Skip to Main Content

Need a Topic?: Family/Relationships

The following guide provides links and resources concerning current and controversial issues.

Suggested Databases

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO - an American Psychological Association (APA) resource - provides full text and abstracts of peer-reviewed articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health. Expand your resource pool by selecting "Choose databases" above the top search field, checking the box next to the PsycARTICLES database, and selecting the OK button.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text peer-reviewed journals in the field of sociology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a multi-disciplinary digital library containing scholarly articles, books, and primary sources.

Reference Titles

Aging in America by Cavanaugh, John C.
Call Number: HQ1064.U5 A35 2010
ISBN: 0313350930
Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of Contemporary LGBTQ Literature of the United States by Emmanuel S. Nelson
Call Number: PS153.S39 E53 2009
ISBN: 0313348596
Publication Date: 2009
The Politics of Sexuality: A Documentary and Reference Guide by Raymond Smith
Call Number: HQ23 .S65 2010
ISBN: 0313346844
Publication Date: 2010
The Encyclopedia of Adoption by Christine Adamec
Call Number: HV875.55 .A28 2007
ISBN: 081606329X
Publication Date: 20047
Family in Society: Essential primary sources by K. Lee Lerner
Call Number: HQ518 .F3357 2006
ISBN: 1414403305
Publication Date: 2006

Adoption

Bubble Wrapped Children by Helen Oakwater
Call Number: HV875 .O25 2012eb
ISBN: 9781780920993
Publication Date: 2012-01-06
Adopting after Infertility by Edited by Marilyn Crawshaw and Rachel Balen
Call Number: HV875 .A326 2010eb
ISBN: 9781849050289
Publication Date: 2010-07-15

Age Discrimination (Ageism)

Agewise: Fighting the New Ageism in America by Margaret Morganroth Gullette
Call Number: HQ1061 .G8633 2011
ISBN: 9780226310732
Publication Date: 2011
Age Discrimination and Diversity by edited by Malcolm Sargeant
Call Number: HQ1061 .A415 2011eb
ISBN: 1107003776
Publication Date: 2011

Child Abuse

Protecting Children in the Age of Outrage by Radha Jagannathan; Michael J. Camasso
Call Number: HV741 .J244 2013
ISBN: 9780195176964
Publication Date: 2013
Emotional, Physical and Sexual Abuse by Giovanni Corona
Call Number: HV6570
ISBN: 9783319067872
Publication Date: 2014

Child Welfare

Children's Chances by Jody Heymann; Kristen McNeill
Call Number: HV713 .H49 2013eb
ISBN: 0674067975
Publication Date: 2013
Programs and Interventions for Maltreated Children and Families at Risk by Allen Rubin (Editor)
Call Number: RC569.5.C55 P76 2012
ISBN: 9781118121504
Publication Date: 2011-09-20

Divorce

The Guys-Only Guide to Getting over Divorce and on with Life, Sex, and Relationships by Sam J. Buser; Glenn F. Sternes
Call Number: HQ814 .B87 2009
ISBN: 9781886298323
Publication Date: 2009
Clashing Views on Social Issues by Kurt Finsterbusch
Call Number: HN59.2 .T35 2011
ISBN: 9780078050015
Publication Date: 2011

Fatherhood

Nurturing Dads by William Marsiglio; Kevin Roy; American Sociological Association Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: HQ756 .M3447 2012
ISBN: 9780871545664
Publication Date: 2012

Gay Rights

Same Sex Marriage in the United States by Jason Pierceson
Call Number: HQ1034.U5 P54 2013eb
ISBN: 9781442212060
Publication Date: 2013
Equality, Dignity, and Same-Sex Marriage: A Rights Disagreement in Democratic Societies by Man Yee Karen Lee
Call Number: K699 .L44 2010eb
ISBN: 9789004179264
Publication Date: 2010

Motherhood

Rhetorics of Motherhood by Lindal Buchanan
Call Number: P120.W66 B83 2013eb
Publication Date: 2013
Disability and Mothering by Cynthia Lewiecki-Wilson; Jen Cellio
Call Number: HQ759.913 .D57 2011
ISBN: 9780815632849
Publication Date: 2011

Social Networking

Social Networks in the History of Innovation and Invention by Francis C. Moon
Call Number: T173.8
ISBN: 9789400775282
Publication Date: 2014
Social Networking by Edited by Anastacia Kurylo and Tatyana Dumova.
Call Number: 9781611477399
ISBN: 9781611477399
Publication Date: 2016-03-01

Teen Pregnancy

Mtv and Teen Pregnancy by Letizia Guglielmo
Call Number: HQ759.4 .M78 2013eb
ISBN: 9780810891708
Publication Date: 2013
'Honour': Crimes, Paradigms, and Violence Against Women by Lynn Welchman (Editor); Sara Hossain (Editor)
Call Number: HV6250.4.W65 H66 2005
ISBN: 9781842776278
Publication Date: 2005-10-01

Transgender Issues

Children with Gender Identity Disorder by Simona Giordano
Call Number: RJ506.G35 G67 2013eb
ISBN: 9780203097892
Publication Date: 2012
Transgender 101 by Nicholas M. Teich
Call Number: HQ77.9 .T45 2012
ISBN: 9780231157124
Publication Date: 2012