Shakespeares after Shakespeare by Richard BurtThough he wrote 400 years ago, Shakespeare is still very much alive today. This vast encyclopedia attests to that fact through hundreds of entries chronicling the presence of the Bard in contemporary popular culture, including radio, film, television, and other media to which his works have been adapted. Each section begins with an overview essay, followed by entries on individual plays, including stage histories and biographies of actors and directors. Thus the encyclopedia covers the full range of Shakespeare's presence in popular culture, with an emphasis on the past hundred years. It also offers a selected, general bibliography and an extensive index. Students will find this a handy reference for comparing Shakespeare's plays to modern adaptations of them, while general readers will treasure it as a guide to Shakespeare's enduring legacy.
Call Number: PR2880.A1 S48 2007
Publication Date: 2006-11-30
Kate Chopin by Suzanne Disheroon Green; David J. CaudleKate Chopin has emerged as one of the most significant American writers of the nineteenth century. Though her works typically reflect the language and customs of the Louisiana of her memories, they also make universal comments about women, men, and human relationships. Best known as the author of The Awakening (1899), she also wrote nearly a hundred short stories, essays, poems, reviews, and a play. While the contemporary response to her works was sometimes negative, much recent critical debate concerns her lasting place in the American literary canon, with some scholars placing The Awakening on the same level as Melville's Moby-Dick. The last thirty years have witnessed heightened interest in Chopin's works. This bibliography provides a comprehensive survey of critical work on Chopin published between 1976 and 1998, with some coverage of 1999. Included are annotated entries for books, articles, dissertations, biographical studies, and bibliographical works. Extensive indexes offer easy access to the entries. In addition, the volume includes a biographical sketch, a review of trends in Chopin scholarship, and a textual history.
This includes Masterplots; Critical Insights series on the themes of Dystopia, Good and Evil, Nature and the Environment, Technology and Humanity, The Hero’s Quest, and War. The Critical Surveys series includes Long Fiction, Graphic Novels: Manga, Graphic Novels: History, Theme, and Technique, Critical Survey of Mythology and Folklore: World Mythology.