Search for books, ebooks, images, and articles from scholarly, trade, or news periodicals with the Rice Library's fUSIon tool.
Geniuses of the American musical theatre: The composers and lyricists by 
Historical dictionary of African American theater by 
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance by
From ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in stage design, from the trance-dances of Sumatra to an extensive biography of the legendary actor-manager Eleonore Duse, the Encyclopedia provides unrivaled information across the broad sweep of theatrical activity. The Encyclopedia's inclusive approach encompasses opera and film, dance and radio, and para-theatrical, non-dramatic performances including circuses and carnivals, and parades and public executions--providing truly extensive coverage from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe. The Encyclopedia pays special attention to non-Western styles through articles on theatre and performance throughout the many countries and traditions of Asia and Africa. Numerous biographical entries cover the lives and work of major figures: actors, playwrights, directors, designer, company managers, and critics. A unique feature of the Encyclopedia is the series of articles on concepts, theories, and critical approaches, ranging from short definitions of terms like catharsis and monologue to more lengthy considerations of farce and tragedy. Race and theatre, the nature of acting, censorship, safety, special effects, and media and performance are all debated. In all, the 4,300 entries by renowned contributors remain accessible in language and approach and take advantage of the theoretical and historiographical developments in the field. The combination of rich detail and accessible language and style make The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance the resource of choice for readers interested in theatre and performance, from occasional playgoers to newspaper critics, students, and scholars.
A to Z of American Women in the Performing Arts by
This resource presents biographies of American women in the performing arts from the 19th century onwards. There are 150 entries profiling film, stage and TV actresses; dancers; musicians; opera stars; and performance artists. Each entry emphasizes the woman's contributions as an artist.
The Cambridge History of American Theatre by
The Cambridge History of American Theatre is an authoritative and wide-ranging history of American theatre in all its dimensions, from theatre building to play writing, directors, performers, and designers. Engaging the theatre as a performance art, a cultural institution, and a fact of American social and political life, the History recognizes changing styles of presentation and performance and addresses the economic context that conditions the drama presented. The History approaches its subject with a full awareness of relevant developments in literary criticism, cultural analysis, and performance theory. At the same time, it is designed to be an accessible, challenging narrative. Volume One deals with the colonial inceptions of American theatre through the post-Civil War period: the European antecedents, the New World influences of the French and Spanish colonists, and the development of uniquely American traditions in tandem with the emergence of national identity.
World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre - Europe by
The World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre is a large international co-operative undertaking focusing on the history of world theatre. In six volumes, it aims to document artistic development all over the world, country by country, region by region. International and detailed, coverage includes playwriting, music theatre, dance theatre, theatre for young audiences, puppet theatre, design, architecture and developments in theatre technology, theatre training, criticism and scholarship. The work is a project of The International Theatre Institute, The International Federation for Theatre Research, The International Association of Libraries and Museums of the Performing Arts, and The International Association of Theatre Critics, with the support of UNESCO and the UNESCO World Decade for Cultural Development. The volumes record and analyze world theatre in some 177 countries, from 1945 to the present day. Written by leading scholars, critics and theatre practitioners from each country and edited by authorities in each region, they explore through text and illustration, the relationship between each national theatre community and the unique society from which it springs.