Oral Histories
This is the "Home" page of the "University Archives and Special Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

University Archives and Special Collections  

An overview of what the University Archives and Special Collections
Last Updated: Jul 31, 2015 URL: http://usi.libguides.com/uasc Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About the Archives

The UASC began in 1972 thanks to a three-year grant from the Lily Endowment, Inc. of Indianapolis. The grant, intended to establish an archival project to aquire, preserve, and process regional material, allowed USI to begin building its Special Collections. From 1983 to 2006 the University Archives was housed in the lower level of the old library facility on campus. With the opening of the David L. Rice Library the Archives received a new home on the third floor with full facilities designed to house and preserve the special collections.

When officially established as the Special Collections/University Archives Department, the department had little more than several regional history books on Indiana pulled from the library’s general collection. By 1993 the collection had grown to over 2700 books and 496 audio and video tapes.

 

Mission Statement

The UASC supports the David L. Rice Library mission statement in addition to being committed to acquiring and preserving material about the development and the operations of the University. It has a secondary mission to preserve regional history, focusing on the southwestern region of Indiana. The department is dedicated to preservation and organization of materials for the purpose of research.

The UASC will accept materials relating to the history and development of the University of Southern Indiana.

The UASC will evaluate for possible acceptance of personal collections if the materials are related to regional history, with historical importance due to content or persons. This may include but is not limited to personal papers, private library collections, photographs, oral histories, with proper documentation, family or business history from the area. Rare books, general items of local interest, or items deemed to have an educational value supporting either the library or the University's missions may be considered for addition to the collection.

 

What are the University Archives/Special Collections?

Located on the third floor of the David L. Rice Library, the collection consists of personal papers, business, organizational, and governmental records. Included are diaries and journals, correspondence, literary manuscripts, art work, account books, minutes of business firms and organizations, scrapbooks and newsletters, photographs and memorabilia.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip