Jump To:
CAP
- Last Updated Apr 15, 2013
This guide supports both CAP instructors and students in utilizing the resources and services of Rice Library.
- Last Updated Apr 15, 2013
This guide supports both CAP instructors and students in utilizing the resources and services of Rice Library.
Energy and Alternative Energy
- Last Updated Mar 9, 2012
Finding information on traditional and alternative energy sources / Guide compiled by Graham Dostal, MLS
- Last Updated Mar 9, 2012
Finding information on traditional and alternative energy sources / Guide compiled by Graham Dostal, MLS
HP 211 Comparative Health Care Systems
- Last Updated Oct 19, 2012
This guide supports research for the HP 211 project to compare the health care delivery systems of Canada, Ireland, Germany, the UK, Japan, Australia, and Russia, with that of the U.S.
- Last Updated Oct 19, 2012
This guide supports research for the HP 211 project to compare the health care delivery systems of Canada, Ireland, Germany, the UK, Japan, Australia, and Russia, with that of the U.S.
New Faculty Guide
- Last Updated Apr 7, 2011
This LibGuide provides New USI Faculty with a breakdown of the resources and services available through Rice Library.
- Last Updated Apr 7, 2011
This LibGuide provides New USI Faculty with a breakdown of the resources and services available through Rice Library.
Nippon Foundation's 100 Books for Understanding Contemporary Japan
- Last Updated Jul 11, 2011
Books to understand modern Japanese society and thought, art and literature
- Last Updated Jul 11, 2011
Books to understand modern Japanese society and thought, art and literature
Reference Sources
- Last Updated Dec 17, 2010
In this tutorial learn what constitutes a reference source, how it will benefit your research, and how to utilize print and online reference sources from Rice Library.
- Last Updated Dec 17, 2010
In this tutorial learn what constitutes a reference source, how it will benefit your research, and how to utilize print and online reference sources from Rice Library.
Social Work 241 - Career Paper Resources
- Last Updated Apr 9, 2013
You're researching for a 4-5 page paper on what social workers do....you need 4 to 5 credible sources...everything you need to start finding information is in this LibGuide!
- Last Updated Apr 9, 2013
You're researching for a 4-5 page paper on what social workers do....you need 4 to 5 credible sources...everything you need to start finding information is in this LibGuide!
Social Work 326 - Introduction to Social Work Research
- Last Updated Feb 18, 2013
Assistance with literature review projects
- Last Updated Feb 18, 2013
Assistance with literature review projects
Social Work 341: Social Welfare Policy
- Last Updated Feb 18, 2013
This guide suggests print and online resources to help put together the Policy Paper for this course.
- Last Updated Feb 18, 2013
This guide suggests print and online resources to help put together the Policy Paper for this course.
University Archives & Special Collections
- Last Updated Mar 17, 2011
Learn about the types of resources kept within the Archives and what services are available to students, faculty, staff, and community members.
- Last Updated Mar 17, 2011
Learn about the types of resources kept within the Archives and what services are available to students, faculty, staff, and community members.
Local History On Demand
- Last Updated Jun 28, 2012
In this tutorial learn about the various online collections available for doing local, historical research in Indiana.
- Last Updated Jun 28, 2012
In this tutorial learn about the various online collections available for doing local, historical research in Indiana.
University Archives & Special Collections
- Last Updated Mar 17, 2011
Learn about the types of resources kept within the Archives and what services are available to students, faculty, staff, and community members.
- Last Updated Mar 17, 2011
Learn about the types of resources kept within the Archives and what services are available to students, faculty, staff, and community members.
APA Citation Tutorials
- Last Updated Oct 25, 2010
In the following tutorials, created by Nova Southeastern University, learn some of the basics for citing and using the APA style in research papers.
- Last Updated Oct 25, 2010
In the following tutorials, created by Nova Southeastern University, learn some of the basics for citing and using the APA style in research papers.
Call Numbers
- Last Updated Mar 13, 2012
In this tutorial learn how to read Library of Congress Call Numbers, which are used to organize most resources in Rice Library.
- Last Updated Mar 13, 2012
In this tutorial learn how to read Library of Congress Call Numbers, which are used to organize most resources in Rice Library.
CAP
- Last Updated Apr 15, 2013
This guide supports both CAP instructors and students in utilizing the resources and services of Rice Library.
- Last Updated Apr 15, 2013
This guide supports both CAP instructors and students in utilizing the resources and services of Rice Library.
Career Guide
- Last Updated Mar 13, 2012
Provides information on pursuing careers while also offering resources on job hunting, resumes, cover letters, and interviewing.
- Last Updated Mar 13, 2012
Provides information on pursuing careers while also offering resources on job hunting, resumes, cover letters, and interviewing.
Children's and Young Adult Literature
- Last Updated Mar 15, 2013
Sources for book selection, reader's advisory, author and illustrator information, and much more
- Last Updated Mar 15, 2013
Sources for book selection, reader's advisory, author and illustrator information, and much more
Choosing and Narrowing a Topic
- Last Updated Apr 9, 2013
In these tutorials learn about resources that can help you select a topic for that paper/project while also narrowing it to fit the scope of the assignment.
- Last Updated Apr 9, 2013
In these tutorials learn about resources that can help you select a topic for that paper/project while also narrowing it to fit the scope of the assignment.
Course Reserves
- Last Updated Mar 23, 2011
In this tutorial learn how to locate course reserves at Rice Library.
- Last Updated Mar 23, 2011
In this tutorial learn how to locate course reserves at Rice Library.
Cultural Studies
- Last Updated May 9, 2013
This guide provides resources for investigating different cultures from around the world and within the United States.
- Last Updated May 9, 2013
This guide provides resources for investigating different cultures from around the world and within the United States.
Curriculum Materials
- Last Updated Nov 3, 2010
In this tutorial learn what children and young adult resources are available in Rice Library, where they are located, and how to use the Library Catalog to find them.
- Last Updated Nov 3, 2010
In this tutorial learn what children and young adult resources are available in Rice Library, where they are located, and how to use the Library Catalog to find them.
Drugs and Alcohol
- Last Updated Mar 5, 2013
This guide provides information on various drugs and alcohol with a focus on addiction, abuse, and treatment.
- Last Updated Mar 5, 2013
This guide provides information on various drugs and alcohol with a focus on addiction, abuse, and treatment.
EBSCOhost Databases
- Last Updated Mar 24, 2011
In the following tutorials learn about some of the advanced features available in the EBSCOhost databases including the creation of an account, controlled vocabulary searching, and utilizing cited references.
- Last Updated Mar 24, 2011
In the following tutorials learn about some of the advanced features available in the EBSCOhost databases including the creation of an account, controlled vocabulary searching, and utilizing cited references.
Education K-12
- Last Updated Feb 18, 2013
Lesson Planning, Statistics, Careers, Research, & Standards
- Last Updated Feb 18, 2013
Lesson Planning, Statistics, Careers, Research, & Standards
Education Literature Review
- Last Updated Mar 25, 2011
Created for Education 631, in these tutorials learn how to find resources to comprise an education Literature Review.
- Last Updated Mar 25, 2011
Created for Education 631, in these tutorials learn how to find resources to comprise an education Literature Review.
Evaluating Resources
- Last Updated Nov 9, 2010
In this tutorial you will learn some guidelines to utilize when evaluating resources whether print or electronic.
- Last Updated Nov 9, 2010
In this tutorial you will learn some guidelines to utilize when evaluating resources whether print or electronic.
Evaluating Websites
- Last Updated Nov 9, 2010
In this tutorial you will learn a method for evaluating websites for scholarship.
- Last Updated Nov 9, 2010
In this tutorial you will learn a method for evaluating websites for scholarship.
Evansville & USI Research
- Last Updated Nov 27, 2012
If you need to do research on a local topic concerning Evansville or USI, it could be a bit tricky. This LibGuide provides some resources and tips on how to research local topics.
- Last Updated Nov 27, 2012
If you need to do research on a local topic concerning Evansville or USI, it could be a bit tricky. This LibGuide provides some resources and tips on how to research local topics.
Evansville Entertainment Guide
- Last Updated Nov 26, 2012
Providing you with information on how to stay entertained and active in Evansville!
- Last Updated Nov 26, 2012
Providing you with information on how to stay entertained and active in Evansville!
Full-Text
- Last Updated Mar 16, 2012
In this tutorial and guide learn how to find the full-text of an item using Article Linker within many of Rice Library's databases.
- Last Updated Mar 16, 2012
In this tutorial and guide learn how to find the full-text of an item using Article Linker within many of Rice Library's databases.
Google Advanced Search
- Last Updated Nov 12, 2010
In this tutorial learn how to use the Advanced Search of Google for better Internet searching.
- Last Updated Nov 12, 2010
In this tutorial learn how to use the Advanced Search of Google for better Internet searching.
Google Scholar
- Last Updated Mar 22, 2011
In this tutorial learn about Google Scholar, a research tool that searches scholarly publications instead of the entire Internet.
- Last Updated Mar 22, 2011
In this tutorial learn about Google Scholar, a research tool that searches scholarly publications instead of the entire Internet.
Government Documents
- Last Updated Mar 17, 2011
Learn what is a government document, how to search for them using the Library's catalog, and locate them within Rice Library.
- Last Updated Mar 17, 2011
Learn what is a government document, how to search for them using the Library's catalog, and locate them within Rice Library.
Green Guide
- Last Updated Apr 10, 2013
Learn valuable resources and tips to make a more environmentally-friendly you!
- Last Updated Apr 10, 2013
Learn valuable resources and tips to make a more environmentally-friendly you!
How To Cite Sources
- Last Updated Apr 16, 2013
This guide will provide links to "Tip Sheets" for commonly used citation styles and links to guides for other styles.
- Last Updated Apr 16, 2013
This guide will provide links to "Tip Sheets" for commonly used citation styles and links to guides for other styles.
Immigration
- Last Updated Feb 28, 2013
This guide offers resources for those interested in both current and past Immigration to the United States.
- Last Updated Feb 28, 2013
This guide offers resources for those interested in both current and past Immigration to the United States.
Indiana Statistics
- Last Updated Mar 23, 2012
This guide was developed by Kristen Leonard and the staff of Indiana University Kokomo Library.
- Last Updated Mar 23, 2012
This guide was developed by Kristen Leonard and the staff of Indiana University Kokomo Library.
Information Cycle
- Last Updated Apr 14, 2011
In this tutorial you will learn how news events become various types of information as time progresses.
- Last Updated Apr 14, 2011
In this tutorial you will learn how news events become various types of information as time progresses.
Information Literacy
- Last Updated Nov 17, 2010
This guide explains the concept of Information Literacy as well as provides standards, handouts, and activities to complement instruction.
- Last Updated Nov 17, 2010
This guide explains the concept of Information Literacy as well as provides standards, handouts, and activities to complement instruction.
Interlibrary Loan
- Last Updated Nov 3, 2010
This tutorial will explain Interlibrary Loan including how to register for an account and make requests.
- Last Updated Nov 3, 2010
This tutorial will explain Interlibrary Loan including how to register for an account and make requests.
Journal Finder
- Last Updated Apr 5, 2011
In this tutorial learn how to use Journal Finder to find the full-text of specific journals (in print and online) through Rice Library.
- Last Updated Apr 5, 2011
In this tutorial learn how to use Journal Finder to find the full-text of specific journals (in print and online) through Rice Library.
Keywords
- Last Updated Mar 18, 2011
In this tutorial learn the basics about keywords, why they are important, and how to break a topic into major concepts finding the corresponding keywords.
- Last Updated Mar 18, 2011
In this tutorial learn the basics about keywords, why they are important, and how to break a topic into major concepts finding the corresponding keywords.
Library Account
- Last Updated Nov 30, 2010
In this tutorial you will learn how to access your library account, request items that have been checked out, and save searches and items to lists for later use.
