Alternate Page for Screenreader Users

Research Guides - Instructional Services

Instructional Services Librarian

Profile Image
Instructional Services Librarian
Logo - Facebook
Contact Info:

Guides

2016 Presidential Election
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Nov 22, 2016
Information on 2016 Presidential Election
Advertising
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Jul 25, 2016
Tags: advertise, advertising
Alchemy and Magic
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Jul 25, 2016
Tags: alchemy, magic, witchcraft, witches
Ancient Art
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Jul 25, 2016
Tags: ancient, art, art_history
Ancient History
by Instructional Services - Last Updated May 25, 2016
Tags: ancient_history, history
Annotated Bibliographies and Literature Reviews
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Oct 5, 2016
What's an Annotated Bibliography and Literature Review? Find Out!
Tags: annotated_bibliography, literature_review, research_assignment
Anthropology
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Oct 7, 2016
Tags: anthropology
Art History
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Feb 9, 2017
Tags: art, art_history
Biol 121
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Mar 14, 2016
Learn how to locate reliable sources of discipline-specific scientific evidence!
Business Management
by Instructional Services - Last Updated May 13, 2016
Tags: business, management
CAP
by Joanne Artz, Instructional Services - Last Updated Dec 23, 2016
This guide supports both CAP instructors and students in utilizing the resources and services of Rice Library.
Tags: cap
Career Guide
by Instructional Services - Last Updated May 13, 2016
Provides information on pursuing careers while also offering resources on job hunting, resumes, cover letters, and interviewing.
Tags: careers, cover letter, interviewing, resume
Chaucer
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Jul 25, 2016
Tags: canterbury_tales, chaucer, literature
Chemistry
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Jan 10, 2017
Tags: chemistry, science
Children's and Young Adult Literature
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Feb 22, 2017
Sources for book selection, reader's advisory, author and illustrator information, and much more
Tags: children's_literature, literature, ya_literature, young_adult_literature
Computer Science
by Instructional Services - Last Updated May 13, 2016
Tags: computer_science, computers
Course Reserves
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Mar 14, 2016
In this tutorial learn how to locate course reserves at Rice Library.
Tags: course_reserves, reserves
Crusades
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Nov 2, 2016
Tags: crusades, history, medieval
Cultural Studies
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Jun 27, 2016
This guide provides resources for investigating different cultures from around the world and within the United States.
Tags: countries, cultural_studies, cultures
Day of the Dead
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Jul 25, 2016
Liberal Arts Colloquium
Tags: cultural_studies, day_of_the_dead, death, dying
Drugs and Alcohol
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Nov 22, 2016
This guide provides information on various drugs and alcohol with a focus on addiction, abuse, and treatment.
Tags: addiction, alcohol, alcohol_abuse, cigarettes, cocaine, doping, drug_abuse, drugs, hallucinogen, marijuana, meth, opiates, prescription_drugs, smoking, steroids, tobacco
eBooks
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Jun 10, 2016
In this guide learn how to search for and access eBooks. This tutorial discusses EBSCO eBooks, and ebrary Academic Complete.
Tags: e-books, ebooks, electronic books
EBSCOhost Databases
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Nov 18, 2016
In the following tutorials learn about some of the advanced features available in the EBSCOhost databases including the creation of an account, controlled vocabulary searching, and utilizing cited references.
Tags: advanced searching, databases, ebscohost, research_methods
Education K-12
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Aug 12, 2016
Lesson Planning, Statistics, Careers, Research, & Standards
Tags: education, k-12
Engineering
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Jan 9, 2017
Tags: engineering
English Studies
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Jul 26, 2016
Tags: american, english, literature
Ethics
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Sep 30, 2016
Tags: ethics
Evansville & USI Research
by Instructional Services, University Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Jul 11, 2016
If you need to do research on a local topic concerning Evansville or USI, it could be a bit tricky. This LibGuide provides some resources and tips on how to research local topics.
Tags: evansville, usi
Full-Text
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Jul 11, 2016
In this tutorial and guide learn how to find the full-text of an item using Article Linker within many of Rice Library's databases.
Tags: article_linker, full-text, interlibrary_loan
Gender Studies
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Feb 28, 2017
Tags: gender, gender identity
Geology
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Jul 26, 2016
Tags: earth, earth_science, geology
Globalization
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Jan 25, 2017
Tags: global, globalism, globalization
Google Advanced Search
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Mar 14, 2016
In this tutorial learn how to use the Advanced Search of Google for better Internet searching.
Tags: google, google_advanced
Google Scholar
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Mar 14, 2016
In this tutorial learn about Google Scholar, a research tool that searches scholarly publications instead of the entire Internet.
