Research Guides: Globalization: Databases and Data Sets

Search in fUSIon

Search for books, ebooks, images, and articles from scholarly, trade, or news periodicals with the Rice Library's fUSIon tool.

Library Databases

Academic Search Premier

Business Source Premier

Communication and Mass Media Complete

CREDO Reference

Gale Virtual Reference Library

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences

Issues & Controversies

SocINDEX with Full Text

Web Databases and Data Sets

The Access Inititive
"The Access Initiative is the world’s largest network of civil society organizations dedicated to ensuring that local communities have the rights and abilities to gain access to information and to participate in decisions that affect their lives and their environment." (TAI website)

The following databases and data sets are freely available on the Web. Unless otherwise specified, the descriptions provided for each have been excerpted from: Ervin, J., & Smith, Z. A. (2008). Globalization: A reference handbook. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO. REF COL: JZ1318 .E77 2008

International Monetary Fund: Data and Statistics
"The International Monetary Fund collects data on economic globalization in the areas of trade, finance, debt, commodity prices, international currency reserves, and indicators of financial soundness. It also produces manuals, guides, and policy reports related to issues concerning economic globalization." (p. 268)
Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development: OECD Factbook
The OECD Factbook is available through the OECD's "statistical portal" on their Web site. It offers a wide range of data on member nation-states. This data collection includes up-to-date indicators on population, macroeconomic trends, economic globalization, energy, labor markets, migration, quality of life, education, the environment, and science and technology." (p. 268-69)
United Nations Statistics Division
The United Nations Statistics Division collects a wide range of data concerning many dimensions of globalization. . . It also colledts data to help track the success of the Millenium Development Goals project.
The World Bank Data and Research
The World Bank (WB) Web site offers access to WB data and research papers. This includes the WB World Development Indicators (WDI), a comprehensive data set pertaining to global development.
World Factbook
"The World Factbook offers 'country profiles' that consist ofmany important facts about nation-states around the globe. The country profiles offer a historical background and data on the nation-state's geography, people,government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues." (p. 267)

Popular vs. Scholarly Sources

Always evaluate your sources - what Google considers to be scholarly may not be considered scholarly by your professor.

Globalization

Search in fUSIon

FUSION SEARCH

Library Databases

Web Databases and Data Sets

Popular vs. Scholarly Sources