The Oxford encyclopedia of ancient Greece and Rome
Call Number: REF DE5 .O95 2010
A companion to Homer's Odyssey
Call Number: REF PA4167 .M75 2003
Classical literature and its times: Profiles of notable literary works and the historical events that influenced them
Call Number: Reference PA3003 .M67 2006
Handbook for Classical Research
Call Number: Online book accessible through ebrary
Publication Date: 2010
One of the glories of the Greco-Roman classics is the opportunity that they give us to consider a great culture in its entirety; but our ability to do that depends on our ability to work comfortably with very varied fields of scholarship. The Handbook for Classical Research offers guidance to students needing to learn more about the different fields and subfields of classical research, and its methods and resources. The book is divided into 7 parts: The Basics, Language, The Traditional Fields, The Physical Remains, The Written Word, The Classics and Related Disciplines, The Classics since Antiquity. Topics covered range from history and literature, lexicography and linguistics, epigraphy and palaeography, to archaeology and numismatics, and the study and reception of the classics. Guidance is given not only to read, for example, an archaeological or papyrological report, but also on how to find such sources when they are relevant to research. Concentrating on "how-to" topics, the Handbook for Classical Research is a much needed resource for both teachers and students.
Search in fUSIon
Search the Classic Catalog
Search the Rice Library Catalog
Find books, DVDs, Cds and more
Why Reference Sources?
Reference sources can provide you with valuable information such as:
- Background information
- Important figures
- Dates, places, and people
- Definitions and key terms
Lists of additional sources (articles, books, etc.)
They are an excellent way to begin your research by allowing you to become familiar with the topic in preparation to choose the best articles, books, and additional resources.
(this title is on soldiers and armies)
Selected Biographical Titles
Literature/Languages Online Reference Titles
- Literature Online
- Salem Literature
This includes Masterplots; Critical Insights series on the themes of Dystopia, Good and Evil, Nature and the Environment, Technology and Humanity, The Hero’s Quest, and War. The Critical Surveys series includes Long Fiction, Graphic Novels: Manga, Graphic Novels: History, Theme, and Technique, Critical Survey of Mythology and Folklore: World Mythology.
- ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collections Online
ECCO offers online access to one of the most extensive libraries of eighteenth-century English books in the world.
(Gale Database thru INSPIRE)
- Contemporary Authors
Gale Literary Database thru INSPIRE
- Gale Biography in Context
- Britannica Online
- CREDO reference
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Browse list of online reference titles to match your resource needs