American History 102: Since 1865

"Jointly developed between 2002 and 2005 by researchers and collection specialists at the University of Michigan-Dearborn and the Benson Ford Research Center at The Henry Ford, this site is composed of five socioeconomic topics/sections related to the role of the automobile in America: Labor, Gender, Race, Design, and Environment." Choice, September 2011.

A selection of 410 recorded oral history interviews chronicling African-American life during the age of legal segregation in the American South, from the 1890s to the 1950s. From the digital collections of Duke University.

"The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, now totaling over 160,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives and immediately accessible through the database and electronic archival systems developed and maintained by the C-SPAN Archives." -website

1774-Present

"For each Congress beginning with the 73rd (1933-35), this timeline features session dates, partisan composition, the presidential administration, a list of congressional leaders, and notable legislation passed. This first version only addresses legislative output, not non-legislative events."-website

Feeding America is an online collection of some of the most important and influential American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century. The digital archive includes 76 cookbooks from the MSU Libraries' collection as well as searchable full-text transcriptions.

Founded in 1955, FPRI is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization devoted to bringing the insights of scholarship to bear on the development of policies that advance U.S. national interests. We add perspective to events by fitting them into the larger historical and cultural context of international politics.

"The Digital Archives provides access to a growing collection of searchable digitized historical documents, images and materials."-website

The University of Michigan portion of this collaboration with Cornell University.

Cornell University in collaboration with the University of Michigan is making available primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

Color maps and tables illustrating key events and problems in world history

A database of over 1200 items digitized from the National Archives chronicling all periods of the United States history until 2004.

"An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. The Archive also serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States."-website

The Portal is a gateway to Texas history materials. You may discover anything from an ancestor's picture to a rare historical map. From prehistory to the present day, you can explore unique collections from Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, genealogical societies, and private family collections. The Portal continues to grow as additional partners contribute digital versions of their collections. We hope you'll return often to discover our latest additions.

The Office of the Historian is staffed by professional historians who are experts in the history of U.S. foreign policy and the Department of State and possess unparalleled research experience in classified and unclassified government records. The Office’s historians work closely with other federal government history offices, the academic historical community, and specialists across the globe.