Atlas of Ultrasound-Guided Procedures in Interventional Pain Management by
With a focus on anatomy and sonoantomy, this beautifully illustrated updated edition captures the latest advances in the rapidly growing field of ultrasound-guided pain medicine and MSK procedures. This atlas is divided into seven sections that provide an overview and focus on interventional approaches and advancements. Authored by international experts, each clinical chapter features a maximal number of instructive illustrations and sonograms and provides a description of sonoanatomy, instructions on performing the procedure and how to confirm appropriate needle placement. This book will help encourage and stimulate physicians to master approaches in interventional MSK and pain management.
Chest Sonography by
This book, widely regarded as the standard work in the field, presents the state of the art in chest sonography with the aid of a wealth of excellent illustrations. It provides the reader with concise, easy-to-assimilate information on all aspects of the use of the modality, including indications, investigative techniques, diagnostic decision making, and imaging artifacts and pitfalls. Numerous tips and tricks and potential sources of diagnostic error are highlighted to aid in daily clinical practice. This fourth edition has been extensively revised to take full account of the latest techniques, study results, and meta-analyses, with inclusion of important additional illustrative material. An entirely new chapter is devoted to interstitial syndrome, and detailed guidance is provided on contrast-enhanced sonography, ultrasound techniques for evaluation of the mediastinum, and the role of chest sonography in emergency medicine. As the value of the technique continues to grow, readers will find Chest Sonography to be a superb up-to-date resource and guide.
Diagnostic Musculoskeletal Ultrasound and Guided Injection by
Musculoskeletal ultrasound has seen a considerable surge in usage in recent years. Its advantages are manifold. Given adequate training of the examiner, it is very cost-effective; there is no ionizing radiation to contend with; the scanners are normally highly portable; and it enables certain interventional procedures to be performed with great accuracy (therapeutic injections of local anesthetics and/or corticosteroids into areas of complex anatomy, e.g., the shoulder). In this book, the anatomic areas are organized in chapter pairs, of which the first part of the pair summarizes the diagnostic imaging of that area from various angles so as to obtain the standard images necessary for reliable evaluation. The second part covers the image-guided injection techniques themselves, including requisite equipment. Key Features: Concise texts accompanied by typical US scans, brilliant anatomic illustrations, and many photographs showing proper scanner placement Juxtaposes normal and pathologic anatomy for maximum understanding Detailed and lucid description of all common injection procedures, appropriately illustrated Resteghini's Diagnostic Musculoskeletal Ultrasound and Guided Injection: A Practical Guide is an essential introductory reference for physical therapists, sports medicine physicians, orthopaedic practitioners new to the method, radiographers, and allied health professionals involved in the diagnosis and therapy of musculoskeletal conditions.
Diagnostic Ultrasound Imaging: Inside Out by
Diagnostic Ultrasound Imaging provides a unified description of the physical principles of ultrasound imaging, signal processing, systems and measurements. This comprehensive reference is a core resource for both graduate students and engineers in medical ultrasound research and design. With continuing rapid technological development of ultrasound in medical diagnosis, it is a critical subject for biomedical engineers, clinical and healthcare engineers and practitioners, medical physicists, and related professionals in the fields of signal and image processing. The book contains 17 new and updated chapters covering the fundamentals and latest advances in the area, and includes four appendices, 450 figures (60 available in color on the companion website), and almost 1,500 references. In addition to the continual influx of readers entering the field of ultrasound worldwide who need the broad grounding in the core technologies of ultrasound, this book provides those already working in these areas with clear and comprehensive expositions of these key new topics as well as introductions to state-of-the-art innovations in this field.
Stress Echocardiography by
This sixth edition is enriched by over 300 figures, 150 tables and a video-companion collecting more than 100 cases also presented in the format of short movies and teaching cartoons. This extensively revised and enlarged edition of this long-seller documents the very significant advances made since the fifth (2009) edition and is entirely written by Eugenio Picano, a pioneer in the field sharing his lifetime experience with the help of an international panel of 50 contributors from 22 countries representing some of the best available knowledge and expertise in their respective field. In a societal and economic climate of increasing pressure for appropriate, justified and optimized imaging, stress echocardiography offers the great advantages of being radiation-free, relatively low cost, and with a staggering versatility: we can get more (information) with less (cost and risk). For a long time, the scope and application of stress echo remained focused on coronary artery disease. In the last ten years, it has exploded in its breadth and variety of applications. From a black-and-white, one-fits-all approach (wall motion by 2D-echo in the patient with known or suspected coronary artery disease) now we have moved on to a omnivorous, next-generation laboratory employing a variety of technologies (from M-Mode to 2D and pulsed, continuous, color and tissue Doppler, to lung ultrasound and real time 3D echo, 2D speckle tracking and myocardial contrast echo) on patients covering the entire spectrum of severity (from elite athletes to patients with end-stage heart failure) and ages (from children with congenital heart disease to the elderly with low-flow, low-gradient aortic stenosis).
Technology for Diagnostic Sonography by
Gain a complete understanding of sonography physics and instrumentation related to clinical practice. Technology for Diagnostic Sonography provides clear, in-depth coverage of physics principles, ultrasound transducers, pulse echo instrumentation, Doppler instrumentation, clinical safety, and quality control. It includes the latest information on real-time imaging techniques, plus a comprehensive discussion of image artifacts. With wide-ranging online review questions, it also offers ample opportunities to assess your learning progress. Written by sonography and testing expert Wayne Hedrick, Technology for Diagnostic Sonography simplifies this difficult topic and allows you to demonstrate your knowledge of physics and instrumentation on exams with the ultimate goal of preparing you for success in clinical practice. A focus on essential physics and instrumentation provides the exact technical content you need to prepare for clinical sonography practice. Accessible, conversational writing style with real-world analogies explains physics concepts and makes this difficult topic less intimidating. Examples and sample problems help you make the connection between theory and practical applications. The latest information on equipment and scanning methods ensures an understanding of how to competently and safely use ultrasound instrumentation. Comprehensive discussion of image artifacts with illustrative examples helps you recognize and eliminate artifacts. Detailed description of performance testing with tissue mimicking phantoms allows assessment of the proper operation of B-mode scanners. Practical guidance on the clinical use of mechanical index and thermal index enables practice of the ALARA principle when scanning patients. Full-color format shows scans as they appear in the clinical setting. Key terms and other learner-friendly features focus your study on important information. Summaries of essential principles and equations reinforce the most important concepts. Extensive review questions on a companion Evolve website allow realistic assessment of your knowledge.
The Washington University Manual of Echocardiography by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Concise, portable, and user-friendly, The Washington Manual® of Echocardiography, Second Edition focuses on the essential information you need to know to successfully perform and read echocardiograms, as well as to identify valvular heart disease, cardiac myopathies, and congenital anomalies. Supervised and edited by faculty from the Washington University School of Medicine, this highly regarded reference has been completely updated throughout, with a new, streamlined layout as well more echo clips, and an update on the current guidelines. You'll find expert guidance, practical tips, and up-to-date information on all aspects of echocardiography - all in one convenient and easily accessible source. New chapters on hypertrophic cardiomyopathy and cardiac devices include the latest ACC/AHA and ASE guidelines. Extensively revised sections on LV systolic and diastolic function, valve assessment, and TEE. Hundreds of updated, high-quality images enhance visual learning and improve diagnostic accuracy. Reorganized content emphasizes clarity and consistency, so you can find what you need more quickly. Tips and pearls from cardiologists and sonographers offer guidance on proper set-up, correct transduction technique, and image optimization. A handy, portable resource for cardiology fellows, as well as anesthesia fellows, cardiac sonographers, residents, attendings, and intensive care and emergency department physicians who utilize handheld ultrasound. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use