Newspapers and Journal Articles - HIST 101 - Harrison High School - Research Guides at University of Southern Indiana

Newspapers

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
An archive of African American newspapers covering life in the Antebellum South through the Civil Rights movement and more.
*Requires USI login

The Evansville Argus
The Evansville Argus was an African-American newspaper in Evansville, IN. that was published from 1938 to 1945. The paper featured local, national, and international news. The newspapers are keyword searchable and individual pages can be copied or printed.
EVPL News and Magazines
EVPL offers access to several news and newspaper databases. Some contain materials dating back to the 19th Century.
*Requires EVPL library card or access from an EVPL computer

Hoosier State Chronicles (INSPIRE) This link opens in a new window
Search historic newspapers from across the state of Indiana
Note: If you type multi-word events or concepts, like the "World's Columbian Exposition," into the search box, remember to enclose it in "quotations". Otherwise, you'll get a bunch of unrelated content.
Does not require USI login.
Indiana Memory This link opens in a new window
Indiana Memory is a collaborative effort of the Indiana State Library and the Institution of Museum and Library Studies to provide access to the wealth of primary sources in Indiana libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions. It is a gateway to Indiana's history and culture found in digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, newspapers, maps, and other media. As a portal to the collections, Indiana Memory assists individuals to locate materials relevant to their interests and to better appreciate the connections between those materials
Does not require USI login.

The Shield
The Shield Student Newspaper Collection contains The Roach, The Spartan Shield, and The Shield student newspapers from Indiana State University Evansville (ISUE) and the University of Southern Indiana (USI) in Evansville, IN. from 1965 to 2000. This collection is part of a larger University Publications Gallery containing material published by ISUE and USI from 1965 to present.

Scholarly Article Databases

Scholarly journals contain peer-reviewed research articles written by scholars and experts in various disciplines. The purpose of scholarly articles is to share new knowledge, research, or advances within a particular field of study. In other words, scholarly articles are written by scholars for scholars.

You have access to electronic scholarly articles through the INSPIRE and USI databases listed below.

Academic Search Complete (INSPIRE) This link opens in a new window
ASC is a multi-disciplinary, full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. This scholarly collection provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc. and nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
Does not require USI login.
Requires Indiana IP address.
Humanities Full Text (INSPIRE) This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.
Does not require USI login.
Requires Indiana IP address.
Social Sciences Full Text (INSPIRE) This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Full Text provides sources covering a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, public welfare, urban studies and more.
Does not require USI login.
Requires Indiana IP address.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is an extensive scholarly literature resource which contains around 40 databases pertaining to the health and medical fields, the humanities, social sciences, business, performing and visual arts, and education.
*Requires USI login