Browse By Subject
- Art, Art History, Music and Theatre
- Business and Management
- Careers
- Communications
- Current and Controversial Topics
- Diversity
- Education
- Faculty
- Fun Guides
- History
- Humanities
- INST/LBST/LIBA
- Law
- Liberal Arts Colloquium
- Literature and Languages
- Military Science
- Nursing and Health
- Online Tutorials
- Physical Education
- Research How To
- Science, Engineering, and Mathematics
- Social Science
- Social Work
Online Tutorials
APA Citation Tutorials
- Last Updated Oct 25, 2010
In the following tutorials, created by Nova Southeastern University, learn some of the basics for citing and using the APA style in research papers.
- Last Updated Oct 25, 2010
In the following tutorials, created by Nova Southeastern University, learn some of the basics for citing and using the APA style in research papers.
Call Numbers
- Last Updated Mar 13, 2012
In this tutorial learn how to read Library of Congress Call Numbers, which are used to organize most resources in Rice Library.
- Last Updated Mar 13, 2012
In this tutorial learn how to read Library of Congress Call Numbers, which are used to organize most resources in Rice Library.
Choosing and Narrowing a Topic
- Last Updated Apr 9, 2013
In these tutorials learn about resources that can help you select a topic for that paper/project while also narrowing it to fit the scope of the assignment.
- Last Updated Apr 9, 2013
In these tutorials learn about resources that can help you select a topic for that paper/project while also narrowing it to fit the scope of the assignment.
Course Reserves
- Last Updated Mar 23, 2011
In this tutorial learn how to locate course reserves at Rice Library.
- Last Updated Mar 23, 2011
In this tutorial learn how to locate course reserves at Rice Library.
Curriculum Materials
- Last Updated Nov 3, 2010
In this tutorial learn what children and young adult resources are available in Rice Library, where they are located, and how to use the Library Catalog to find them.
- Last Updated Nov 3, 2010
In this tutorial learn what children and young adult resources are available in Rice Library, where they are located, and how to use the Library Catalog to find them.
EBSCOhost Databases
- Last Updated Mar 24, 2011
In the following tutorials learn about some of the advanced features available in the EBSCOhost databases including the creation of an account, controlled vocabulary searching, and utilizing cited references.
- Last Updated Mar 24, 2011
In the following tutorials learn about some of the advanced features available in the EBSCOhost databases including the creation of an account, controlled vocabulary searching, and utilizing cited references.
Education Literature Review
- Last Updated Mar 25, 2011
Created for Education 631, in these tutorials learn how to find resources to comprise an education Literature Review.
- Last Updated Mar 25, 2011
Created for Education 631, in these tutorials learn how to find resources to comprise an education Literature Review.
Evaluating Resources
- Last Updated Nov 9, 2010
In this tutorial you will learn some guidelines to utilize when evaluating resources whether print or electronic.
- Last Updated Nov 9, 2010
In this tutorial you will learn some guidelines to utilize when evaluating resources whether print or electronic.
Evaluating Websites
- Last Updated Nov 9, 2010
In this tutorial you will learn a method for evaluating websites for scholarship.
- Last Updated Nov 9, 2010
In this tutorial you will learn a method for evaluating websites for scholarship.
Full-Text
- Last Updated Mar 16, 2012
In this tutorial and guide learn how to find the full-text of an item using Article Linker within many of Rice Library's databases.
- Last Updated Mar 16, 2012
In this tutorial and guide learn how to find the full-text of an item using Article Linker within many of Rice Library's databases.
Google Advanced Search
- Last Updated Nov 12, 2010
In this tutorial learn how to use the Advanced Search of Google for better Internet searching.
- Last Updated Nov 12, 2010
In this tutorial learn how to use the Advanced Search of Google for better Internet searching.
Google Scholar
- Last Updated Mar 22, 2011
In this tutorial learn about Google Scholar, a research tool that searches scholarly publications instead of the entire Internet.
- Last Updated Mar 22, 2011
In this tutorial learn about Google Scholar, a research tool that searches scholarly publications instead of the entire Internet.
Government Documents
- Last Updated Mar 17, 2011
Learn what is a government document, how to search for them using the Library's catalog, and locate them within Rice Library.
- Last Updated Mar 17, 2011
Learn what is a government document, how to search for them using the Library's catalog, and locate them within Rice Library.
Information Cycle
- Last Updated Apr 14, 2011
In this tutorial you will learn how news events become various types of information as time progresses.
- Last Updated Apr 14, 2011
In this tutorial you will learn how news events become various types of information as time progresses.
Interlibrary Loan
- Last Updated Nov 3, 2010
This tutorial will explain Interlibrary Loan including how to register for an account and make requests.
- Last Updated Nov 3, 2010
This tutorial will explain Interlibrary Loan including how to register for an account and make requests.
Journal Finder
- Last Updated Apr 5, 2011
In this tutorial learn how to use Journal Finder to find the full-text of specific journals (in print and online) through Rice Library.
- Last Updated Apr 5, 2011
In this tutorial learn how to use Journal Finder to find the full-text of specific journals (in print and online) through Rice Library.
Keywords
- Last Updated Mar 18, 2011
In this tutorial learn the basics about keywords, why they are important, and how to break a topic into major concepts finding the corresponding keywords.
- Last Updated Mar 18, 2011
In this tutorial learn the basics about keywords, why they are important, and how to break a topic into major concepts finding the corresponding keywords.
Library Account
- Last Updated Nov 30, 2010
In this tutorial you will learn how to access your library account, request items that have been checked out, and save searches and items to lists for later use.
