Search for books, ebooks, images, and articles from scholarly, trade, or news periodicals with the Rice Library's fUSIon tool.
Why Reference Sources?
Reference sources can provide you with valuable information such as:
Dates, places, and people
Definitions and key terms
Lists of additional sources (articles, books, etc.)
They are an excellent way to begin your research by allowing you to become familiar with the topic in preparation to choose the best articles, books, and additional resources.
APA Dictionary of Psychology by Gary R. Vandenbos (Editor)The American Psychological Association is proud to announce the publication of an invaluable addition to your reference shelf, one that represents a major scholarly and editorial undertaking. With over 25,000 terms and definitions, the APA Dictionary of Psychology encompasses all areas of research and application, and includes coverage of concepts, processes, and therapies across all the major subdisciplines of psychology. Ten years in the making and edited by a distinguished editorial board of nearly 100 psychological scholars, researchers and practitioners, the APA Dictionary of Psychology is destined to become the most authoritative reference of its kind. authoritative definitions; thousands of incisive cross-references directing the user to synonyms and antonyms, acronyms and abbreviations, and related terms and concepts that deepen the user's understanding of related topics; and balanced coverage of over 100 subject areas across the field of psychology including clinical, experimental, neuropsychology, cognitive, personality and social, developmental, health, psychopharmacology, methodology and statistics, and many others. Entries include nearly 8,000 terms from the APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms registered] which helps students and researchers refine their APA database searches (such as the flagship PsycINFO registered] bibliographic database's 2+ million records). It also includes A Guide to Use and Quick Guide to Format that together explain important stylistic and format features to help readers most effectively use the Dictionary. covering biographies; institutions, associations and organizations; psychological therapies and interventions; and psychological tests and assessment instruments. It contains thumb tabs for locating definitions quickly and easily. Academicians, researchers, clinicians, undergraduates and graduate students, and professionals in allied mental health, education, medicine, and law, as well as academic and public libraries, will find the Dictionary essential.
Call Number: BF31 .A63 2007
Publication Date: 2006-07-15
Encyclopedia of Psychology by Alan E. Kazdin (Editor)After more than a century of extraordinary growth and development, the science of psychology at last has a reference source that defines the study of mind and behavior. Here in eight superbly organized volumes is the definitive guide to every area of psychological theory, research, and practice. International in scope, the Encyclopedia of Psychology is the first place to turn to for authoritative information on every area of the field. Organized alphabetically,the articles range from 500 to 7,000 words in length including 400 biographies. An extensive system of cross-references and blind entries facilitate research from article to article and clarify links within the field. And an exhaustive index locates topics quickly and easily--providing many pointsof access across areas of interest and fields of study. The Encyclopedia of Psychology serves a remarkable variety of readers: students and their teachers in every area of psychology as well as in such related fields as sociology, social work, nursing, and allied health; researchers in the cognitive sciences and neurosciences; and clinicians,counselors, and other mental health and human service professionals. It will be the definitive information, research, and reference source for many years to come.
Call Number: BF31 .E52 2000
Publication Date: 2000-03-16
Handbook of Social Psychology by Susan T. Fiske; Daniel T. Gilbert (Editor); Gardner Lindzey (Editor)The foremost reference resource for academics, researchers, and graduate students in psychology looking for the most current, well-researched, and thorough information in the field of social psychology Established for over 50 years; no other reference in the field can claim the stature or thoroughness of content as this classic resource Represents the full field from neuron to nation This fifth edition brings on board mostly new authors as befits a vigorous, cutting-edge science Features chapters on social neuroscience, mind perception, morality, and social stratification, among other new topics 4 Volumes http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/book/10.1002/9780470561119
Call Number: HM1011 .H37 2010
Publication Date: 2010-02-15
The Encyclopedia of Schizophrenia and Other Psychotic Disorders by Richard Noll; Susan Naylor (Foreword by)Written for general readers and professionals alike, The Encyclopedia of Schizophrenia and Other Psychotic Disorders, Third Edition is the most comprehensive single source on this topic. With more than 600 up-to-date entries, this new edition features a substantially revised foreword and introduction, a significant amount of new material, references and appendixes, and the latest findings since the last edition was published. Coverage includes the history, treatment, diagnosis, and current medical research and theories regarding this class of mental illness. New entries include: Abilify; Acute and transient psychotic disorders; Association studies; Atypical psychotic disorders; Brief psychotic disorder; Comorbidity; Dysphrenia; Electronarcosis therapy; Glutamate hypothesis; Induced delusional disorder; Ipseity disorder; Mixed states; Parkinsonism; Persistent delusional disorders; Substance-induced psychotic disorder; and, Vascular-inflammatory theory of schizophrenia.
