Research 101

The Artstor Digital Library is an image database featuring an unparalleled range of images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. It is the most comprehensive image resource available for educational and scholarly use, with many rare and important collections available nowhere else.

Digitized photographs from the University Archives and Special Collections

This site provides a lot of images of countries/cities as well as various themes including nature. Although free, the site must be mentioned when using an image.

Free images fo personal and commercial use.

Photos can be used for personal and commercial use. Website and photographer must be credited when using an image.

Commercial and personal use of the images is allowed. Attribution must be provided with each image including the name and link to the site.

Use of these free photos requires crediting the site.

Access to texture images (walls, brick, signs, windows, etc.) This site only allows 20 free downloads per day per IP address.

This site provides images featured in National Geographic of other countries and cultures.

The clipart is available for commercial and public use.

This site provides both photos and clipart free for commercial and personal use. Please see any use restrictions or credit needed for individual images.

Free images for personal use. Please be cautious if using these images for commercial use and check for any restrictions that may apply.

Large selection of free images. Each image will have its own copyright requirements, so check to see if crediting the photographer/site is required.

Images including fine art. Personal and commercial use is allowed; however, author(s) and the website must be credited for each image used. Other restrictions apply.

Offering an extensive amount of images. Please see each image for usage rights.

Look for images available for commercial purposes including modification.

This image search engine finds free images on the web. It explains where each image comes from, allows for a rating, and explains the licensing rights for each image.

From Yahoo!

This search engine looks for images from a variety of free image websites. The Advanced Search allows you to limit your searches to particular uses (commercial/personal) and specific use requirements (attribution).

Library of Congress

Provides an extensive listing of image websites broken down into subject categories.

Through Google Images

Provides free images for personal use. There are restrictions on commercial use.

Images are free for personal use while there are restrictions on commercial use.