- Last Updated Nov 30, 2010
In this tutorial you will learn how to access your library account, request items that have been checked out, and save searches and items to lists for later use.
Library Catalog
- Last Updated Mar 11, 2011
In these three tutorials, you will learn how to use the Rice Library Catalog for both Basic, Intermediate, and Advanced Searching.
- Last Updated Mar 11, 2011
In these three tutorials, you will learn how to use the Rice Library Catalog for both Basic, Intermediate, and Advanced Searching.
Library Tour
- Last Updated Mar 10, 2011
In this tutorial you will take a brief tour of Rice Library learning about the various resource available throughout its four floors.
- Last Updated Mar 10, 2011
In this tutorial you will take a brief tour of Rice Library learning about the various resource available throughout its four floors.
Local History On Demand
- Last Updated Jun 28, 2012
In this tutorial learn about the various online collections available for doing local, historical research in Indiana.
- Last Updated Jun 28, 2012
In this tutorial learn about the various online collections available for doing local, historical research in Indiana.
Microform Reader
- Last Updated Mar 16, 2012
In this tutorial learn how to use the Microform readers to read Microfilm and/or Microfiche. The readers are available on the 1st floor of Rice Library.
- Last Updated Mar 16, 2012
In this tutorial learn how to use the Microform readers to read Microfilm and/or Microfiche. The readers are available on the 1st floor of Rice Library.
Plagiarism
- Last Updated Apr 11, 2011
In this guide and tutorial learn exactly what constitutes plagiarism, the consequences of plagiarizing another's work, and how to avoid plagiarism.
- Last Updated Apr 11, 2011
In this guide and tutorial learn exactly what constitutes plagiarism, the consequences of plagiarizing another's work, and how to avoid plagiarism.
Popular Materials
- Last Updated Mar 15, 2013
In this online tutorial you will learn about the popular items available at Rice Library from books to movies to magazines.
- Last Updated Mar 15, 2013
In this online tutorial you will learn about the popular items available at Rice Library from books to movies to magazines.
Printing and Copying in Rice Library
- Last Updated Mar 14, 2011
In these tutorials learn the basics of printing, copying, and adding money to your FLEX account.
- Last Updated Mar 14, 2011
In these tutorials learn the basics of printing, copying, and adding money to your FLEX account.
Reading Citations
- Last Updated Dec 10, 2010
This tutorial will explain how to read and use citations for research.
- Last Updated Dec 10, 2010
This tutorial will explain how to read and use citations for research.
Reference Sources
- Last Updated Dec 17, 2010
In this tutorial learn what constitutes a reference source, how it will benefit your research, and how to utilize print and online reference sources from Rice Library.
- Last Updated Dec 17, 2010
In this tutorial learn what constitutes a reference source, how it will benefit your research, and how to utilize print and online reference sources from Rice Library.
Renew an Item
- Last Updated Jul 5, 2011
In this tutorial learn how to renew books online through your Rice Library account.
- Last Updated Jul 5, 2011
In this tutorial learn how to renew books online through your Rice Library account.
Research Assignments
- Last Updated Mar 16, 2012
What's an Annotated Bibliography and Literature Review? Find Out!
- Last Updated Mar 16, 2012
What's an Annotated Bibliography and Literature Review? Find Out!
Research Resources
- Last Updated Dec 10, 2010
This tutorial will provide the user information on the types of resources available for research.
- Last Updated Dec 10, 2010
This tutorial will provide the user information on the types of resources available for research.
Scholarly vs. Popular Sources
- Last Updated Dec 13, 2010
This tutorial will explain the differences between scholarly and popular resources.
- Last Updated Dec 13, 2010
This tutorial will explain the differences between scholarly and popular resources.
Search Engines
- Last Updated Mar 14, 2011
In this tutorial you will learn about the basic methods of searching the Internet including search engines, metasearch engines, and subject directories.
- Last Updated Mar 14, 2011
In this tutorial you will learn about the basic methods of searching the Internet including search engines, metasearch engines, and subject directories.
Search Strategies
- Last Updated Mar 18, 2011
In this tutorial learn the vocabulary associated with library catalogs, databases, and search engines.
- Last Updated Mar 18, 2011
In this tutorial learn the vocabulary associated with library catalogs, databases, and search engines.
Social Media
- Last Updated Apr 2, 2013
This is a guide to help you find information about Social Media. Below is a collection of links to resources that can be found at the library, through the library's databases, and on the Internet. Please, leave feedback.
- Last Updated Apr 2, 2013
This is a guide to help you find information about Social Media. Below is a collection of links to resources that can be found at the library, through the library's databases, and on the Internet. Please, leave feedback.
Thesis Statements
- Last Updated Mar 16, 2012
In this tutorial learn what constitutes a thesis and how to create strong thesis statements.
- Last Updated Mar 16, 2012
In this tutorial learn what constitutes a thesis and how to create strong thesis statements.
Why and When to Cite Sources
- Last Updated Dec 16, 2010
In this tutorial you will learn why it is necessary to cite and when sources should be cited.
- Last Updated Dec 16, 2010
In this tutorial you will learn why it is necessary to cite and when sources should be cited.
WorldCat
- Last Updated Mar 14, 2011
In this online tutorial, you will learn how to access and search the catalog WorldCat as well as request WorldCat items through Interlibrary loan.
- Last Updated Mar 14, 2011
In this online tutorial, you will learn how to access and search the catalog WorldCat as well as request WorldCat items through Interlibrary loan.
