Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Archives and Special Collections Handbook

Policy and procedure manual for the UASC unit

Fall Semester

National Archives Month

  • Hug An Artifact (2015)
    • Month-long celebration by having members of the USI and Evansville community have photographs taken of them holding one of the department's artifacts.
  • Found It in the Archives (2016)
    • Month-long event where members of the USI and Evansville community could search through boxes from various collections from the department. Staff asked participants would take a "selfie" with their artifact and send it via email.
  • ArchivesFest (2017)
    • Week-long celebration (October 16-20) and representing various types of items inside of the department.
      • Historic photographs, "Exploring Community", historic books, historic documents, and historic artifacts.
  • ArchivesFest (2018)
    • 2 week-long celebration (October 15-19; 22-26) to help raise awareness about what an archives is and what materials students, faculty, and community members can use for their personal research.
      • This year, UASC partnered with Willard Library, Lawrence Library, Evansville Museum, Reitz Home, and the Evansville African-American Museum.
        • Themes: Historic books, historic photographs, historic artifacts, and historic documents.

Halloween

  • 2013: The Wizard of Oz
  • 2015: Gothic Literature (Dracula, Great Expectations, and The Cast of Amontillado)
  • 2016: Handel and Gretel
  • 2017: Murder on the Orient Express
  • 2018: History Alive!

Movies in the Archives

  • In 2015 and 2016, four reel-to-reel films were presented to the USI and Evansville community to celebrate Veteran's Day, November 11.
    • Four films were shown from World War I and World War II.

Spring Semester

Arch Madness

  • 2016
    •  Students, faculty/staff, and members of the public had a photograph taken with a life-size photograph of USI's tallest athlete, John Hollinden, holding ISUE/USI athletic memorabilia.
  • 2017
    • Similar to the NCAA tournament, sixteen artifacts from the University Archives and Special Collections competed to win the title of "USI's Coolest Artifact". There were four "regions" reflecting the department's collecting areas: Communal, Regional, Special, and University. The winner was the 1603 Book of Alchemy (defeating "The Ultimate Frontier" painting).
  • 2018
    • In collaboration with Susan Sauls, art registrar of the USI Art Collection and Lawrence Library, completed against the University Archives and Special Collections. Similar to the previous year, there were four "regions". The winner was the Incantation Bowl (defeating the 2017 winner, the 1603 Book of Alchemy).
  • 2019
    • In collaboration with Susan Sauls (art registrar of the USI Art Collection and Lawrence Library), Tom Lonnberg (Evansville Museum), and Pat Sides (Willard Library), completed against the University Archives and Special Collections. Similar to the previous two years, each institution was divided into regions. The winner was Lord Byron's Duelling Pistols from the Evansville Museum (defeating Cook Brewery Beer Bottles from the University Archives and Special Collections).

Movies in the Archives

  • In 2015 and 2016, five films were presented on sports and the news of the day.
    • 1947 World Series
    • Joe Louis vs. Joe Walcott
    • News Parade of 1937, 1947, and 1953