Research Guides: EdD Research Guide: Suggested Search Tools

Get the Literature You Need

Journal Finder
Search for both print and online journal titles at Rice Library or browse journals by subject.
DOI Search
Use LibKey Nomad to search by DOI or other identifiers
Interlibrary Loan
All USI students, faculty, and staff may request print and electronic resources through the Rice Library's interlibrary loan service at no cost. This way, if (for example) full text is not immediately available through our database subscriptions, students will still be able to access the information they need within a matter of days.

Find Ebooks and More

The library's collection includes many books in electronic editions that you'll find useful in your research work, all of which can be found in the library catalog. You can also use the catalog to manage your library account, save and automate searches, and other tasks.

Library Catalog This link opens in a new window

fUSIon allows you to simultaneously search the library's catalog and several databases. Use it as an exploratory tool, in order to get ideas about what's available and where in our collections to look for it.

Education Research Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
ASC is a multi-disciplinary, full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. This scholarly collection provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc. and nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) provides access to education literature and research. ERIC is the world's largest and most widely used index to educational-related literature.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full text access to journals in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO - an American Psychological Association (APA) resource - provides full text and abstracts of peer-reviewed articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health. Expand your resource pool by selecting "Choose databases" above the top search field, checking the box next to the PsycARTICLES database, and selecting the OK button.
Social Sciences Full Text (INSPIRE) This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Full Text provides sources covering a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, public welfare, urban studies and more.
Does not require USI login.
Requires Indiana IP address.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection contains over 21,100 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available.

EBSCO Open Dissertations
EBSCO Open Dissertations is a free database with records for more than 1.4 million electronic theses and dissertations from more than 320 universities around the world.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD)
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world.

Global ETD Search This link opens in a new window
The Global ETD Search tool is a free index to available electronic theses and dissertations provided by the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations.

Screenshot of EBSCOhost logo from 2018
Any time you see the EBSCOhost logo, you have the opportunity to select multiple databases for simultaneous searching. The brief video below demonstrates how to go about selecting and adding databases to your search.

Step-by-Step Instructions from Video for Tab Navigation and Screen Readers

Select a non-INSPIRE database from the databases A-Z list such as CINAHL, PsycINFO, or Academic Search Premier.
In the database, select the Choose Databases link that appears after the main menu and EBSCO logo, and prior to the Suggest Subject Terms checkbox.
Select the check boxes associated with the databases you wish to add to the search.
Select one of the OK button options. These buttons are located before the start of the database list, as well as after the list.

EdD Research Guide

Database Search Tips

Contact the Rice Library

Get the Literature You Need

Find Ebooks and More

fUSIon

Education Research Databases

Step-by-Step Instructions from Video for Tab Navigation and Screen Readers