Research Guides: Political Parties: Reference

Search in fUSIon

Search for books, ebooks, images, and articles from scholarly, trade, or news periodicals with the Rice Library's fUSIon tool.

Featured Titles

Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics by Kerric Harvey (Editor)
Call Number: REF JA85.2.U6 E52 2014

Publication Date: 2014
Political encyclopedia of U.S. states and regions by Donald P. Haider-Markel
Call Number: REF JK2408 .P623 2009 (2 vols.)

ISBN: 0872893774
A history of the U.S. political system: Ideas, interests, and institutions by Richard A. Harris and Daniel J. Tichenor
Call Number: REF JK31 .H57 2010 (3 vols.)

ISBN: 1851097139

Vol. 2 Political Parties
Political and civic leadership: A reference handbook by Richard A. Couto
Call Number: REF JC330.3 .P642 2010 (2 vols.)

ISBN: 1412962633

Selected Titles

Safire's political dictionary

REF JK9 .S2 2008

Encyclopedia of political communication

REF JA85 .E64 2008 (2 vols.)

Campaign guide for political party committees

REF JK1991 .C247 2007

Encyclopedia of American political parties and elections

REF JK2261 .S218 2006

Citizen action encyclopedia: Groups and movements that have changed America

REF JS303.5 .H35 2002

A statistical history of the American electorate

REF JK1967 .R87 2001

Special interest group profiles for students

REF JK1118 .S688 1999

History/Political Science/Law Online Reference Resources

CREDO reference
ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collections Online
ECCO offers online access to one of the most extensive libraries of eighteenth-century English books in the world.
Gale Biography in Context
state-wide access
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Browse list of online reference titles to match your resource needs
International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences
Issues & Controversies
World News and Social Issues
Sage Knowledge
Scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks in social sciences, health, and environment
Social Issues in America; An Encyclopedia
More than 150 key social issues confronting the United States today are covered.

Why Reference Sources?

Reference sources can provide you with valuable information such as:

Background information
Important figures
Dates, places, and people
Definitions and key terms
Lists of additional sources (articles, books, etc.)

They are an excellent way to begin your research by allowing you to become familiar with the topic in preparation to choose the best articles, books, and additional resources.

Additional Guides

American History 102: Since 1865
by Laura Bernhardt Last Updated Aug 11, 2025 8 views this year

Political Parties