AtlasesStatistics
This is the "Reference" page of the "American History 102: Since 1865" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

American History 102: Since 1865   Tags: american_history, american_wars, gulf_war, korean_war, vietnam_war, wwi, wwii  

Last Updated: Oct 5, 2016 URL: http://usi.libguides.com/history102 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Reference Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Why Reference Sources?

Reference sources can provide you with valuable information such as:
  • Background information
  • Important figures
  • Dates, places, and people
  • Definitions and key terms
  • Lists of additional sources (articles, books, etc.)
They are an excellent way to begin your research by allowing you to become familiar with the topic in preparation to choose the best articles, books, and additional resources. 
 

New Titles:

Cover Art
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History, 2 vols. - Edited by Lynn Dumenil
Call Number: REF HN57 .O94 2012
ISBN: 9780199743360
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
McCarthyism and the Communist Threat - Kevin Hillstrom
Call Number: REF COL: E743.5 .H53 2011
ISBN: 9780780811843
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
100 Media Moments that Changed America - Jim Willis
Call Number: REF P92.U5 W525 2010
ISBN: 0313355177
Publication Date: 2010


Cover Art
Term Paper Resource Guide to Latino History - Michael P. Moreno; Kristin C. Brunnemer
Call Number: REF E184.S75 M668 2010
ISBN: 9780313379321
Publication Date: 2010

Cover Art
The Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions - Edited by: Kermit L. Hall; James W. Ely, Jr.
Call Number: REF KF4548.5 .O97 2009
ISBN: 019537939X
Publication Date: 2009

Cover Art
Facts about the Presidents - Joseph Nathan Kane
ISBN: 9780824210878
Publication Date: 2009


 

Time Period Reference

The Columbia guide to America in the 1960s REF E841 .C575 2001
 
Day by day (some have 2 vols.)
30's REF D723 .D39
40's REF D427 .L4
50's REF D842.5 .M47 1979
60's REF D840 .P27 1983
70's REF D848 .L4 1988
80's REF D848 .M45 1995
 
20th century day by day
REF D422 .C53 1999
 
Landmark American speeches REF PS662 .L36 2001
v. 2. The 19th century
v. 3. The 20th century
 

Search the Classic Catalog

Search the Rice Library Catalog

Find books, DVDs, Cds and more

 

Search in fUSIon

 

Ask a Librarian!

If you need additional help with your research or simply have a quick question, Ask Us! 
 
Phone: 812-464-1907
Phone (Toll Free): 1-800-246-6173
 
 
 

General Reference Sources

Belligerents, brinkmanship, and the big stick: a historical encycyolpedia of American diplomatic concepts  REF E183.7 .D59 2009
 
U.S. history matters: A student guide to U.S. history online  REF E175.88 .S378 2009

  
Civil disobedience: An encyclopedic history of dissidence in the United States (2 vols.) REF JC328.3 .S64 2009

  
Story behind the protest song: A reference guide to the 50 songs that changed the 20th century  
REF ML3551.5 .P58 2008

  
U.S. social security: A reference handbook
REF HD7125 .L58 2008

  
September 11, 2001  REF HV6432.7 .S44 2007

  
The Ku Klux Klan: History, organization, language, influence and activities of America’s most notorious secret society
REF HS2330.K63 N494 2007

 
Bulls, bears, boom, and bust: A historical encyclopedia of American business concepts REF HF3021 .D59 2007
 
Political history of America’s wars REF E181 .A945 2007  State of the union: Presidential rhetoric from Woodrow Wilson to George W. Bush  REF J81.4 .S73 2007
 
Immigration in U.S. history (2 vols.) REF JV6450 .I565 2006
 
Workers Unite! The American labor movement REF HD 8066 .H55 2011
 
Encyclopedia of war & American society (3 vols.) REF E181 .E634 2006

 
Encyclopedia of social welfare history in North America  REF HV12 .E497 2005
 
Encyclopedia of World War II: A political, social, and military history (5 vols.)  REF  D740 .E516 2005  

 
The hippie dictionary:  A cultural encyclopedia of the 1960s & 1970s  REF HQ799.7 .M28 2004
 
Encyclopedia of the Great Depression  REF E806 .E63 2004 Dictionary of American history (10 vols.) REF E174 .D52 2003

 
Historical and multicultural encyclopedia of women’s reproductive rights in the United States
REF HQ766.5 .U5 H57 2002

 
Encyclopedia of the industrial revolution in America 
REF HC105 .O45 2002

 
Encyclopedia of American cultural & intellectual history 
(3 vols.) REF E169.1 .E624 2001

 
Historic U.S. court cases: An encyclopedia (2 vols.) REF KF385.A4 J64 2001

 
Gale encyclopedia of U.S. economic history (2 vols.) REF HC102 .G35 1999

 
Encyclopedia of the Persian Gulf War
REF DS79.72 .S39 1998

 
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: A political, social, and military history  (3 vols.)  REF DS557.7 .E53 1998
 
 

Biographical Information

Encyclopedia of world biography (multiple vols.)
REF CT103 .E56 1998
  
Biographical directory of the United States Congress, 1774-1989           
REF JK1010 .U5 1989

Additional Guides

African American Studies
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Jun 21, 2016
9 views this year
American Presidency
by Instructional Services - Last Updated May 19, 2016
12 views this year
American Wars
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Jun 9, 2016
4 views this year
Historical Methods
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Oct 6, 2016
1 views this year
Indiana History
by Jennifer Greene, Instructional Services - Last Updated Aug 1, 2016
17 views this year
Political Parties
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Aug 1, 2016
0 views this year
Rise of American Business
by Instructional Services, University Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Dec 14, 2016
This LibGuide supports the HIST 130 course.
18 views this year
Vietnam War
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Nov 18, 2016
3 views this year
World War I
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Nov 16, 2016
12 views this year
World War II
by Instructional Services - Last Updated Nov 3, 2016
6 views this year
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip