Research Guides: Jewelry and Culture: Databases

Search Vocabulary and Tips

Art, Music, and Theatre

ARTstor
The Artstor Digital Library is an image database featuring an unparalleled range of images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. It is the most comprehensive image resource available for educational and scholarly use, with many rare and important collections available nowhere else.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
This database provides full-text searchable access to over 180,000 titles - including books, pamphlets, essays, and broadsides - published during the 18th century.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text is a research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts. It contains more than 490 full-text titles, including more than 170 full-text journals, and more than 360 full-text books & monographs.
North American Theatre Online
North American Theatre Online is a comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre. It includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials, together with records to approximately 30,000 plays, 57,000 people, 5,400 theatres, 22,000 productions, and 2,500 production companies. The collection also includes approximately 10,500 images, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks and other resources.
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online offers access to the most authoritative, inclusive, and easily searchable online art resources available today. Includes over 200,000 articles that span ancient to contemporary art and architecture, as well as over 15,000 images of works of art, structures, plans and artist signatures.
ProQuest Central
The largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

Databases

Reference Databases

Image Databases

Journal Databases

Suggested Search Terms

Jewelry can be spelled two different ways. Jewelry is commonly used in American museums. Jewellery is more commonly used in European museums.

ARTstor Tips

Note: Image galleries are notorious for false hits, allow time for browsing

Double click on the image to get full image
Click on the "I" for information abotu the image

Search Terms

Jewelry
Jewelry AND relig*
Jewelry AND China
Jewelry AND Greece