- Last Updated Nov 30, 2010
In this tutorial you will learn how to access your library account, request items that have been checked out, and save searches and items to lists for later use.
Library Catalog
- Last Updated Mar 11, 2011
In these three tutorials, you will learn how to use the Rice Library Catalog for both Basic, Intermediate, and Advanced Searching.
- Last Updated Mar 11, 2011
In these three tutorials, you will learn how to use the Rice Library Catalog for both Basic, Intermediate, and Advanced Searching.
Library Terms
- Last Updated Apr 10, 2013
This guide defines the most commonly used library and research terms.
- Last Updated Apr 10, 2013
This guide defines the most commonly used library and research terms.
Library Tour
- Last Updated Mar 10, 2011
In this tutorial you will take a brief tour of Rice Library learning about the various resource available throughout its four floors.
- Last Updated Mar 10, 2011
In this tutorial you will take a brief tour of Rice Library learning about the various resource available throughout its four floors.
Local History On Demand
- Last Updated Jun 28, 2012
In this tutorial learn about the various online collections available for doing local, historical research in Indiana.
- Last Updated Jun 28, 2012
In this tutorial learn about the various online collections available for doing local, historical research in Indiana.
Microform Reader
- Last Updated Mar 16, 2012
In this tutorial learn how to use the Microform readers to read Microfilm and/or Microfiche. The readers are available on the 1st floor of Rice Library.
- Last Updated Mar 16, 2012
In this tutorial learn how to use the Microform readers to read Microfilm and/or Microfiche. The readers are available on the 1st floor of Rice Library.
Need a Topic ?
- Last Updated Apr 15, 2013
The following guide provides links and resources concerning current and controversial issues.
- Last Updated Apr 15, 2013
The following guide provides links and resources concerning current and controversial issues.
Need Statistics ?
- Last Updated Jan 17, 2013
Suggested sources for statistics in a wide variety of research areas
- Last Updated Jan 17, 2013
Suggested sources for statistics in a wide variety of research areas
New Faculty Guide
- Last Updated Apr 7, 2011
This LibGuide provides New USI Faculty with a breakdown of the resources and services available through Rice Library.
- Last Updated Apr 7, 2011
This LibGuide provides New USI Faculty with a breakdown of the resources and services available through Rice Library.
New Student Guide
- Last Updated Sep 13, 2012
This guide will provide you with all the "must-have" info about being a student at USI.
- Last Updated Sep 13, 2012
This guide will provide you with all the "must-have" info about being a student at USI.
Occupy Wall Street
- Last Updated Jan 9, 2012
A guide to Occupy Wallstreet and other Occupy movements throughout the USA and beyond.
- Last Updated Jan 9, 2012
A guide to Occupy Wallstreet and other Occupy movements throughout the USA and beyond.
Oil Spills
- Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide provides resources for researching Oil Spills and Oil Drilling.
- Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide provides resources for researching Oil Spills and Oil Drilling.
Plagiarism
- Last Updated Apr 11, 2011
In this guide and tutorial learn exactly what constitutes plagiarism, the consequences of plagiarizing another's work, and how to avoid plagiarism.
- Last Updated Apr 11, 2011
In this guide and tutorial learn exactly what constitutes plagiarism, the consequences of plagiarizing another's work, and how to avoid plagiarism.
Planning for Graduate School
- Last Updated May 1, 2013
Designed to provide information for those planning to attend graduate school including descriptions of colleges and graduate programs, graduate test preparation, and financial aid.
- Last Updated May 1, 2013
Designed to provide information for those planning to attend graduate school including descriptions of colleges and graduate programs, graduate test preparation, and financial aid.
Popular Materials
- Last Updated Mar 15, 2013
In this online tutorial you will learn about the popular items available at Rice Library from books to movies to magazines.
- Last Updated Mar 15, 2013
In this online tutorial you will learn about the popular items available at Rice Library from books to movies to magazines.
