English - CAP - Castle High School - Research Guides at University of Southern Indiana

Database Search Tips

Search with keywords rather than full sentences.
Example: Othello AND gender AND class AND jealousy
Use the facets that appear on the left side of your results page to filter out irrelevant publication types (e.g. book reviews, newspaper articles, etc.)
If you have USI credentials don't limit to Full Text only. That removes links to content in other databases.
Sign up for an interlibrary loan account and we can get you articles that aren't immediately available in databases.

Related Guides

ENG 101 - Castle High School
by Leah McAlister Last Updated Nov 5, 2024 21 views this year

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a multi-disciplinary digital library containing scholarly articles, books, and primary sources.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to humanities and social sciences content.
Be sure to check the "Articles" option on the left side of your results page to filter out book reviews.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is an extensive scholarly literature resource which contains around 40 databases pertaining to the health and medical fields, the humanities, social and computer sciences, business, performing and visual arts, and education.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles, dissertations, and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.

*Pro Tip: Simultaneously search Academic Search Premier, Social Sciences Full Text, and other related databases by selecting the "Choose Databases" link above the search box(es), checking the boxes next to the appropriate databases, then clicking "Ok."

Academic Search Complete (INSPIRE) This link opens in a new window
ASC is a multi-disciplinary, full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. This scholarly collection provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc. and nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
Does not require USI login.
Requires Indiana IP address.
Humanities Full Text (INSPIRE) This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.
Does not require USI login.
Requires Indiana IP address.
Social Sciences Full Text (INSPIRE) This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Full Text provides sources covering a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, public welfare, urban studies and more.
Does not require USI login.
Requires Indiana IP address.

*Pro Tip: Simultaneously search Academic Search Premier, GreenFILE, and Social Sciences Full Text by selecting the "Choose Databases" link above the search box(es), checking the boxes next to the appropriate databases, then clicking "Ok."

Classroom Resources

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)

Castle High School: English - CAP

Database Search Tips

Related Guides

Database Resources

Classroom Resources