Call Number: RC514 .N63 2007
Publication Date: 2006-10-01
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology by Yolanda Kaye Jackson (Editor)SAGE Reference is proud to announce the Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology. During the past 30 years, the study of racial and ethnic minority issues in psychology has evolved to what can be considered a significant and rapidly growing subfield within psychology. This volume represent a thorough overview of the psychology of racial, ethnic and minority issues and covers the breadth of psychology viewed through the lens of the racial and ethnic minority experience. Coverage includes contributions from all the major areas including: social; developmental; methodological; clinical; industrial/organizational; health; educational; and school and family psychology. Key features include: - supportive discussion on culture, not race, as the best way to understand differences among individuals; - a focuses on culture to provide a reference to the terms, concepts and issues used in this field; - a thorough overview of the psychology of racial, ethnic and minority issues and covers all of the major ethnic groups and subgroups; - a discussion on the sociological issues as well as conceptual issues relevant to the field of multicultural psychology. Key themes include: - Conceptual Issues; - Cultural Concerns; - Ethnic Groups; - Indigenous Concerns; - Measurement; - Professional Organizations; - Psychopathology; - Sociological Issue; - Treatment. Topics covered include: - academic achievement; - acculturation; - affirmative action; - community interventions; - education; - health; - immigrants; - prejudice; - racial identity development; - social ecology; - stereotyping; - teaching multiculturalism; - tokenism; - values; - violence; - worldviews.
Call Number: GN502. E63 2006
Publication Date: 2006-08-18
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender by Judith Worell (Editor)The study of gender differences began in earnest in the 1970s and has since increased dramatically to infiltrate virtually all fields of study in the social and behavioral sciences. Along the way, it was discovered that while women very often think and behave differently than do men, industrialized societies cater to masculine perspectives. The "Psychology of Women" emerged as a field of study focusing on just those areas in which women most often butted against assumed roles. And similarly, in the 1990s, the "Psychology of Men" emerged to focus on the same issues for men. The Encyclopedia of Gender covers all three areas under one cover, discussing psychological differences in personality, cognition, and behavior, as well as biologically based differences and how those differences impact behavior. Coverage includes studies of these differences in applied settings such as education, business, the home, in politics, sports competition, etc.
Call Number: HQ1115 .E52 2001
Publication Date: 2001-10-16
Handbook of the Psychology of Women and Gender by Rhoda K. Unger (Editor)A lively, thought-provoking exploration of the latest theory and practice in the psychology of women and gender Edited by Rhoda Unger, a pioneer in feminist psychology, this handbook provides an extraordinarily balanced, in-depth treatment of major contemporary theories, trends, and advances in the field of women and gender. Bringing together contributions from leading U.S. and international scholars, it presents integrated coverage of a variety of approaches-ranging from traditional experiments to postmodern analyses. Conceptual models discussed include those that look within the individual, between individuals and groups, and beyond the person-to the social-structural frameworks in which people are embedded as well as biological and evolutionary perspectives. Multicultural and cross-cultural issues are emphasized throughout, including key variables such as sexual orientation, race/ethnicity, and social class. Researchers and clinicians alike will appreciate the thorough review of the latest thinking about gender and its impact on physical and mental health-which includes the emerging trends in feminist therapy and sociocultural issues important in the treatment of women of color. In addressing developmental issues, the book offers thought-provoking discussions of new research into possible biological influences on gender-specific behaviors; the role of early conditioning by parents, school, and the media; the role of mother and mothering; gender in old age; and more. Power and gender, as well as the latest research findings on American men's ambivalence toward women, sexual harassment, and violence against women, are among the timely topics explored in viewing gender as a systemic phenomenon. Handbook of the Psychology of Women and Gender is must reading for mental health researchers and practitioners, as well as scholars in a variety of disciplines who want to stay current with the latest psychological/psychosocial thinking on women and gender.