Dictionary of Nutraceuticals and Functional Foods by
Health professionals are recognizing the major role that nutraceuticals play in health enhancement. As a result, there is a dramatic increase in research aimed at identifying new functional foods and nutraceuticals. There is not, however, a single source that presents this research in a thorough and accessible manner. Comprehensive and complete, the Dictionary of Nutraceuticals and Functional Foodsis the first reference of its kind written explicitly for this rapidly developing field. The book provides clearly written, concise, science-based information on over 470 nutraceutical and functional food products and compounds. Each entry lists the most current information on the product or compound and its role in the promotion of health or the prevention of disease, as well as peer-reviewed literature references. In addition, this thorough reference contains 172 chemical structures, 102 figures, 73 schemes, and 64 tables to facilitate recognition and understanding. Concise and accessible, the Dictionary of Nutraceuticals and Functional Foods is a convenientsingle source reference that defines the most commonly used terms in the field of nutraceuticals and functional foods.
Dietary Reference Intakes by
Widely regarded as the classic reference work for the nutrition, dietetic, and allied health professions since its introduction in 1943, Recommended Dietary Allowances has been the accepted source in nutrient allowances for healthy people. Responding to the expansion of scientific knowledge about the roles of nutrients in human health, the Food and Nutrition Board of the Institute of Medicine, in partnership with Health Canada, has updated what used to be known as Recommended Dietary Allowances (RDAs) and renamed their new approach to these guidelines Dietary Reference Intakes (DRIs). Since 1998, the Institute of Medicine has issued eight exhaustive volumes of DRIs that offer quantitative estimates of nutrient intakes to be used for planning and assessing diets applicable to healthy individuals in the United States and Canada. Now, for the first time, all eight volumes are summarized in one easy-to-use reference volume, Dietary Reference Intakes: The Essential Reference for Dietary Planning and Assessment. Organized by nutrient for ready use, this popular reference volume reviews the function of each nutrient in the human body, food sources, usual dietary intakes, and effects of deficiencies and excessive intakes. For each nutrient of food component, information includes: Estimated average requirement and its standard deviation by age and gender. Recommended dietary allowance, based on the estimated average requirement and deviation. Adequate intake level, where a recommended dietary allowance cannot be based on an estimated average requirement. Tolerable upper intake levels above which risk of toxicity would increase. Along with dietary reference values for the intakes of nutrients by Americans and Canadians, this book presents recommendations for health maintenance and the reduction of chronic disease risk. Also included is a a oeSummary Table of Dietary Reference Intakes, a an updated practical summary of the recommendations. In addition, Dietary Reference Intakes: The Essential Reference for Dietary Planning and Assessment provides information about: Guiding principles for nutrition labeling and fortification Applications in dietary planning Proposed definition of dietary fiber A risk assessment model for establishing upper intake levels for nutrients Proposed definition and plan for review of dietary antioxidants and related compounds Dietitians, community nutritionists, nutrition educators, nutritionists working in government agencies, and nutrition students at the postsecondary level, as well as other health professionals, will find Dietary Reference Intakes: The Essential Reference for Dietary Planning and Assessment an invaluable resource.
Diet and Nutrition Sourcebook by
"Provides basic consumer health information about diet, nutrition, and related medical diseases and conditions. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources"--Provided by publisher.
Crc Desk Reference for Nutrition by
Following in the tradition of its popular predecessors, the CRC Desk Reference for Nutrition, Third Edition explains hundreds of terms commonly used in medicine, food science, metabolism, physiology, and nutrition. Thoroughly updated and expanded to reflect major advances over the past decade, this reference lists entries alphabetically and cross-references them when multiple terms are used for the same definition. Each entry is followed either by a definition, paragraph, essay, composition, article, or feature article. Many of the more complex entries are supported with figures or tables. New Material in the Third Edition Gut hormones and their functions Food intake recommendations New drugs with nutritional applications Novel discoveries of transport and messenger proteins Gene polymorphisms involved in nutritional responses A compilation of terms of interest to the nutritionist and non-nutritionist, this book is an alphabetical list of medical terms, drugs, biochemical, genetic and physiological terms relevant to understanding the need for and use of nutrients.
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition by
This Second Edition is a thorough revision and 20% expansion of the 1998 release, reflecting the continuing scientific advances in the field of human nutrition. Now a four-volume set, nearly 300 articles with concise, up-to-date information are complemented by an award-winning indexing system. Included is expanded coverage of epidemiology of diet-related diseases, functional foods, food safety, clinical nutrition and gastrointestinal disorders. Virtually everyone will find the Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition an easy-to-use resource making it an ideal reference choice for both the professional and the non-professional alike. Also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com. FEATURES OF SECOND PRINT EDITION * Now a four-volume set with over 250 articles * Expanded coverage of epidemiology of diet-related diseases, functional foods, food safety, and gastrointestinal disorders, among other topics ONLINE FEATURES AND FUNCTIONALITIES * Browse the whole work by volume, authors or article titles * Full and extensive subject index can be searched or browsed online, and takes you directly to the indexed paragraph, section, figure or table * Basic and advanced search functionality across the entire work or by specific volume * Users can build, save and re-run seraches, as well as combine saved searches * Extensive internal cross-referencing and dynamic linking from biliographic references to primary-source material, increasing the scope of your research rapidly and effectively * All articles available as full-text HTML files, or as PDF files that can be viewed, downloaded or printed in their original format
Threats to Food Safety by
Food is an intrinsic part of every society, but recently it has become a source of worry for many Americans and government officials. It has been estimated that more than 76 million people in the United States - more than a quarter of the population - suffer from food poisoning each year. There also lurks potential for food contamination from food brought in from other countries, as well as threats of bioterrorism. Despite these risks, most Americans take the safety of their food for granted and take very minimal precautions when preparing or handling food. New techniques to ensure food safety have emerged to deal with many of these problems, including genetic engineering of plants and animals to be resistant to disease; the radiation of food products to kill bacteria; the development of new food products, such as artificial sweeteners and fat substitutes; and eating only organic foods. However, these short-term solutions could pose long-term problems. Are these concerns overstated by health food advocates? Should Americans worry about food safety? Has the government failed to protect consumers from the risks of food-based diseases? ""Threats to Food Safety"" addresses these questions and provides a wealth of essential, first-stop information on this important issue. This volume also includes a chronology; a glossary; a guide to further research; an annotated bibliography, an integral part of the ""Library in a Book"" series; appendixes; and an index. This resource acts as a useful reference for students, teachers, health officials, and general readers who are interested in the safety of our food supply.
The Encyclopedia of Obesity and Eating Disorders by
The Encyclopedia of Obesity and Eating Disorders, Third Edition is more relevant now than ever before. Presently, almost two-thirds of American adults are overweight and 31 percent are obese. Eating disorders are now affecting a wider range of the population, particularly with increased diagnoses in men and boys, and the anti-carb craze has swept the country with potentially long-lasting ramifications for health and diet. New research has identified significant cultural and racial factors connected to obesity and eating disorders, and new products, such as ""neutriceuticals,"" have hit the market, contributing to misconceptions and uncertainty about healthy diets. This revised and expanded edition includes more than 400 entries, more than 140 of them new. The new and revised entries include advertising and obesity, biotech foods, calorie restriction (CR) diet, dietary supplements, employees with eating disorders, infant eating disorders, mind hunger, net carbs, pro-ana movement, purging disorder, schools and obesity, and twin studies and eating disorders.
