AtlasesStatistics
This is the "Reference" page of the "American History 101: To 1865" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

American History 101: To 1865   Tags: american_history, american_revolution, civil_war, revolutionary_war  

Last Updated: Oct 5, 2016 URL: http://usi.libguides.com/History101 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Reference Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Why Reference Sources?

Reference sources can provide you with valuable information such as:
  • Background information
  • Important figures
  • Dates, places, and people
  • Definitions and key terms
  • Lists of additional sources (articles, books, etc.)
They are an excellent way to begin your research by allowing you to become familiar with the topic in preparation to choose the best articles, books, and additional resources. 
 

Featured Reference Titles

Cover Art
Critical Insights: The Slave Narrative - Kimberly Drake (Editor)
Call Number: REF PN56.S5765 S538 2014
Publication Date: 2014
If you prefer online access, use the link above to the book record, then click on Salem Press Online Access

Cover Art
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History, 2 vols. - Edited by Lynn Dumenil
Call Number: REF HN57 .O94 2012
ISBN: 9780199743360
Publication Date: 2012


Cover Art
McCarthyism and the Communist Threat - Kevin Hillstrom
ISBN: 9780780811843
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
100 Media Moments that Changed America - Jim Willis
Call Number: REF P92.U5 W525 2010
ISBN: 0313355177
Publication Date: 2010


Cover Art
Worker's Unite! - Peter Ruffner; Kevin Hillstrom
ISBN: 9780780811300
Publication Date: 2010


Additional Guides

African American Studies
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Jun 21, 2016
9 views this year
American Presidency
by Instructional Services - Last Updated May 19, 2016
12 views this year
American Wars
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Jun 9, 2016
4 views this year
Historical Methods
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Oct 6, 2016
1 views this year
Indiana History
by Jennifer Greene, Instructional Services - Last Updated Aug 1, 2016
17 views this year
Political Parties
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Aug 1, 2016
0 views this year
 

Ask a Librarian!

If you need additional help with your research or simply have a quick question, Ask Us! 
 
Phone: 812-464-1907
Phone (Toll Free): 1-800-246-6173
 
 
 

Search the Classic Catalog

Search the Rice Library Catalog

Find books, DVDs, Cds and more

 

Search in fUSIon

 

Biographical Information

Facts about the presidents: A compilation of biographical and historical information REF E176.1 .K3 2009
 
Encyclopedia of world biography (multiple vols.)
REF CT103 .E56 1998
  
Biographical directory of the United States Congress, 1774-1989           
REF JK1010 .U5 1989
 

General Reference Sources

Belligerents, brinkmanship, and the big stick: a historical encycyolpedia of American diplomatic concepts  REF E183.7 .D59 2009 U.S. history matters: A student guide to U.S. history online  REF E175.88 .S378 2009

  
Civil disobedience: An encyclopedic history of dissidence in the United States (2 vols.) REF JC328.3 .S64 2009

  
Political history of America’s wars REF E181 .A945 2007  State of the union: Presidential rhetoric from Woodrow Wilson to George W. Bush  REF J81.4 .S73 2007 Immigration in U.S. history (2 vols.) REF JV6450 .I565 2006
 
Encyclopedia of war & American society (3 vols.) REF E181 .E634 2006

 
Encyclopedia of social welfare history in North America  REF HV12 .E497 2005 Dictionary of American history (10 vols.) REF E174 .D52 2003

 
Encyclopedia of American cultural & intellectual history 
(3 vols.) REF E169.1 .E624 2001

 
Historic U.S. court cases: An encyclopedia (2 vols.) REF KF385.A4 J64 2001

 
Gale encyclopedia of U.S. economic history (2 vols.) REF HC102 .G35 1999

 

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip