Search for books, ebooks, images, and articles from scholarly, trade, or news periodicals with the Rice Library's fUSIon tool.
What Do Children and Young Adults Read Next? by 
Core Collection for Children and Young Adults by 
Best Books for Children Preschool through Grade 6 by
Now in its tenth edition and with annual updates posted online, this comprehensive and trusted professional resource helps librarians-and patrons and teachers-identify and use the best fiction and nonfiction books published for children in grades pre-K to six. * Contains some 30,000 annotated entries on recommended children's books for readers in pre-K through grade six * Provides helpful indexes for easy and quick access, including author/illustrator, title, and subject/grade level * Offers annual updates online to keep librarians abreast of current releases * Draws recommendations for books from a wide range of trusted review journals * Helps librarians build reading lists based on themes and genres
Historical Fiction for Young Readers (Grades 4-8) by
Enhance your historical fiction collection - and its popularity with readers and value in the classroom - with this wide-ranging guide. After discussion of various aspects of the genre (its importance, history, criteria for evaluation, and methods of presentation), the author takes an in-depth look at 80 of the best historical fiction novels published for this age group in the last 10 to 15 years. For each title there is a brief introduction discussing setting, historical background, and point of view; a list of characters; a detailed plot summary; and ways to introduce the book to students, including important passages for reading or retelling. This versatile tool, written by a recognized expert in children's literature, can be used for readers' advisory, curricular support, title selection, and collection development. Grades 4-8.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature by
For much of its history, children's literature has been overlooked or looked down on by scholars. But in recent years children's literature has assumed greater importance, as literary critics, psychologists, anthropologists, and historians have begun to discover what children and parents have known for centuries: that this is a literature of extraordinary richness, depth, and delight. The Encyclopedia captures and elucidates this richness in four volumes and 3,200 signed entries. It offers comprehensive coverage of children's literature, from medieval chapbooks of moral instruction for children to J. K. Rowling's immensely popular Harry Potter books. Unlike other references, the Encyclopedia not only documents but also interprets every work, major and minor, that has played a role in the history of children's literature in the world. General essays illuminate prominent trends, themes, genres, and the traditions of children's literature in many countries. In addition, the Encyclopedia provides biographies of important writers, as well as extensive coverage of illustrators with numerous examples of their work. Sociocultural developments such as the impact of toys, films, animation, the Internet, literacy, libraries and librarians, censorship, the multicultural expansion of the field, and other issues related to the appreciation and dissemination of children's literature are also addressed. While the Encyclopedia concentrates on the tradition known best by its readership, it also covers the international development of children's literature and offers an unprecedented treatment of works from Australia, Canada, New Zealand, India, Pakistan, African countries, and other nations. Its over 800 distinguished contributors come from around the world and include such renowned scholars and writers as Gillian Avery, Peter Hunt, Klaus Doderer, Hansa Heino Ewers, Jean Perrot, Denise Escarpit, Brian Alderson, and Betsy Gould Hearne. A-Z organization, accessible writing, plentiful illustrations, cross-references, bibliographies, a comprehensive index and a systematic outline make the Encyclopedia an invaluable and easy-to-use research reference.
Books Kids Will Sit Still for 3 by
Books Kids Will Sit Still For 3 by librarian and children's literature troubadour Judy Freeman is here at last. The largest and most comprehensive book of its kind ever written, it's an indispensable treasure trove of 1,700 child-tested favorite read-aloud titles, published since 1995. Everything here--the text chapters (About Children's Books and Ways to Use Them), the Annotated Read-Aloud Lists for preschool through grade 6, the professional books bibliography, and the indexes--is 100 percent new This is the definitive source for the best recent picture books, fiction, poetry, folklore, biography, and nonfiction books to share with children. The extensively annotated bibliography incorporates thousands of innovative and inspirational ideas for booktalking, book discussion, creative drama, storytelling, poetry, writing, library skills, and other literature-based teaching. Books Kids Will Sit Still For 3 by librarian and children's literature troubadour Judy Freeman is here at last. The largest and most comprehensive book of its kind ever written, it's an indispensable treasure trove of 1,700 child-tested favorite read-aloud titles, published since 1995. Everything here--the text chapters (About Children's Books and Ways to Use Them), the Annotated Read-Aloud Lists for preschool through grade 6, the professional books bibliography, and the indexes--is 100% new This is the definitive source for the best recent picture books, fiction, poetry, folklore, biography, and nonfiction books to share with children. The extensively annotated bibliography incorporates thousands of innovative and inspirational ideas for booktalking, book discussion, creative drama, storytelling, poetry, writing, library skills, and other literature-based teaching. Books Kids Will Sit Still For 3: A Read-Aloud Guide is the latest all-new volume in the Books Kids Will Sit Still For series, which includes Books Kids Will Sit Still For: A Read-Aloud Guide, Second Edition and More Books Kids Will Sit Still For: A Read-Aloud Guide. The three books together constitute a tour of the best of children's literature and how to use it, with a total of more than 5,000 invaluable annotations of exemplary children's books.
Best Books for Middle School and Junior High Readers, Grades 6-9 by
Identifying outstanding fiction and nonfiction titles, this practical book allows educators to find engaging books for students in grades six to nine that will help turn them into lifelong readers and learners. * Supplies concise, lively annotations and review citations on everything from literary classics and non-fiction titles to graphic novels * Provides quick access to information for both library staff and patrons with thematic, curriculum-oriented organization and clear subject breakdowns * Indicates which books are also available in audio format and in eBook format-valuable information for collection development and reading specialists * Identifies award-winning and series titles
Historical Fiction for Young Readers (Grades 4-8) by
Enhance your historical fiction collection - and its popularity with readers and value in the classroom - with this wide-ranging guide. After discussion of various aspects of the genre (its importance, history, criteria for evaluation, and methods of presentation), the author takes an in-depth look at 80 of the best historical fiction novels published for this age group in the last 10 to 15 years. For each title there is a brief introduction discussing setting, historical background, and point of view; a list of characters; a detailed plot summary; and ways to introduce the book to students, including important passages for reading or retelling. This versatile tool, written by a recognized expert in children's literature, can be used for readers' advisory, curricular support, title selection, and collection development. Grades 4-8.
Best Books for High School Readers, Grades 9-12 by
This invaluable guide enables librarians as well as patrons and teachers to identify the best books for high school readers out of the thousands published each year. * Supplies concise, lively annotations and review citations on everything from literary classics and non-fiction titles to graphic novels * Provides quick access to information for both library staff and patrons with thematic, curriculum-oriented organization and clear subject breakdowns * Indicates which books are also available in audio format and in eBook format-valuable information for collection development and reading specialists * Identifies award-winning and series titles
Teen Genreflecting by
With 1,100 new annotations, this guide organizes and describes some 1,300 titles, most published within the past five years, indicating not only where they fit in the genre scheme, but also the general reading level and any pertinent awards.
A Core Collection for Young Adults by
Help your teen readers thrive with a collection for their diverse tastes Praise for the previous edition: This is an extremely valuable tool for young-adult school or public librarians. RECOMMENDED. -- Library Media Connection For both novice and experienced librarians who want to build teen collections that actually circulate. -- School Library Journal Expert author Rollie Welch, a longtime member of YALSAS Best Books Committee and Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers, makes collection building easy for school and public librarians through this extraordinarily sound, field-tested and diverse selection of recommended, acclaimed and award-winning titles. This remarkable new tool has been extensively revised and expanded to include a comprehensive, up-to-date guide to over 1,200 must-have titles across 34 different genres that will appeal to teens of all different ages, genders, ethnicities, and economic backgrounds. Along with material that spans the gamut of fiction and non-fiction subgenres, from action and adventure to fantasy to history to science-fiction, Welch includes a number of innovative new sections dedicated to more specific interests, like supernatural beings, edgier "almost-street" literature, coming-of-age tales, graphic novels, religious-themed fiction and new classics. Each title includes full bibliographic information along with an annotation that provides a brief plot and character summary, an audience recommendation, and content advisories. A companion CD-ROM offers titles and lists in various formats (Excel, Word) to facilitate easy collection maintenance, selection, and acquisition. Novice and veteran librarians alike will find this to be the ultimate go-to-source for YA collection development.
Best Books for Young Adults by
Best Books for Young Adults is back and better than ever The new third edition continues to be the most comprehensive and effective reference for great reading for young adults, including 40 years of best YA books plus background on the history, committee procedures, and current issues facing the BBYA Committee. It includes a recap of the current trends in teen literature as reflected in the past decade of BBYA lists. There are twenty seven themed and annotated reproducible booklists, perfect for reader's advisory with teens, parents, teachers even for collection development. It has indexed, annotated lists extending back to 1966.Teen service librarians in public and school libraries, along with parents, and middle and high school English teachers, will welcome this fully updated third edition, featuring a thought-provoking foreword from Betty Carter, YA services luminary and editor of the first two editions of BBYA.
This work is licensed by the David L. Rice Library under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.