The Business of Food by
The business of food and drink is for better and worse the business of our nation and our planet, and to most consumers how it works remains largely a mystery. This encyclopedia takes readers as consumers behind the scenes of the food and drink industries. The contributors come from a wide range of fields, and the scope of this encyclopedia is broad, covering from food companies and brands to the environment, health, science and technology, culture, finance, and more. The more than 150 essay entries also cover those issues that have been and continue to be of perennial importance. Historical context is emphasized and the focus is mainly on business in the United States. Most entries include Further Reading. The frontmatter includes an Alphabetical List of Entries and a Topical List of Entries to allow the reader to quickly find subjects of interest. Numerous cross-references in the entries and blind entries provide other search strategies. The person and subject index is another in-depth search tool. Sample entries: Advertising, Agribusiness, Altria, Animal Rights, Betty Crocker, Celebrity Chefs, Chain Restaurants, Commodities Exchange, Cooking Technology, Culinary Tourism, Eco-terrorism, Environmental Protection Agency, Ethnic Food Business, European Union, Flavors and Fragrances, Food Safety, Food Service Industry, Genetic Engineering, Internet, Labor and Labor Unions, Marketing to Children, McDonald's, Meat Packing, North American Free Trade Agreement, Nutrition Labeling, Organic Foods, Poultry Industry, Slow Food, SPAM, Television, Trader Joe's, Tupperware, TV Dinners, Whole Foods, Williams-Sonoma, Wine Business
The Oxford Companion to American Food and Drink by
Offering a panoramic view of the history and culture of food and drink in America with fascinating entries on everything from the smell of asparagus to the history of White Castle, and the origin of Bloody Marys to jambalaya, the Oxford Companion to American Food and Drink provides a concise,authoritative, and exuberant look at this modern American obsession. Ideal for the food scholar and food enthusiast alike, it is equally appetizing for anyone fascinated by Americana, capturing our culture and history through what we love most--food! Building on the highly praised and deliciously browseable two-volume compendium the Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America, this new work serves up everything you could ever want to know about American consumables and their impact on popular culture and the culinary world. Within itspages for example, we learn that Lifesavers candy owes its success to the canny marketing idea of placing the original flavor, mint, next to cash registers at bars. Patrons who bought them to mask the smell of alcohol on their breath before heading home soon found they were just as tasty sober andthe company began producing other flavors. Edited by Andrew Smith, a writer and lecturer on culinary history, the Companion serves up more than just trivia however, including hundreds of entries on fast food, celebrity chefs, fish, sandwiches, regional and ethnic cuisine, food science, and historical food traditions. It also dispels a fewcommonly held myths. Veganism, isn't simply the practice of a few "hippies," but is in fact wide-spread among elite athletic circles. Many of the top competitors in the Ironman and Ultramarathon events go even further, avoiding all animal products by following a strictly vegan diet. Anyone hungeringto know what our nation has been cooking and eating for the last three centuries should own the Oxford Companion to American Food and Drink. * Nearly 1,000 articles on American food and drink, from the curious to the commonplace * Beautifully illustrated with hundreds of historical photographs and color images * Includes informative lists of food websites, museums, organizations, and festivals
Encyclopedia of Junk Food and Fast Food by
Eating junk food and fast food is a great all-American passion. American kids and grownups love their candy bars, Big Macs and supersized fries, Doritos, Twinkies, and Good Humor ice cream bars. The disastrous health effects from the enormous appetite for these processed fat- and sugar-loaded foods are well publicized now. This was particularly dramatically evidenced by Super Size Me (2004), filmmaker Morgan Spurlock's 30-day all-McDonald's diet in which his liver suffered the same poisoning as if he had been on an extended alcohol binge. Through increased globalization, American popular food culture is being increasingly emulated elsewhere in the world, such as China, with the potential for similar disastrous consequences. This A-to-Z reference is the first to focus on the junk food and fast food phenomena from a multitude of angles in addition to health and diet concerns. More than 250 essay entries objectively explore the scope of the topics to illuminate the American way through products, corporations and entrepreneurs, social history, popular culture, organizations, issues, politics, commercialism and consumerism, and much more. Interest in these topics is high. This informative and fascinating work, with entries on current controversies such as mad cow disease and factory farming, the food pyramid, movie tie-ins, and marketing to children, will be highly useful for reports, research, and browsing. It takes readers behind the scenes, examining the significance of such things as uniforms, training, packaging, and franchising. Readers of every age will also enjoy the nostalgia factor, learning about the background of iconic drive-ins, the story behind the mascots, facts about their favorite candy bar, and collectables. Each entry ends with suggested reading. Besides an introduction, a timeline, glossary, bibliography, resource guide, and photos enhance the text. Sample entries: A&W Root Beer; Advertising; Automobiles; Ben & Jerry's; Burger King; Carhops; Center for Science in the Public Interest; Christmas; Cola Wars; Employment; Fair Food; Fast Food Nation; Hershey, Milton; Hollywood; Injury; Krispy Kreme; Lobbying; Nabisco; Obesity; PepsiCo; Salt; Soda Fountain; Teen Hangouts; Vegetarianism; White Castle; Yum Brands, Inc.
