Research Guides: Occupational Therapy: Reference Resources

Introduction

This guide contains information about library resources that support the University of Sothern Indiana's Occupational Therapy program and Occupational Therapy Assistant Program.

Why Reference Sources?

Reference sources can provide you with valuable information such as:

Background information
Important figures
Dates, places, and people
Definitions and key terms
Lists of additional sources (articles, books, etc.)

They are an excellent way to begin your research by allowing you to become familiar with the topic in preparation to choose the best articles, books, and additional resources.

Search in fUSIon

Search for books, ebooks, images, and articles from scholarly, trade, or news periodicals with the Rice Library's fUSIon tool.

Nursing/Health Professions Online Reference Resources

CREDO Reference
Credo reference provides access to over 700 reference titles, in addition to searchable images, audio files, and videos.
EBSCO eBook Collection
The EBSCO eBook Collection provides full-text access to thousands of titles pertaining to the medical and health sciences, business and administration, psychology, and the general social sciences.
SpringerLink eBooks
SpringerLink offers a robust collection of reference texts pertaining to public health, informatics, and medical sciences.

Featured Electronic Reference Titles

Occupational Therapy and Neurological Conditions by Jenny Preston; Judi Edmans
ISBN: 9781118936139
Publication Date: 2016-03-22
Occupational Therapy and Vocational Rehabilitation by Joanne Ross
ISBN: 9780470519615
Publication Date: 2008-05-23
Occupational Therapy Examination Review Guide by Caryn R. Johnson; Mary Muhlenhaupt; Tina DeAngelis
ISBN: 9780803639317
Publication Date: 2015-05-27
Occupational Therapy in Psychiatry and Mental Health by Rosemary Crouch (Editor); Vivyan Alers (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118624210
Publication Date: 2014-07-30
Using Occupational Therapy Theory in Practice by Gail Boniface (Editor); Alison Seymour (Editor)
ISBN: 9781444355680
Publication Date: 2011-12-27

Researching Current Events

Want to find more in-depth information about a headline issue?
Click on one of the database links below and either browse through a list of current issues, or type your specific topic into the search bar.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Use CQ Researcher to browse for comprehensive, analytical, fact-checked reports on current issues and events written by seasoned journalists. CQ's full-length articles and report provide historical background for specific topics, along with chronologies, pros and cons, photos, and statistical graphs and charts. CQ Researcher articles are great reference sources for the beginning stages of your research.
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies (I&C) provides access to articles which explore and analyze hundreds of hot topics in politics, business, government, crime, law, energy, education, health, family, science, foreign policy, race, rights, society, and culture. Full-length articles in I&C provide historical background of the issues discussed, as well as pros and cons, statistics, primary sources, editorials, and overview and debate videos.
I&C is a great resource for exploring issues and controversial topics from different points of view.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides statistics and data within 600 industries and 50+ countries. Statista also contains a variety of industry or topic overview dossiers and reports, as well as shareable data visualizations and infographics that can be exported in a variety of file formats, including .pdf, .xlsx, and .pptx

Occupational Therapy

Chat with the Library

Featured Print Titles