If you don't see your social problem listed in one of the individual boxes on this page, you should find it discussed in one of the general titles here.
Social Issues in America REF HN57 .S624 2006
Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America REF HV12 .E497 2005
Social Security Handbook REF HD7123 .S63
U.S. Social Security: A Reference Handbook REF HD7125 .L58 2008
Welfare: Your Rights and the Law REF KF3720 .J376 2002
Social Policy: Essential Primary Sources REF HN57 .S6244 2006
Statistical Handbook of the Social Safety Net REF HV51 .P33 2004
Statistical Abstract of the United States REF HA202 .U5
The library has print editions through 2013. The most current data is accessible through the database ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (go to library's A-Z list of databases)
Federal Agency Profiles for Students REF JK421 .F42 1999
Social Work Speaks: NASW Policy Statements REF HV85 .N33a
Public and professional policy statements of the National Association of Social Workers in areas ranging from child abuse & neglect, homelessness, or aging & wellness, to juvenile justice, racism, or gender identity issues. If unsure of a topic for social work policy research, try this book for ideas!
Congressional Quarterly Almanac REF JK1 .C66
The official language of our public laws leaves a lot to be desired in terms of understanding by the average citizen. CQ Almanac puts the development, debate over, and provisions of Federal laws (which make policy) into language that makes sense. If you know the Public Law number or the year legislation was passed, these annual books will help you understand the law behind the policy and program. A Reference Librarian can help with this.
Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence REF HV6626 .E534 2007
Domestic Violence Sourcebook REF HV 6626.2 .D685 2009
Alcoholism Sourcebook REF RC565 .A4493 2007
Drug Abuse Sourcebook REF HV5801 .D724 2010
Encyclopedia of Addictions REF RC563.4 .H65 2008
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, and Addictive Behavior REF HV5804 .E53 2009
Mental Health Disorders Sourcebook REF RC454.4 .M458 2009
Depression Sourcebook REF RC537 .D4455 2008
Mental Disorders of the New Millennium REF RC454 .M462 2006
Encyclopedia of Prisons and Correctional Facilities REF HV9471 .E427 2005
Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice REF HV9104 .E58 2003
Encyclopedia of Victimology and Crime Prevention REF HV6250.3 .U5 E55 2010
Aging in America: Societal Issues REF HQ1064 .U5 A35 2010 V. 3
Encyclopedia of Aging REF HQ1061 .E53 2001
The encyclopedia of elder care : the comprehensive resource on geriatric and social care REF RC954 .E53 2008
Handbook of aging and the social sciences (e-book in Credo Ref database)
Federal Benefits for Veterans, Dependents, and Survivors REF UB357 .F43 2010
Returning Wars' Wounded, Injured, and Ill: A Reference Handbook REF UB363 .R49 2008
Poverty and the Government in America: A Historical Encyclopedia REF HC110.P6 P595 2009
Poverty in America: An Encyclopedia REF HC110.P6 P595 2009
Rich and Poor in America: A Reference Handbook REF HC110.I5 G55 2008
Encyclopedia of Homelessness REF HV4493 .E53 2004
American Homelessness: A Reference Handbook REF HV4505 .H647 2001
Disabilities: Insights from Across Fields and Around the World REF HV1568 .D54 2009
Children with Disabilities in America : A Historical Handbook and Guide REF HV888.5 .D57 2006
The ABC-CLIO Companion to the Disability Rights Movement REF HV1553 .P42 1997
Immigration in U.S. History REF JV6450 .I565 2006
Immigration REF JV6201 .P68 2007
Child Abuse Sourcebook REF HV6626.52 .C557 2009
Encyclopedia of Adoption REF HV875.55 .A28 2007
Adoption Factbook IV REF HV875.55 .A36 2007
Children and Youth in Adoption, Orphanages, and Foster Care : a Historical Handbook and Guide REF HV875.55 .C45 2006
Child Adoption: Trends and Policies REF HV875 .U55 2009