The Atlas of Food by
What we eat, where we eat, and how we eat: these questions are explored in this remarkable book, first published in 2002. Now in its second edition, The Atlas of Food provides an up-to-date and visually appealing way of understanding the important issues relating to global food and agriculture. In mapping out broad areas of investigation--contamination of food and water, overnutrition, micronutrient deficiency, processing, farming, and trade--it offers a concise overview of today's food and farming concerns. Buttressed by engaging prose and vivid graphics, Erik Millstone and Tim Lang convincingly argue that human progress depends on resolving global inequality and creating a more sustainable food production system. Copub: Myriad Editions
The Oxford Companion to American Food and Drink by
Offering a panoramic view of the history and culture of food and drink in America with fascinating entries on everything from the smell of asparagus to the history of White Castle, and the origin of Bloody Marys to jambalaya, the Oxford Companion to American Food and Drink provides a concise,authoritative, and exuberant look at this modern American obsession. Ideal for the food scholar and food enthusiast alike, it is equally appetizing for anyone fascinated by Americana, capturing our culture and history through what we love most--food! Building on the highly praised and deliciously browseable two-volume compendium the Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America, this new work serves up everything you could ever want to know about American consumables and their impact on popular culture and the culinary world. Within itspages for example, we learn that Lifesavers candy owes its success to the canny marketing idea of placing the original flavor, mint, next to cash registers at bars. Patrons who bought them to mask the smell of alcohol on their breath before heading home soon found they were just as tasty sober andthe company began producing other flavors. Edited by Andrew Smith, a writer and lecturer on culinary history, the Companion serves up more than just trivia however, including hundreds of entries on fast food, celebrity chefs, fish, sandwiches, regional and ethnic cuisine, food science, and historical food traditions. It also dispels a fewcommonly held myths. Veganism, isn't simply the practice of a few "hippies," but is in fact wide-spread among elite athletic circles. Many of the top competitors in the Ironman and Ultramarathon events go even further, avoiding all animal products by following a strictly vegan diet. Anyone hungeringto know what our nation has been cooking and eating for the last three centuries should own the Oxford Companion to American Food and Drink. * Nearly 1,000 articles on American food and drink, from the curious to the commonplace * Beautifully illustrated with hundreds of historical photographs and color images * Includes informative lists of food websites, museums, organizations, and festivals
Encyclopedia of Obesity by
Obesity is a serious health issue and is a key discussion and research area in many disciplines from the social sciences and physical education to the health sciences. The Encyclopedia of Obesity is a comprehensive set containing nearly 500 entries that addresses the broad scope of the obesity epidemic, from molecular and genetic causes to the treatment of this disease at a large scale, public policy level. The editors have chosen topics that capture the current climate of obesity research, while still addressing and defining the core concepts related to this disease. Additionally, the majority of entries have been provided by experts from the medical and scientific research community. In many cases, entries are written by pioneering or premiere researchers in the topic at hand. This two-volume Encyclopedia provides a catalogue of entries from a variety of expert contributors from a vast array of disciplines, including molecular biology, psychology, medicine, public health and policy, food science, environmental health, pharmaceuticals, and many others to summarize pertinent topics in obesity, and related health conditions. Scholars, educators, researchers, physicians, and the general public will be able to access this resource for current, factual details on topics related to this growing epidemic. This new encyclopedia will be the most reliable, accurate, and thorough resource for information about obesity. 