PDF vs. HTML Full-Text?
PDF (Portable Document Format)
When used within a database, the PDF Full-Text option will allow users to see an article or resource as it originally appeared on the page. This makes documenting a resource easier as one can easily identify page numbers and sections.
HTML (Hypertext Markup Language)
When used in databases as HTML-Full-Text, the user will receive the text of an article or resource as a block of text. Paragraphs will usually be defined; however, many times pages will not be indicated and images will not be included.
The Verdict:
When you have a choice, choose the PDF format as it will make citing the resource easier.
Comments (0)
Additional Tutorials:
Microform Reader
- Last Updated Mar 16, 2012
In this tutorial learn how to use the Microform readers to read Microfilm and/or Microfiche. The readers are available on the 1st floor of Rice Library.
- Last Updated Mar 16, 2012
In this tutorial learn how to use the Microform readers to read Microfilm and/or Microfiche. The readers are available on the 1st floor of Rice Library.
Interlibrary Loan
- Last Updated Nov 3, 2010
This tutorial will explain Interlibrary Loan including how to register for an account and make requests.
- Last Updated Nov 3, 2010
This tutorial will explain Interlibrary Loan including how to register for an account and make requests.
Journal Finder
- Last Updated Apr 5, 2011
In this tutorial learn how to use Journal Finder to find the full-text of specific journals (in print and online) through Rice Library.
- Last Updated Apr 5, 2011
In this tutorial learn how to use Journal Finder to find the full-text of specific journals (in print and online) through Rice Library.
Online Tutorial
Need the Full-Text ASAP:
Most databases provide a way to limit your results to only those records that provide access to the full-text of the document. These full-text limiters can be very useful especially when you only need one or two resources.
However, you must remember that if you use this option you will be eliminating those items that could be found in other Rice Library databases or in print format. This can be especially troublesome when you need a large number of sources.
To avoid these problems, if possible, start your research early in case you need to request articles through Interlibrary Loan.

Loading...