Tags: google, google_scholar, research_methods
Gothic Imagination
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Jul 26, 2016
Liberal Arts Colloquium
Tags: goth, gothic, horror
Green Guide
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Jul 6, 2016
Learn valuable resources and tips to make a more environmentally-friendly you!
Tags: eco, ecology, environment, green
Health Issues
by Joanne Artz, Instructional Services - Last Updated Aug 1, 2016
Tags: health, medicine
Historical Methods
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Oct 6, 2016
Tags: history, research_methods
How To Cite Sources
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Mar 9, 2017
This guide will provide links to "Tip Sheets" for commonly used citation styles and links to guides for other styles.
Tags: acs, ama, ap, apa, apsa, bluebook, chicago, citations, citing, doi, harvard style, mla, turabian
Iliad and the Odyssey
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Jun 28, 2016
Tags: homer, iliad, odyssey
Immigration
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Mar 27, 2017
This guide offers resources for those interested in both current and past Immigration to the United States.
Tags: american_history, emigration, immigrants, immigration
Indiana Statistics
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Jan 25, 2017
This guide was developed by Kristen Leonard and the staff of Indiana University Kokomo Library, with additions by Rice Library reference librarians.
Tags: indiana, statistics
Information Cycle
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Jun 28, 2016
In this tutorial you will learn how news events become various types of information as time progresses.
Tags: information cycle, information_literacy, research_methods
Information Literacy
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Mar 14, 2016
This guide explains the concept of Information Literacy as well as provides standards, handouts, and activities to complement instruction.
Tags: information_literacy
Jazz
by Joanne Artz, Instructional Services - Last Updated Jun 28, 2016
Tags: jazz, music, musicians
Jewelry and Culture
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Jun 28, 2016
This guide supports Jane Vicker's art courses
Tags: culture, jewellery, jewelry
Journal Finder
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Jun 28, 2016
In this tutorial learn how to use Journal Finder to find the full-text of specific journals (in print and online) through Rice Library.
Tags: journal finder
Library Account
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Mar 14, 2016
In this tutorial you will learn how to access your library account, request items that have been checked out, and save searches and items to lists for later use.
Tags: account, catalog
Library Catalog
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Jun 27, 2016
This guide will show you how to search the Library Catalog, how to read call numbers and give you more information about your library account.
Tags: catalog
Library Instruction
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Jan 3, 2017
The Instructional Services Unit of Rice Library provides in-class instruction as well as digital tools to help students conduct research by utilizing the variety of resources available through the library.
Tags: information_literacy, research, resources
Library Terms
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Jun 27, 2016
This guide defines the most commonly used library and research terms.
Tags: definitions, library, terms
Literary Criticism
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Aug 1, 2016
Tags: criticism, english, literature
Living in Evansville Guide
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Jan 17, 2017
Providing you with information on how to stay entertained and active in Evansville!
Tags: activities, entertainment, evansville
Marketing
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Aug 1, 2016
Tags: business, marketing
Materials Science
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Dec 21, 2016
This Research Guide is designed to support ME 364, Materials Science
Tags: materials engineering, materials science
Mathematics
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Oct 6, 2016
Tags: mathematics
Medieval Europe
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Nov 18, 2016
Tags: europe, medieval, middle_ages
Medieval Women
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Aug 1, 2016
Tags: gender, medieval, middle_ages, women
Middle East and Islam
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Nov 18, 2016
Tags: arab, islam, middle_east, muslim
Music
by Joanne Artz, Instructional Services - Last Updated Aug 1, 2016
These are selected sources. Your reference librarians can assist you in finding other related materials.
Tags: composers, instruments, music, musicians, songs
Need a Topic?
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Sep 23, 2016
The following guide provides links and resources concerning current and controversial issues.
Tags: america relations, cmst 101, crime, current events, economics, economy, education, employment, eng 201, environment, ethics, family, food, government, health, mathematics, politics, relationships, religion, rights, safety, science, technology, violence
Need Statistics?
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Apr 19, 2017
Suggested sources for statistics in a wide variety of research areas
Tags: statistics, stats
New Faculty Guide
by Joanne Artz, Instructional Services - Last Updated Oct 18, 2016
This LibGuide provides New USI Faculty with a breakdown of the resources and services available through Rice Library.
Tags: faculty
New Student Guide
by Instructional Services - Last Updated May 2, 2016
This guide will provide you with all the "must-have" info about being a student at USI.
Nutrition
by Instructional Services - Last Updated May 18, 2017
Tags: diet, dietetics, food, health, nutrition
