Skip to Main Content

Research 101

This guide provides you with a basic outline of how to do research, from choosing a topic to citing your sources in the final draft. Remember to always ask a reference librarian if you need any help with your research

Keywords

What are Keywords?

Keywords are the terms that you enter into the search field of an online library catalog, database, electronic index, or search engine.  They are the main concept(s) of a research topic.

For instance if you were interested in researching the impact of computers on writing instruction, you might use the keywords writing, teaching, computers, technology, instruction, and learning.

 

Search Tips

Catalog and Database Search Tips

  • Online catalogs, databases, and search engines will provide you with webpages, tutorials, and/or "help" boxes that offer basic information on how to best search. Take advantage of these. Although it will not be necessary to learn every search tool, you may find a couple that work especially well for you.
     
  • Try a variety of databases. You may find much more information in one database than another. After several initial searches, you will know whether a particular database will provide articles applicable to your subject.
     
  • When in doubt, ask a Librarian!

Strategies and Terminology

Search Strategies and Terminology

As you start to search for information, you will notice that the catalog and databases share similar characteristics.  Many times you can use similar search techniques for all of them.  Below are some of the most commonly used search techniques and tools.