Research Guides: DNP Library Resources: Research Essentials

Get the Literature You Need

Journal Finder
Search for both print and online journal titles at Rice Library or browse journals by subject.
DOI Search
Use LibKey Nomad to search by DOI or other identifiers
Interlibrary Loan
All USI students, faculty, and staff may request print and electronic resources through the Rice Library's interlibrary loan service at no cost. This way, if (for example) full text is not immediately available through our database subscriptions, students will still be able to access the information they need within a matter of days.

PubMed

PubMed is an ideal place to begin your biomedical research. Any full text links that say "PubMed Central" or "PMC" will route you the free full-text content of an article. If a full text link routes you to a publisher page with a pay wall, return to the PubMed article information, look for the journal title, volume, and issue, and plug that information into Journal Finder to see if the Rice Library has a full text version.

Remember, if we don't have it, you can request an electronic copy via Interlibrary Loan!

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. If no full text links are provided, or if you are routed to a publisher site with a paywall, check an article's availability in the Rice Library's databases with the Journal Finder tool.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central (PMC) is a database of open access biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Does not require USI login.

Other Suggested Databases

CINAHL Plus This link opens in a new window
The CINAHL Plus collection provides full-text access to nursing and allied health journals. Use CINAHL to find evidence based literature, RCTs, clinical trials, systematic reviews, and more. To expand your resource pool within this platform, click on "Choose Databases" (above the top search field) and select "Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition" and "MEDLINE with Full Text".
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A database of systematic reviews
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection contains over 21,100 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available.
Trip This link opens in a new window
The Trip database provides access (full text, when possible) to primary and secondary evidence in biomedical research. Search options include a specific PICO function; and results lists are organized by level of evidence, and provide disclaimers when a potential for bias has been detected in primary research literature. As with PubMed, if you cannot access an article for free through Trip, use Journal Finder to check the Rice Library's holdings.

Clinical Reference

MedScape
A large collection of free clinical reference resources. Note: MedScape's free content is ad-supported, but the site provides access to more material with less ad noise for users who sign up for a free account.
Merck Manual Professional: Health Topics
Free clinical reference resources provided by the Merck Manual for healthcare professionals

Guideline Central This link opens in a new window
A large free database of clinical practice guidelines and other clinical reference resources.

Literature Review Writing Guidance

Literature Review Basics
A guide with information and resources for collecting, analyzing, evaluating, organizing, and presenting your research.

DNP Library Resources

Research and Instruction Librarian

Study Designs and Methods

Get the Literature You Need

PubMed

Other Suggested Databases

Clinical Reference

Literature Review Writing Guidance