Creating a Thesis StatementResearch Game PlanBasic Search StrategiesKeywordsResearch AssignmentsThe Information Cycle
Government DocumentsCurriculum MaterialsPopular MaterialsReference SourcesMicrofilm/ficheCourse ReservesE-BooksJournal Finder
Library Call NumbersLibrary AccountRenewing Items
EBSCOhost TutorialsWorldCat TutorialJSTOR TutorialsLexis-Nexis AcademicARTstorTutorialsCREDO ReferenceOther Database TutorialsFinding the Full-Text
Google Advanced SearchGoogle ScholarFinding ImagesWikipedia
Local History on Demand
Articles & BooksWebsitesWikipediaPeer Reviewed/Scholarly/Popular ArticlesEvaluating Database Results
Academic IntegrityFair UseCopyrightPublic Domain
APAMLAChicagoTurabianAMAAPReading & Using Citations
This is the "Beginning Your Research" page of the "Research 101" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research 101   Tags: research_assignment, research_methods, resources  

This guide provides you with a basic outline of how to do research, from choosing a topic to citing your sources in the final draft. Remember to always ask a reference librarian if you need any help with your research
Last Updated: Oct 20, 2014 URL: http://usi.libguides.com/research101 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Beginning Your Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Choosing a Topic

Try the following links for lists of current and controversial topics:
 

Narrowing Your Topic

CREDO Reference is an online reference source that provides a Concept Map tool.  This tool allows the user to see the relationships among various concepts and ideas.  It also provides reference information for each one of these ideas.

 

Worksheets to Help Narrow Your Topic

There are many ways that you can refine your general topics to narrower ones appropriate for a paper or project.  Below are links to worksheets that present some strategies to do this.  Everyone chooses and refines research topics differently, so choose the strategy that works best for you.
 

#1 Research Tip

UNDERSTAND THE ASSIGNMENT!!!!
 
Before you do anything, make sure you have thoroughly read the class assignment and clarified any unknown information with your instructor.  Is there a required number of sources that need to be used?  Are there any limitations on the types of resources that you can use?  Is it in MLA, APA, or another style?
 
You do not want it to be the night before and realize that the paper needs to be 5 pages longer or that you needed 15 resources and not 10.
 

Make a Plan

In order to make searching easier, create a short checklist with all the types of resources that you will need.  Make sure to include any constraints or requirements.  Think about the following:
 
1.  What types of resources do I need and where can I find these (the catalog, databases, archives, etc.)?  Am I required to use any particular resources?
 
2.  How many resources do I need and am I required to have a minimum amount?
 
3.  Do I need resources created within a certain time frame (example-the last 5 years)?
 
4.  Do any or all of my resources need to be scholarly or peer-reviewed?
 
5.  Do I have time to use Interlibrary Loan or can I only use items that are in full-text?
 
6.  Do I need to provide physical copies of my resouces to the instructor?
 
7.  Do I need to include annotations with my citation?
 
8.  Do any of my resources involve contacting an organization or scheduling an interview?  If yes, how much time will I need to do this?    
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip