Research Guides: Literary Criticism: Short Story & Drama

Ask a Librarian!

Reference sources can provide you with valuable information such as:

Background information
Important figures
Dates, places, and people
Definitions and key terms
Lists of additional sources (articles, books, etc.)

They are an excellent way to begin your research by allowing you to become familiar with the topic in preparation to choose the best articles, books, and additional resources.

Search in fUSIon

Search for books, ebooks, images, and articles from scholarly, trade, or news periodicals with the Rice Library's fUSIon tool.

New Titles

Historical dictionary of African American theater by Anthony D. Hill with Douglas Q. Barnett
Call Number: Reference PN2270.A35 H53 2009
ISBN: 0810855348
Western drama through the ages: A student reference guide by Kimball King
Call Number: Reference PN1721 .W47 2007 (2 vols.)
ISBN: 0313329346
Historical dictionary of modern Japanese literature and theater by J. Scott Miller
Call Number: Reference PL716 .M47 2009
ISBN: 081085810X

Additional Guides

Theater Drama
by Kate Sherrill Last Updated Nov 17, 2023 17 views this year

Short Story Selected Reference Titles

Thematic guide to popular short stories REF PN3373 .S62 2002

Masterplots: 1,801 plot stories and critical evaluations of the world's finest literature REF PN44 .M33 1996 (12 vols.)

Twentieth-century short story explication REF Z5917 .S5 W33

Drama Criticism Selected Reference Titles

American women stage directors of the twentieth century REF PN2286.8 .F55 2008

Encyclopedia of Asian theatre REF PN2860 .E53 2007 (2 vols.)

Columbia encyclopedia of modern drama REF PN1861 .C65 2007

The Oxford dictionary of plays REF PN1625 .P38 2005

The Facts On File companion to classical drama REF PA3024 .T48 2005

African American dramatists: An A to Z guide REF PS338.N4 A69 2004

Thematic guide to modern drama REF PN1861 .A235 2003

Critical survey of drama REF PR623 .C752 2003

African American women playwrights: A research guide REF PS153.N5 G29 1999

Contemporary dramatists REF PR737 .C57 1993

English drama and theatre, 1800-1900 REF Z2014.D7 C72

Literature/Languages Online Reference Resources

Literature Online
Salem Literature
This includes Masterplots; Critical Insights series on the themes of Dystopia, Good and Evil, Nature and the Environment, Technology and Humanity, The Hero’s Quest, and War. The Critical Surveys series includes Long Fiction, Graphic Novels: Manga, Graphic Novels: History, Theme, and Technique, Critical Survey of Mythology and Folklore: World Mythology.
ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collections Online
ECCO offers online access to one of the most extensive libraries of eighteenth-century English books in the world.
LitFinder
(Gale Database thru INSPIRE)
Contemporary Authors
Gale Literary Database thru INSPIRE
Gale Biography in Context
state-wide access
CREDO reference
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Browse list of online reference titles to match your resource needs

Literary Criticism