Oceanography
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Nov 21, 2016
Tags: ocean, oceanography, seas
Oil Spills
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Oct 6, 2016
This guide provides resources for researching Oil Spills and Oil Drilling.
Tags: environment, oil_drilling, oil_spills
Peace Studies
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Aug 1, 2016
Tags: nonviolence, pacifism, peace
Philosophy
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Oct 14, 2016
Tags: philosophy
Physics
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Nov 21, 2016
Tags: physics, science
Plagiarism
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Mar 14, 2016
In this guide and tutorial learn exactly what constitutes plagiarism, the consequences of plagiarizing another's work, and how to avoid plagiarism.
Tags: plagiarism, plagiarizing
Planning for Graduate School
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Jun 13, 2016
Designed to provide information for those planning to attend graduate school including descriptions of colleges and graduate programs, graduate test preparation, and financial aid.
Tags: graduate, secondary degree
Political Science
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Apr 19, 2017
Tags: political_science, politics
Printing and Copying in Rice Library
by Instructional Services - Last Updated May 6, 2016
In these tutorials learn the basics of printing, copying, and adding money to your FLEX account.
Tags: copying, flex account, printing
Psychology
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Nov 28, 2016
Tags: psychology, psycinfo
Psychology 202
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Nov 16, 2016
This site specifically supports PSY 202. For general Psychology information, please visit the Psychology LibGuide.
Tags: psy_202, psychology
Psychology Research Methods and Statistics
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Nov 2, 2016
This LibGuide supports PSY 303.
Tags: psy_303, psychology, research_methods, statistics, stats
Ram in the Thicket
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Aug 1, 2016
Liberal Arts Colloquium
Tags: liberal_arts_colloquium, literature, middle_east, religion
Recommended Websites
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Apr 19, 2017
This guide provides lists of scholarly, informative websites that are broken down by discipline.
Tags: evaluation, websites
Reference Sources
by Joanne Artz, Instructional Services - Last Updated Mar 14, 2016
In this tutorial learn what constitutes a reference source, how it will benefit your research, and how to utilize print and online reference sources from Rice Library.
Tags: reference, research_methods
Renaissance Art
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Aug 1, 2016
Tags: art_history, renaissance
Renew an Item
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Mar 14, 2016
In this tutorial learn how to renew books online through your Rice Library account.
Tags: book renewal, online
Research 101
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Nov 14, 2016
This guide provides you with a basic outline of how to do research, from choosing a topic to citing your sources in the final draft. Remember to always ask a reference librarian if you need any help with your research
Tags: evaluating sources, how to cite, plagiarism, research, research game plan, research methods, resources
Rise of American Business
by Instructional Services, University Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Dec 14, 2016
This LibGuide supports the HIST 130 course.
Tags: american, american_history, business, local history
Scholarly vs. Popular Sources
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Dec 16, 2016
This tutorial will explain the differences between scholarly and popular resources.
Tags: peer reviewed, popular, research_methods, scholarly
Search Engines
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Mar 14, 2016
In this tutorial you will learn about the basic methods of searching the Internet including search engines, metasearch engines, and subject directories.
Tags: metasearch engines, online, research_methods, search engines, subject directories
Social Work
by Joanne Artz, Instructional Services - Last Updated Aug 8, 2016
Tags: social_work
Sociology
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Nov 3, 2016
Tags: sociology
Sports
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Jun 10, 2016
Tags: sports
STEM
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Nov 16, 2016
Science, Technology, Engineering, & Mathematics
Tags: engineering, mathematics, science, technology
Submarines
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Dec 1, 2016
Tags: military, submarines, weapons
The Big Read, 2014
by Joanne Artz, Instructional Services - Last Updated Dec 14, 2016
Thesis Statements
by Instructional Services - Last Updated May 16, 2016
In this tutorial learn what constitutes a thesis and how to create strong thesis statements.
Tags: research_methods, thesis, thesis statements
University Archives & Special Collections
by Deanna Engler, Jennifer Greene, Instructional Services, University Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Mar 14, 2016
Learn about the types of resources kept within the Archives and what services are available to students, faculty, staff, and community members.
Tags: archives, digital collections, special collections
World History
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Nov 3, 2016
Tags: global, history, world history
World Mythology
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Aug 8, 2016
Tags: folklore, global, mythology, myths, world
WorldCat
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Mar 14, 2016
In this online tutorial, you will learn how to access and search the catalog WorldCat as well as request WorldCat items through Interlibrary loan.
Tags: ill, research_methods, worldcat
 
 
Description

  Loading...