ASC is a multi-disciplinary, full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. This scholarly collection provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc. and nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
Provides streaming documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
Accessibility features: video transcripts, closed captioning, some multilingual subtitle options
Searches the following ProQuest databases: Health Research Premium Collection, ProQuest One Business, Literature Online, ProQuest Ebook Central, Periodicals Archive, Chicago Tribune Historical, New York Times Historical, Wall Street Journal (Recent)
A Companion to Linguistic Anthropology provides a series of in-depth explorations of key concepts and approaches by some of thescholars whose work constitutes the theoretical and methodologicalfoundations of the contemporary study of language as culture. Provides a definitive overview of the field of linguisticanthropology, comprised of original contributions by leadingscholars in the field Summarizes past and contemporary research across the field andis intended to spur students and scholars to pursue new paths inthe coming decades Includes a comprehensive bibliography of over 2000 entriesdesigned as a resource for anyone seeking a guide to the literatureof linguistic anthropology
Crowley's voice of experience brings us the best practical fieldwork guide to date. Sensible, frank, and comprehensive, this book prepares beginning field workers for the rigours ahead and will save years of costly trial and error. N. J. EnfieldThis book is a comprehensive, practical guide to field linguistics. It deals in particular with the problems arising from the documentation of endangered languages. Deploying a mixture of methodology and practical advice and drawing on his own immense experience, Terry Crowley shows how to record,analyse, and describe a language in the field. He covers the challenges and problems the researcher is likely to encounter, offers guidance on issues ranging from ethics to everyday diplomacy, and provides full discussions of corpus elicitation, how to keep track of data, salvage fieldwork, dealingwith unexpected circumstances, and many other central topics. "We all learn by our mistakes," he writes, "and I have plenty of my own to share with you."
Revised and updated, the 2nd Edition of Living Language: An Introduction to Linguistic Anthropology presents an accessible introduction to the study of language in real-life social contexts around the world through the contemporary theory and practice of linguistic anthropology. Presents a highly accessible introduction to the study of language in real-life social contexts around the world Combines classic studies on language and cutting-edge contemporary scholarship and assumes no prior knowledge in linguistics or anthropology Features a series of updates and revisions for this new edition, including an all-new chapter on forms of nonverbal language Provides a unifying synthesis of current research and considers future directions for the field
THE CALIFORNIA LANGUAGE ARCHIVE is an online catalog of indigenous language materials in archives at the University of California, Berkeley. It includes physical and digital materials held by the Survey of California and Other Indian Languages, the Phoebe A. Hearst Museum of Anthropology, and the Bancroft Library.
The CLARIN Knowledge-Centre for linguistic diversity and language documentation (CKLD) is a new, distributed CLARIN K-Centre and offers expertise on data and data-related methods, technology and background information on language resources and tools to researchers – including students and native speakers.
ELAR provides the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) archive for endangered languages materials for SOAS staff and students and for grantees of the Endangered Languages Documentation Programme and the University of London. ELAR also archives materials of external parties as a service provider.
The Language Archive provides access to archival resources at the Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics. The archive contains various types of materials, including: audio and video language corpus data from languages around the world; photographs, notes, experimental data, and other relevant information required to document and describe languages and how people use them; records of speech in everyday interactions in families and communities; naturalistic data from adult conversations from endangered and under-studied languages, and linguistic phenomena; experimental stimuli and data.
OLAC, the Open Language Archives Community, is an international partnership of institutions and individuals who are creating a worldwide virtual library of language resources by: (i) developing consensus on best current practice for the digital archiving of language resources, and (ii) developing a network of interoperating repositories and services for housing and accessing such resources.