Printing and Copying in Rice Library
- Last Updated Mar 14, 2011
In these tutorials learn the basics of printing, copying, and adding money to your FLEX account.
- Last Updated Mar 14, 2011
In these tutorials learn the basics of printing, copying, and adding money to your FLEX account.
Psychology 202
- Last Updated Oct 31, 2012
This site specifically supports PSY 202. For general Psychology information, please visit the Psychology LibGuide.
- Last Updated Oct 31, 2012
This site specifically supports PSY 202. For general Psychology information, please visit the Psychology LibGuide.
Psychology Research Methods and Statistics
- Last Updated Mar 5, 2013
This LibGuide supports PSY 303.
- Last Updated Mar 5, 2013
This LibGuide supports PSY 303.
Reading Citations
- Last Updated Dec 10, 2010
This tutorial will explain how to read and use citations for research.
- Last Updated Dec 10, 2010
This tutorial will explain how to read and use citations for research.
Recommended Websites
- Last Updated Mar 26, 2013
This guide provides lists of scholarly, informative websites that are broken down by discipline.
- Last Updated Mar 26, 2013
This guide provides lists of scholarly, informative websites that are broken down by discipline.
Reference Sources
- Last Updated Dec 17, 2010
In this tutorial learn what constitutes a reference source, how it will benefit your research, and how to utilize print and online reference sources from Rice Library.
- Last Updated Dec 17, 2010
In this tutorial learn what constitutes a reference source, how it will benefit your research, and how to utilize print and online reference sources from Rice Library.
Renew an Item
- Last Updated Jul 5, 2011
In this tutorial learn how to renew books online through your Rice Library account.
- Last Updated Jul 5, 2011
In this tutorial learn how to renew books online through your Rice Library account.
Research 101
- Last Updated Apr 9, 2013
This guide will provide you with the basics of doing research from choosing topics to finding and evaluating a variety of sources.
- Last Updated Apr 9, 2013
This guide will provide you with the basics of doing research from choosing topics to finding and evaluating a variety of sources.
Research Assignments
- Last Updated Mar 16, 2012
What's an Annotated Bibliography and Literature Review? Find Out!
- Last Updated Mar 16, 2012
What's an Annotated Bibliography and Literature Review? Find Out!
Research Resources
- Last Updated Dec 10, 2010
This tutorial will provide the user information on the types of resources available for research.
- Last Updated Dec 10, 2010
This tutorial will provide the user information on the types of resources available for research.
Scholarly vs. Popular Sources
- Last Updated Dec 13, 2010
This tutorial will explain the differences between scholarly and popular resources.
- Last Updated Dec 13, 2010
This tutorial will explain the differences between scholarly and popular resources.
Search Engines
- Last Updated Mar 14, 2011
In this tutorial you will learn about the basic methods of searching the Internet including search engines, metasearch engines, and subject directories.
- Last Updated Mar 14, 2011
In this tutorial you will learn about the basic methods of searching the Internet including search engines, metasearch engines, and subject directories.
Search Strategies
- Last Updated Mar 18, 2011
In this tutorial learn the vocabulary associated with library catalogs, databases, and search engines.
- Last Updated Mar 18, 2011
In this tutorial learn the vocabulary associated with library catalogs, databases, and search engines.
Thesis Statements
- Last Updated Mar 16, 2012
In this tutorial learn what constitutes a thesis and how to create strong thesis statements.
- Last Updated Mar 16, 2012
In this tutorial learn what constitutes a thesis and how to create strong thesis statements.
University Archives & Special Collections
- Last Updated Mar 17, 2011
Learn about the types of resources kept within the Archives and what services are available to students, faculty, staff, and community members.
- Last Updated Mar 17, 2011
Learn about the types of resources kept within the Archives and what services are available to students, faculty, staff, and community members.
Why and When to Cite Sources
- Last Updated Dec 16, 2010
In this tutorial you will learn why it is necessary to cite and when sources should be cited.
- Last Updated Dec 16, 2010
In this tutorial you will learn why it is necessary to cite and when sources should be cited.
