Research Guides: Gerontology: Journals and Databases

Database Search Tips

When entering keywords or terms into a search field in a scholarly database:

Use quotation marks to combine multiple words into a single phrase or concept.
Example: "continuum of care"
"nursing home"
Connect key terms with AND to specify you want resources that include both terms.
Example: medicare AND reimbursement
Add related terms or synonyms to widen your search. Connect these terms with OR to find resources that contain one, some, or all of the terms.
Example: information OR data OR records OR documentation
Enclose related terms and synonyms in parentheses to specify that the database should parse them as a single unit. (Think mathematical order of operations.)
Example: (data OR records OR information) AND patient

Suggested Databases

CINAHL Plus
The CINAHL Plus collection provides full-text access to nursing and allied health journals. Use CINAHL to find evidence based literature, RCTs, clinical trials, systematic reviews, and more. To expand your resource pool within this platform, click on "Choose Databases" (above the top search field) and select "Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition" and "MEDLINE with Full Text".
ProQuest Health Research Premium Collection
Health Research Premium Collection serves a wide range of users with a broad collection of journals, evidence-based resources, and full-text dissertations, and includes the top ProQuest health and medical databases.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. If no full text links are provided, or if you are routed to a publisher site with a paywall, check an article's availability in the Rice Library's databases with the Journal Finder tool.
Social Work Abstracts
Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), this database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems. Limit of 8 simultaneous users.
Web of Science Core Collection
Web of Science Core Collection contains over 21,100 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available.

Journal Titles - Gerontology

Journals may be available in print, online, or both formats.

Please consult Journal Finder for formats and availability.

Aging (open access via PubMed Central)
Aging and disease (open access via Pubmed Central)
Educational gerontology
Geriatrics & gerontology international
Gerontologist
Gerontology
Journal of cross-cultural gerontology
Journal of gerontological nursing
Journal of gerontology (Kirkwood)
Journals of gerontology.
- Series A, Biological sciences and medical sciences
Journals of gerontology.
- Series B, Psychological sciences and social sciences