Research Guides: Political Parties: Presidents

Search in fUSIon

Search for books, ebooks, images, and articles from scholarly, trade, or news periodicals with the Rice Library's fUSIon tool.

Featured Reference Titles

Facts about the presidents: A compilation of biographical and historical information by Joseph Nathan Kane and Janet Podell
Call Number: REF E176.1 .K3 2009
ISBN: 0824210875
Vital statistics on the presidency: George Washington to George W. Bush by Lyn Ragsdale
Call Number: REF JK518 .R34 2009
ISBN: 0872895297
State of the Union by Deborah Kalb; Gerhard Peters; John T. Woolley; CQ Press Staff (Editor)
Call Number: REF J81.4 .S73 2007
ISBN: 9780872894334
Publication Date: 2006-12-01
Encyclopedia of Presidential Campaigns, Slogans, Issues, and Platforms by Robert North Roberts; Scott John Hammond
Call Number: REF E176.1 .R6 2004
ISBN: 0313319731
Publication Date: 2004-03-30
Encyclopedia of Public Administration and Public Policy by David A. Schultz (Editor)
Call Number: REF JK9 .E526 2003
ISBN: 0816047995
Publication Date: 2003-11-01
Speeches of the American Presidents by Janet Podell (Editor); Steven Anzovin (Editor); John Little (Introduction by)
Call Number: REF J81.4 .S64 2001
ISBN: 0824210069
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Guide to the Presidency by Michael Nelson (Editor)
Call Number: REF JK516 .G83 2008
ISBN: 0872893642
Publication Date: 2007-07-02

Individual Presidents, Selected Reference Titles

Abraham Lincoln companion

REF E457.15 .A153 2008

The Truman years

REF E747.U34 2006

Encyclopedia of the Clinton presidency

REF E885.L48 2002

First Ladies, Selected Reference Titles

American first ladies

REF E176.2 .A4 2006

First ladies of the United States: A biographical dictionary

REF E176.2 .W369 2001

Researching the Presidency, Selected Titles

A history of the U.S. political system : ideas, interests, and institutions

REF JK31 .H57 2010 (3 vols.)

Encyclopedia of public administration and public policy

REF JK9 .E526 2003

U.S. government on the Web: Getting the information you need 1999

Available online through EBSCO

Using government information sources: Electronic and print

REF Z1223.Z7 S4 2001

A historical guide to the U.S. government

REF JK9 .H57 1998

How to research the presidency

REF JK516 .M365 1996

History/Political Science/Law Online Reference Resources

CREDO reference
ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collections Online
ECCO offers online access to one of the most extensive libraries of eighteenth-century English books in the world.
Gale Biography in Context
state-wide access
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Browse list of online reference titles to match your resource needs
International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences
Issues & Controversies
World News and Social Issues
Sage Knowledge
Scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks in social sciences, health, and environment
Social Issues in America; An Encyclopedia
More than 150 key social issues confronting the United States today are covered.

Why Reference Sources?

Reference sources can provide you with valuable information such as:

Background information
Important figures
Dates, places, and people
Definitions and key terms
Lists of additional sources (articles, books, etc.)

They are an excellent way to begin your research by allowing you to become familiar with the topic in preparation to choose the best articles, books, and additional resources.

Additional Guides

American History 102: Since 1865
by Laura Bernhardt Last Updated Feb 6, 2024 1 views this year
American Presidency
by Laura Bernhardt Last Updated Feb 6, 2024 0 views this year

Political Parties