WorldCat
- Last Updated Mar 14, 2011
In this online tutorial, you will learn how to access and search the catalog WorldCat as well as request WorldCat items through Interlibrary loan.
- Last Updated Mar 14, 2011
In this online tutorial, you will learn how to access and search the catalog WorldCat as well as request WorldCat items through Interlibrary loan.
Social Media
- Last Updated Apr 2, 2013
This is a guide to help you find information about Social Media. Below is a collection of links to resources that can be found at the library, through the library's databases, and on the Internet. Please, leave feedback.
- Last Updated Apr 2, 2013
This is a guide to help you find information about Social Media. Below is a collection of links to resources that can be found at the library, through the library's databases, and on the Internet. Please, leave feedback.
Government Documents
- Last Updated Mar 17, 2011
Learn what is a government document, how to search for them using the Library's catalog, and locate them within Rice Library.
- Last Updated Mar 17, 2011
Learn what is a government document, how to search for them using the Library's catalog, and locate them within Rice Library.
Indiana Statistics
- Last Updated Mar 23, 2012
This guide was developed by Kristen Leonard and the staff of Indiana University Kokomo Library.
- Last Updated Mar 23, 2012
This guide was developed by Kristen Leonard and the staff of Indiana University Kokomo Library.
Political Science Research
- Last Updated Feb 14, 2013
This LibGuide was developed to support POLS 331: Research Design and Data Collection
- Last Updated Feb 14, 2013
This LibGuide was developed to support POLS 331: Research Design and Data Collection
Psychology 202
- Last Updated Oct 31, 2012
This site specifically supports PSY 202. For general Psychology information, please visit the Psychology LibGuide.
- Last Updated Oct 31, 2012
This site specifically supports PSY 202. For general Psychology information, please visit the Psychology LibGuide.
Psychology Research Methods and Statistics
- Last Updated Mar 5, 2013
This LibGuide supports PSY 303.
- Last Updated Mar 5, 2013
This LibGuide supports PSY 303.
Public Administration
- Last Updated May 24, 2013
This guide is designed to support the research and study of students enrolled in the university's Master of Public Administration program.
- Last Updated May 24, 2013
This guide is designed to support the research and study of students enrolled in the university's Master of Public Administration program.
Renew an Item
- Last Updated Jul 5, 2011
In this tutorial learn how to renew books online through your Rice Library account.
- Last Updated Jul 5, 2011
In this tutorial learn how to renew books online through your Rice Library account.
Social Media
- Last Updated Apr 2, 2013
This is a guide to help you find information about Social Media. Below is a collection of links to resources that can be found at the library, through the library's databases, and on the Internet. Please, leave feedback.
- Last Updated Apr 2, 2013
This is a guide to help you find information about Social Media. Below is a collection of links to resources that can be found at the library, through the library's databases, and on the Internet. Please, leave feedback.
Interlibrary Loan
- Last Updated Nov 3, 2010
This tutorial will explain Interlibrary Loan including how to register for an account and make requests.
- Last Updated Nov 3, 2010
This tutorial will explain Interlibrary Loan including how to register for an account and make requests.
Microform Reader
- Last Updated Mar 16, 2012
In this tutorial learn how to use the Microform readers to read Microfilm and/or Microfiche. The readers are available on the 1st floor of Rice Library.
- Last Updated Mar 16, 2012
In this tutorial learn how to use the Microform readers to read Microfilm and/or Microfiche. The readers are available on the 1st floor of Rice Library.
Music
- Last Updated Apr 30, 2013
These are selected sources. Your reference librarians can assist you in finding other related materials.
- Last Updated Apr 30, 2013
These are selected sources. Your reference librarians can assist you in finding other related materials.
Special Notices
Welcome to LibGuides!
Watch this short tutorial to learn more about LibGuides and how to use them.
Receive Email Updates
Featured Librarian |
Contact Info David L Rice Library University of Southern Indiana 8600 University Boulevard Evansville, Indiana 47712 Phone: 812-464-1907 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |

