Research Guides: 2016 Presidential Election: Research Resources

Library Databases

Academic Search Premier (Multi-subject database)

Use these resources to search for journal, newspaper and magazine articles about the 2016 Presidential Elections!

Election Analysis

Sabato's Crystal Ball - University of Virginia Center for Politics

"A comprehensive website run by the University of Virginia’s Center for Politics, Larry J. Sabato‘s Crystal Ball features detailed and frequently updated analysis for elections across the country. The Crystal Ballkeeps tabs on presidential elections, along with every Senate and gubernatorial race, as well as the tightest campaigns for the House.

The Crystal Ball has been a leader in accurately predicting elections since its inception. In 2004, theCrystal Ball notched a 99 percent accuracy rate in predicting all races for House, Senate, Governor and each state’s Electoral College outcome." - from website

Political Polls

2016 Election Polls (Real Clear Politics)
Election 2016 (Gallup)
Quinnipiac University Poll
HuffPost Pollster 2016 Races (Huffington Post)
"HuffPost Pollster tracks thousands of public polls to give you the latest data on elections, political opinions and more."

Nonpartisan Web Resources

2016 Election Central
Provides some frequently asked questions about the 2016 Presidential Election including primary dates, debate information, conventions, and which candidates are running.
BALLOTPEDIA: The Encyclopedia of American Politics
Ballotpedia is the online encyclopedia of American politics and elections. Our goal is to inform people about politics by providing accurate and objective information about politics at all levels of government. We are firmly committed to neutrality; here's why. Ballotpedia's articles are 100 percent written by our professional staff and a small group of guest editors. All content written by our guest editors is reviewed and fact-checked by our staff.
FactCheck.org
A nonpartisan, nonprofit “consumer advocate” for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. They monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political candidates in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases.
League of Women Voters
The League of Women Voters, a nonpartisan political organization, encourages informed and active participation in government, works to increase understanding of major public policy issues, and influences public policy through education and advocacy.
PolitiFact
Evaluates factual truth in American politics. Reporters and editors fact-check statements by members of Congress, the White House, lobbyists, and interest groups and rate them on a "Truth-O-Meter."
Project Vote Smart
Project Vote Smart is "a national library of factual information on candidates for public office from President of the United States down to state legislature. Information provided includes: backgrounds, issue positions, voting records, and campaign finance.
RealClear Politics
RealClearPolitics is the trusted, non-partisan, convener in a content-rich media environment; thoughtfully curating the best coverage from every angle of the day's most critical issues. As a destination for elected officials, opinion leaders and engaged citizens, RealClearPolitics provides a platform, elevating the best-of-the-best in journalism.

Campaign Finance

Political TV Ad Archive

Political TV Ad Archive