'Moving Forward in an Ever Expanding World' in this section Kathleen Keller addresses the topic of a changing society that is slowly adapting to accommodate obesity. Covering recent lawsuits on fast food industries and airlines, discussing how these are telling of the decades to come. In addition, this text will look at the new frontiers on obesity treatment and research and the importance of prevention in children, and in studying obesity in a variety of ethnic groups and in developing countries. Benefits and Features " This publication will serve as a general and non-technical resource for biology, sociology, health studies, and other social science students and educators who wish to understand the development of obesity as it prevails in the United States and worldwide. " It will for the first time, allow scholars who are conducting research to access hundreds of topics related to obesity, all within a single text. " The convenient organization of this text will assist readers most when they have a specific term they wish to investigate, however, for readers who do not know the specific search term, each article is cross-referenced with other article headings. Major themes that are addresses are as follows: the prevalence of obesity (worldwide and U.S.), gender and obesity, leading institutions that are dedicated to fighting obesity, food industries, biological and genetic contributors, environmental contributors, social influences and outcomes on obesity, psychological influences/outcomes of obesity, health implications of obesity, treatments for obesity (medical and dietary), disordered eating patterns, public health issues related to obesity, obesity and the brain, ethnicity and obesity, and new frontiers in obesity research.
Obesity in Childhood and Adolescence by
Obesity has become the number one health threat to Americans, but the incidence is most tragic for our children and teenagers. Nearly 1 in every 7 boys and girls is obese and far more are overweight. Most developed countries including the United Kingdom and Canada are seeing similar rates. In these volumes, a cross-disciplinary team of experts presents what we know and are learning about the causes of youth obesity, its affects, solutionfs, and future prevention. Contributors focus on the newest research from fields including pediatrics, genetics, nursing, nutritional science, surgery, psychology, advertising, geography, and landscape architecture. Obesity among our young has grown to epidemic proportions and sets our young up for a lifetime of phusical illness including diabetes, heart disease, and cancer, as well as psychological disorders from anxiety to depression and chronic stress. Yet the causes and solutions are not as easy to understand and address as we might think. Topics addressed in these volumes include obesity from infancy across the life span, how the brain is affected by obesity, medical outcomes, medication and obesity, nutrition and the affect of supersized foods, the role of the media and built environments. Social disparities, family obesity, the role of television and video games, effective weight-loss programs, bariatric surgery, and ethical issues are also among chapter topics.
The Encyclopedia of Obesity and Eating Disorders by
The Encyclopedia of Obesity and Eating Disorders, Third Edition is more relevant now than ever before. Presently, almost two-thirds of American adults are overweight and 31 percent are obese. Eating disorders are now affecting a wider range of the population, particularly with increased diagnoses in men and boys, and the anti-carb craze has swept the country with potentially long-lasting ramifications for health and diet. New research has identified significant cultural and racial factors connected to obesity and eating disorders, and new products, such as ""neutriceuticals,"" have hit the market, contributing to misconceptions and uncertainty about healthy diets. This revised and expanded edition includes more than 400 entries, more than 140 of them new. The new and revised entries include advertising and obesity, biotech foods, calorie restriction (CR) diet, dietary supplements, employees with eating disorders, infant eating disorders, mind hunger, net carbs, pro-ana movement, purging disorder, schools and obesity, and twin studies and eating disorders.
The Oxford Handbook of Food, Politics, and Society by