Skip to Main Content

American Presidency

Search in fUSIon

Search for books, ebooks, images, and articles from scholarly, trade, or news periodicals with the Rice Library's fUSIon tool.

Featured Titles

Facts about the Presidents: A Compilation of Biographical and Historical Information (8th ed.) by Joseph Nathan Kane; Janet Podell
Call Number: REF E176.1 .K3 2009

ISBN: 9780824210878

Publication Date: 2009
Vital Statistics on the Presidency: George Washington to George W. Bush (3rd ed.) by Lyn Ragsdale
Call Number: REF JK518 .R34 2009

ISBN: 9780872895294

Publication Date: 2009

Selected Titles

Guide to the Presidency, 2 vols. (4th ed.) by Edited by: Michael Nelson
Call Number: REF JK516 .G83 2008

ISBN: 9780872893641

Publication Date: 2008
State of the Union: Presidential Rhetoric from Woodrow Wilson to George W. Bush by Edited by: Deborah Kalb; Gerhard Peters; John T. Woolley
Call Number: REF J81.4 .S73 2007

ISBN: 9780872894334

Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of Presidential Campaigns, Slogans, Issues, and Platforms by Robert North Roberts; Scott John Hammond
Call Number: REF E176.1 .R6 2004

ISBN: 0313319731

Publication Date: 2004
The Disputed Presidential Election of 2000 by E. D. Dover
Call Number: REF COL: JK526 2003

ISBN: 0313323194

Publication Date: 2003
Encyclopedia of Public Administration and Public Policy by Edited by: Jack Rabin
Call Number: REF JK9 .E526 2003

ISBN: 0824709462

Publication Date: 2003
Presidents from Reagan Through Clinton, 1981-2001k: Debating the Issues in Pro and Con Primary Documents by Compiled by: Lane Crothers; Nancy S. Lind
Call Number: REF E176.1 .P922 2002

ISBN: 9780313314117

Publication Date: 2002
Presidential Vetoes, 1989-2000 by Compiled by: Jeri Thomson; Zoe Davis
Call Number: REF KF42.2 2001

Publication Date: 2001
Speeches of the American Presidents by Edited by: Janet Podell; Steven Anzovin
Call Number: REF J81.4 .S64 2001

ISBN: 0824210069

Publication Date: 2001

Presents more than 200 major speeches by 43 U.S. presidents, from Washington through George W. Bush.
Presidential Scandals by Jeffrey D. Schultz
Call Number: REF E176.1 .S353 2000

ISBN: 1568024142

Publication Date: 2000
Encyclopedia of the American Presidency, 4 vols. by Edited by: Leonard W. Levy; Louis Fisher
Call Number: REF JK511 .E53 1994

ISBN: 0132759837

Publication Date: 1994
Inaugural Addresses of the Presidents of the United States from George Washington 1789 to George Bush 1989 by U.S. G.P.O.
Call Number: REF J81 .C89 I5

Publication Date: 1989

History/Political Science/Law Online Reference Resources

CREDO reference
ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collections Online
ECCO offers online access to one of the most extensive libraries of eighteenth-century English books in the world.
Gale Biography in Context
state-wide access
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Browse list of online reference titles to match your resource needs
International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences
Issues & Controversies
World News and Social Issues
Sage Knowledge
Scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks in social sciences, health, and environment
Social Issues in America; An Encyclopedia
More than 150 key social issues confronting the United States today are covered.

Researching the Presidency

Encyclopedia of Public Administration and Public Policy, 2 vols. by Edited by: David A. Schultz
Call Number: REF JK9 .E526 2003

ISBN: 0816047995

Publication Date: 2003
Using Government Information Sources (3rd ed.) by Marilyn K. Moody; Jean L. Sears
Call Number: REF Z1223.Z7 S4 2001

ISBN: 1573562882

Publication Date: 2001
U. S. Government on the Web: Getting the Information You Need by Peter Hernon; John A. Shuler; Robert E. Dugan
Call Number: Available online through EBSCOhost

ISBN: 9780585101033

Publication Date: 1999
How to Research the Presidency by Fenton S. Martin; Robert Goehlert
Call Number: REF JK516 .M365 1996

ISBN: 1568020287

Publication Date: 1996

Individual Presidents

The Abraham Lincoln Companion by Edited by: Helene Henderson
Call Number: REF E457.15 .A153 2008

ISBN: 9780780808232

Publication Date: 2008
The Truman Years by Tracy S. Uebelhor
Call Number: REF E747 .U34 2006

ISBN: 9780816054909

Publication Date: 2006
Encyclopedia of the Clinton Presidency by Peter B. Levy
Call Number: REF E885 .L48 2002

ISBN: 9780313312946

Publication Date: 2002

First Ladies

American First Ladies (2nd ed.) by Edited by: Robert P. Watson
Call Number: REF E176.2 .A4 2006

ISBN: 9781587652714

Publication Date: 2006
First Ladies of the United States by Robert P. Watson
Call Number: REF E176.2 .W369 2001

ISBN: 9781555879075

Publication Date: 2000
First Ladies of the United States by Robert P. Watson
Call Number: Available online through CREDO Reference

ISBN: 9781555879075

Publication Date: 2000

Why Reference Sources?

Reference sources can provide you with valuable information such as:

Background information
Important figures
Dates, places, and people
Definitions and key terms
Lists of additional sources (articles, books, etc.)

They are an excellent way to begin your research by allowing you to become familiar with the topic in preparation to choose the best articles, books, and additional resources.

Additional Guides

American History 102: Since 1865
by Laura Bernhardt Last Updated Aug 11, 2025 10 views this year

Last Updated: Sep 26, 2024 10:23 PM
URL: https://usi.libguides.com/americanpresidency
Print Page

Subjects: History