS & the Arts strives to preserve and make accessible the artistic output of AIDS activists with a particular focus on those who have remained in the margins of these histories. The collection will include trans*, woman, and BIPOC artists whose work has yet to be discovered.

Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
New

Independent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals from the 1960s - 1980s. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, and activists from marginalized communities including African-Americans, Native Americans, Latino, LGBTQ and anti-war groups. In addition the collection contains a large number of alternative literary magazines where prominent authors today began publishing.

Student Activism This link opens in a new window
New

The Student Activism collection is intended to serve as a scholarly bridge from the extensive history of student protest in the United States to the study of today’s vibrant, continually unfolding actions. The collection captures the voices of students across the great range of protest, political actions, and equal-rights advocacy from the 20th and early 21st century United States. The primary sources intended for inclusion will be broad-based across time, geography, and political viewpoint — from the conservative to the anarchist.

Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...