Research Guides: Criminal Justice: Reference

Search in fUSIon

Search for books, ebooks, images, and articles from scholarly, trade, or news periodicals with the Rice Library's fUSIon tool.

Featured Reference Titles

Encyclopedia of Theoretical Criminology by Edited by J. Mitchell Miller
Call Number: REF COL: HV6017 .E536 2014
ISBN: 9780470658444
Publication Date: 2014
Crime in the United States by Gwenavere W. Dunn (Editor)
Call Number: REF HV6787 .C76
Publication Date: 2014
City Crime Rankings 2014: Crime in Metropolitan America by Kathleen O'Leary Morgan (Editor); Scott Morgan
Call Number: REF COL: HV6787 .C58
Publication Date: 2013
Guns in American Society by Gregg Lee Carter
Call Number: REF HV7436 .G8783 2012
ISBN: 9780313386701
Publication Date: 2012
The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture, Vol. 19: Violence by Edited by Amy Louise Wood
Call Number: REF COL: F209 .N47 2006
Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of Victimology and Crime Prevention by Bonnie S. Fisher, Steven P. Lab.
Call Number: REF COL: HV6250.3.U5 E55 2010
ISBN: 9781412960472
Publication Date: 2010
Fifty Key Thinkers in Criminology by Keith Hayward, Shadd Maruna and Jayne Mooney
Call Number: REF COL: HV6023 .F54 2010
ISBN: 9780415429115
Publication Date: 2010
21st century criminology : a reference handbook by Mitchell Miller
Call Number: REF COL: HV6025 .A155 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Socioeconomic and Legal Implications of Electronic Intrusion by Dionysios Politis, Phaedon Kozyris, Ioannis Iglezakis
Call Number: REF COL:HV6773 .S635 2009
ISBN: 9781605662046
Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of Race and Crime by Helen Taylor Greene and Shaun L. Gabbidon
Call Number: REF COL: HV6789 .E43 2009 (2 vols.)
ISBN: 9781412950855
Publication Date: 2009

Featured Online Reference Titles

Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice by Edited by David Weisburd; Gerben Bruinsma
Call Number: Available online through SpringerLink
ISBN: 9781461456902
Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of Community Policing and Problem Solving by Kenneth J. Peak
Call Number: Available online through Sage Knowledge
ISBN: 9781452276106
Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of Street Crime in America by Edited by Jeffrey Ian Ross
Call Number: Available online through Sage Knowledge
ISBN: 9781412999571
Publication Date: 2013
Handbook of Forensic Psychology: Resource for Mental Health and Legal Professionals by William T. O'Donohue & Eric R. Levensky
Call Number: E-Book Available Through CREDO Reference
ISBN: 0125241968
Publication Date: 2013
Corrections by William J. Chambliss, general editor
Call Number: Available online through SAGE Knowledge
ISBN: 1412978564
Publication Date: 2011
Courts, Law, and Justice by William J. Chambliss
Call Number: Available online through SAGE Knowledge
ISBN: 1412978572
Publication Date: 2011
Crime and Criminal Behavior by Edited by William J. Chambliss and J. Geoffrey Golson
Call Number: Available online through SAGE Knowledge
ISBN: 9781412978552
Publication Date: 2011
Juvenile Crime and Justice by Edited by William J. Chambliss
Call Number: Available online through SAGE Knowledge
ISBN: 9781412978583
Publication Date: 2011
Police and Law Enforcement by Edited by William J. Chambliss
Call Number: Available online through SAGE Knowledge
ISBN: 9781412978590
Publication Date: 2011
Essential Criminology by Mark M. Lanier; Stuart Henry; Desire' J. M. Anastasia
Call Number: Available online through CREDO Reference
ISBN: 9780813348858
Publication Date: 2007-12-01

Selected Titles

Gangs: A reference handbook

REF HV6436.U7 K55 2009

Gun control: a documentary and reference guide

REF KF3941 .S678 2009

Crimes and trials of the century

REF KF221.P6 C75 2007

Encyclopedia of white-collar crime

REF HV 6768.E65 2007

Policing in America: A reference handbook

REF HV8133.S84 2008

Encyclopedia of interpersonal violence

REF HM1121.E57 2008

Three strikes laws

REF KF9685 .W356 2007

Encyclopedia of gangs

REF HV6439.U5 E53 2008

Encyclopedia of juvenile violence

REF HV9104 .E59 2007

Encyclopedia of domestic violence

REF HV6626 .E534 2007

Crime state rankings

REF HV6787 .C77

Encyclopedia of sexual behavior and the law

REF KF9325.A68 M33 2006

Criminal justice

REF KF9214.5 .C75 2006 (3 vols.)

Internet and the law: Technology, society, and compromises

REF KF390.5.C6 S39 2006

Prisons

REF HV9471 .F465 2006

Encyclopedia of prisons and correctional facilities

REF HV 9471 E427 2005

The mafia encyclopedia

REF HV6441 .S53 2005

Punishment in America

REF HV9466 .B35 2005

The historical atlas of American crime

REF HV6779 .R67 2005

Hate crimes

REF HV6773.52 .A47 2005

The encyclopedia of high-tech crime and crime-fighting

REF HV6773 .N48 2004

Encyclopedia of DNA and the United States criminal justice system

REF RA1057.55 .P34 2004

Cybercrime: A reference handbook

REF HV6773 .S3547 2004

Environmental crime: A sourcebook

REF HV6403 .B87 2004

Statistical Abstract of the United States

REF HA 202 .U5 (latest edition)

Encyclopedia of juvenile justice

REF HV9104 .E58 2003

Uniform Crime Reports

REF HV 6787.A3 (most recent)

http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS3082

Encyclopedia of crime and justice

REF HV6017 .E52 2002

Encyclopedia of forensic science

REF HV8073 .C595 2002

Murders in the United States: Crimes, killers and victims of the twentieth century

REF HV6524 .F56 2001

The book of assassins: a biographical dictionary from ancient times to the present

REF HV6245 .F44 2001

Sociology/Anthropology Online Reference Resources

CREDO reference
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Browse list of online reference titles to match your resource needs
Sage Knowledge
Scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks in social sciences, health, and environment
Social Issues in America; An Encyclopedia
More than 150 key social issues confronting the United States today are covered.
International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences
Gale Biography in Context
state-wide access

Why Reference Sources?

Reference sources can provide you with valuable information such as:

Background information
Important figures
Dates, places, and people
Definitions and key terms
Lists of additional sources (articles, books, etc.)

They are an excellent way to begin your research by allowing you to become familiar with the topic in preparation to choose the best articles, books, and additional resources.

Criminal Justice