AuthorsShort Story & DramaPoetry & Classical LiteratureWomen & Diversity LiteratureThe Novel
This is the "Reference" page of the "Literary Criticism" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Literary Criticism   Tags: criticism, english, literature  

Last Updated: Aug 1, 2016 URL: http://usi.libguides.com/literarycriticism Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Reference Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Featured Titles

Cover Art
Masterplots - Laurence W. Mazzeno
Call Number: Reference PN44 .M33 2011 (12 vols.)
If you prefer online access to this title, click on the hyperlink to its catalog record, and then follow the link for Online Access.

Cover Art
The Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural Theory - Edited by Michael Ryan
Call Number: REF PN81 .E435 2011
ISBN: 9781405183123
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
Critical Survey of Long Fiction - Carl Rollyson; Carl E. Rollyson
Call Number: Reference PN3451 .C75 2010 (10 vols.)
Publication Date: 2010
If you prefer online access to this title, click on the hyperlink to its catalog record, and then follow the link for Online Access.

Cover Art
The Encyclopedia of Christian Literature - George Thomas Kurian (Editor); James D. Smith (Editor)
Call Number: Reference BR117.3 .E53 2010 (2 vols.)
ISBN: 081086987X
Publication Date: 2010
The written word is one of the defining elements of Christian experience. As vigorous in the 1st century as it is in the 21st, Christian literature has had a significant function in history, and teachers and students need to be reminded of this powerful literary legacy. Covering 2,000 years, The Encyclopedia of Christian Literature is the first encyclopedia devoted to Christian writers and books.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Arabic Literature - Julie Scott Meisami (Editor); Paul Starkey (Editor)
Call Number: REF PJ7510 .R76 2010
Publication Date: 2010
The Encyclopedia of Arabic Literature is an authoritative reference source on the most important authors, works, genres, key terms, concepts and issues in the Arabic literary tradition. The Encyclopedia covers the classical (pre-Islamic to 1258), transitional (1258-1798) and modern periods within a single work. In over 1300 separately-authored entries, many of the world's experts combine current research with traditional study to provide authoritative analysis and commentary on a wide range of areas.

Cover Art
Historical Fiction II - Sarah L. Johnson (Editor)
Call Number: Reference PS374.H5 J64 2009
ISBN: 1591586240
Publication Date: 2009
Historical fiction has surged in popularity in recent years, with new subgenres emerging (e.g. Viking romance, religious thrillers) and reader interest showing no signs of slowing down. The author's unique approach involves classifying titles by subgenres, rather than strictly by geography and chronology; thereby grouping read-alikes together. It gives users a deeper understanding of the genre, an update on new titles, and an easy way to identify read-alikes and book club selections for library patrons. More than 2700 historical fiction titles are organized and described.

Cover Art
Literary Research Guide - James L. Harner
Call Number: REF PR83 .H34 2008
ISBN: 0873528085
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
James L. Harner's Literary Research Guide evaluates important reference materials in English studies. In the new edition Harner has added entries describing resources published since May 2001 and has revised nearly half the entries from the fourth edition. The fifth edition contains more than 1,000 entries, which discuss an additional 1,555 books, articles, and electronic resources and cite 723 reviews. Readers of earlier editions will notice the inclusion of substantially more electronic resources, particularly reliable sites sponsored by academic institutions and learned societies, to account for the proliferation of bibliographic databases, text archives, and other online resources. This edition also features a new section on cultural studies.

Cover Art
Critical Insights: War - Alex Vernon
Call Number: REF PN56.W3 W325 2013
Publication Date: 2012
If you prefer online access, use the link above to the book record, then click on Salem Press Online Access

Cover Art
Critical Insights: Good and Evil - Margaret Sonser Breen
Call Number: REF PR468.G66 G66 2013
Publication Date: 2012
If you prefer online access use the link above to the book record, then click on Salem Press Online Access

Cover Art
Critical Insights: Midwestern Literature - Ronald Primeau (Editor)
Call Number: REF PS273 .M54 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Several essays survey the critical conversation regarding Midwestern literature, explore its cultural and historical context and offer close and comparative reading of key texts in the genre. Works discussed include Mark Twain's Huckleberry Finn, Jane Smiley's A Thousand Acres, Ernest Hemingway's Nick Adams Stories, Toni Morrison's Beloved, F. Scott Fitzgerald's Winter Dreams, Garrison Keillor's Home and Saul Bellow's Looking for Mr. Green. In this volume readers will develop a deeper understanding of Midwestern literature and explore it in depth through a variety of critical approaches.

If you prefer online access, use the link above to the book record, them click on Salem Press Online Access.

Cover Art
Critical Insights: The Slave Narrative - Kimberly Drake (Editor)
Call Number: REF PN56.S5765 S538 2014
Publication Date: 2014
If you prefer online access, use the link above to the book record, then click on Salem Press Online Access

Cover Art
Critical Insights: American Multicultural Identity - Edited by Linda Moser; Kathryn West
Call Number: REF PS169.N35 A44 2014
ISBN: 9781619254077
Publication Date: 2014

Cover Art
Critical Insights: Cultural Encounters - Edited by Nicholas Birns
Call Number: REF PN56.P555 C85 2013
ISBN: 9781429837323
Publication Date: 2013

Additional Guides

English Studies
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Jul 26, 2016
23 views this year
 

Selected Titles

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Search the Classic Catalog

Search the Rice Library Catalog

Find books, DVDs, Cds and more

 

Search in fUSIon

 

Why Reference Sources?

Reference sources can provide you with valuable information such as:
  • Background information
  • Important figures
  • Dates, places, and people
  • Definitions and key terms
  • Lists of additional sources (articles, books, etc.)
They are an excellent way to begin your research by allowing you to become familiar with the topic in preparation to choose the best articles, books, and additional resources. 
 

Literature/Languages Online Reference Titles

 

Ask a Librarian!

If you need additional help with your research or simply have a quick question, Ask Us! 
 
Phone: 812-464-1907
Phone (Toll Free): 1-800-246-6173
 
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip