AtlasesAncient Art History
Egypt and Near EastGreeceRome
This is the "Reference" page of the "Ancient History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Ancient History   Tags: ancient_history, history  

Last Updated: May 25, 2016 URL: http://usi.libguides.com/ancienthistory Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Reference Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Why Reference Sources?

Reference sources can provide you with valuable information such as:
  • Background information
  • Important figures
  • Dates, places, and people
  • Definitions and key terms
  • Lists of additional sources (articles, books, etc.)
They are an excellent way to begin your research by allowing you to become familiar with the topic in preparation to choose the best articles, books, and additional resources. 
 

Featured Reference Titles

Cover Art
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome - Edited by: Michael Gagarin)
Call Number: REF DE5 .O95 2010
ISBN: 0195170725
Publication Date: 2010
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome is the clearest and most accessible guide to the world of classical antiquity ever produced. This multivolume reference work is a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world--Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman--from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries. The Encyclopedia brings the work of the best classical scholars, archaeologists, and historians together in an easy-to-use format. The articles, written by leading scholars in the field, seek to convey the significance of the people, places, and historical events of classical antiquity, together with its intellectual and material culture. Broad overviews of literature, history, archaeology, art, philosophy, science, and religion are complimented by articles on authors and their works, literary genres and periods, historical figures and events, archaeologists and archaeological sites, artists and artistic themes and materials, philosophers and philosophical schools, scientists and scientific areas, gods, heroes, and myths. Areas covered include: --Greek and Latin Literature --Authors and Their Works --Historical Figures and Events --Religion and Mythology --Art, Artists, Artistic Themes, and Materials --Archaeology, Philosophers, and Philosophical Schools --Science and Technology --Politics, Economics, and Society --Material Culture and Everyday Life

Cover Art
Handbook for Classical Research - David M. Schaps
Call Number: Online book accessible through ebrary
ISBN: 9780415425230
Publication Date: 2010
One of the glories of the Greco-Roman classics is the opportunity that they give us to consider a great culture in its entirety; but our ability to do that depends on our ability to work comfortably with very varied fields of scholarship. The Handbook for Classical Research offers guidance to students needing to learn more about the different fields and subfields of classical research, and its methods and resources. The book is divided into 7 parts: The Basics, Language, The Traditional Fields, The Physical Remains, The Written Word, The Classics and Related Disciplines, The Classics since Antiquity. Topics covered range from history and literature, lexicography and linguistics, epigraphy and palaeography, to archaeology and numismatics, and the study and reception of the classics. Guidance is given not only to read, for example, an archaeological or papyrological report, but also on how to find such sources when they are relevant to research. Concentrating on "how-to" topics, the Handbook for Classical Research is a much needed resource for both teachers and students.

Cover Art
The Classical Tradition - Edited by: Anthony Grafton; Glenn W. Most; Salvatore Settis
Call Number: REF DE60 .C55 2010
ISBN: 9780674035720
Publication Date: 2010
How do we get from the polis to the police? Or from Odysseus’ sirens to an ambulance’s? The legacy of ancient Greece and Rome has been imitated, resisted, misunderstood, and reworked by every culture that followed. In this volume, some five hundred articles by a wide range of scholars investigate the afterlife of this rich heritage in the fields of literature, philosophy, art, architecture, history, politics, religion, and science.

Cover Art
The Oxford Handbook of Roman Studies - Edited by: Alessandro Barchiesi; Walter Scheidel
Call Number: REF DG209 .O94 2010
ISBN: 9780199211524
Publication Date: 2010
The Oxford Handbook of Roman Studies is an indispensable guide to the latest scholarship in this area. Over fifty distinguished scholars elucidate the contribution of material as well as literary culture to our understanding of the Roman world. The emphasis is particularly upon the new and exciting links between the various sub-disciplines that make up Roman Studies - for example, between literature and epigraphy, art and philosophy, papyrology and economic history. The Handbook, in fact, aims to establish a field and scholarly practice as much as to describe the current state of play. Connections with disciplines outside classics are also explored, including anthropology, psychoanalysis, gender and reception studies, and the use of new media.

Cover Art
The Myths and Religion of the Incas - David M. Jones
Call Number: REF F3429.3.R3 J66 2008
ISBN: 1844765199
Publication Date: 2008
This title explores the ritual symbolism of the buildings, textiles, sculptures and other artworks left behind by the Incas and other first peoples of the Andes.

 

History/Political Science/Law Online Reference Titles

 

Ask a Librarian!

If you need additional help with your research or simply have a quick question, Ask Us! 
 
Phone: 812-464-1907
Phone (Toll Free): 1-800-246-6173
 
 
 

Search in fUSIon

 

Selected Titles

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip