Search for books, ebooks, images, and articles from scholarly, trade, or news periodicals with the Rice Library's fUSIon tool.
History of Art by
Traces the growth of man's aesthetic vision and the stylistic development of art, architecture, and sculpture since ancient times.
Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms by
What exactly is neoexpressionism? the difference between applique and appliqu#65533;? the part of a city known as the acropolis? or the painting technique called gouache? In this authoritative and concise dictionary, more than 2,000 entries embrace the vast vocabulary of painting and sculpture, architecture and photography, and the decorative, applied, and graphic arts. The hundreds of illustrations and diagrams play a vital role as information: art movements become immediately recognizable by a representative painting, and the defining features of each order of architecture are identifiable at a glance. This revised edition features a substantial number of new entries, including today's influential artist groups and tendencies from Chicano art to gene art, and new terms connected with the use of computer technology in the art world, from digital image to pixel.
Artists from Latin American Cultures by
Latin Americans have long been relegated to the cultural background, obscured by the dominant European culture. This biographical dictionary profiles 75 artists from the United States and 13 nations of Central and South America and the Caribbean, including painters, sculptors, photographers, muralists, printmakers, installation artists, and performance artists. Some of their works recall pre-Columbian times; others confront the cultural imperialism of the U.S. over Latin America; and many explore how the dominant elements of culture can affect identities of class, gender, and sexuality. Profiled artists range from the renowned to the little-known: Frida Kahlo; Tina Modotti; Diego Rivera; Myrna Baez; Raquel Forner; Patrocino Barela; and many more. Color photographs are provided for many of the works. Each entry includes information about the artist's childhood, schooling, creative growth, and artistic styles and themes. Exemplary artworks and influences are described, along with a look at popular and critical responses. Supplemental features include artist cross references, a glossary of essential terms from the art world, and a number of vivid photos portraying the artists in their creative environments.
A Dictionary of Art Titles by
The titles of artworks can often be misleading, and their relationship to a painting or sculpture difficult to discern. Often, a title requires previous knowledge of history, religion or mythology. Sometimes, the title reflects the ownership or history of the painting, its subjects or patrons, but does not explain them. Many titles are allusive and by their nature open ended--for example, The Escape does not explain the cause, the motivation, or anything else about the escape. Finally, some titles defy all logic and seem to have little to do with the artwork.This dictionary of 3,000 works of art explains the meaning behind the titles. The titles, mostly of paintings and sculpture, but also of some less traditional media, are arranged alphabetically by original title or English title (with post-18th century French, German, Italian, Spanish, and Russian works usually given in their own language, and occasionally other works as well); each entry provides an English title when necessary, the artist's name, when known, the date of creation, the present location unless a work is not extant, and an explanation of the title. A bibliography and an index of artists are included.
Key Art Terms for Beginners by
In this volume, beginning art enthusiasts are introduced to the key terms - times, places, peoples, and styles; mediums and materials; and basic analytical language - that should give them a foundation for art appreciation. The terms are supplemented by illustrations and captions, and related or contrasting terms are cross-referred, and indexed.